We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, friendly place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here. Facilities were okay, but the atmosphere and the friendly service was great. Everything was also kept clean and when problems arose they fixed it quickly and easily. definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ashleigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 308 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

Used it as a start point for hking the Otter Trail. Great Welcome - even though arrived at night. Efficient and freindly service, a bar for an evening drink and all the facitilies you could want - including a hearty breakfast and transport to the beginning of the trail.
Highly reccomended.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MANOF46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I felt immediately at home when I arrived (I was picked up from a near by station where I was dropped by the Intercape bus) at the Tsitsikamma backpakers. The staff was friendly and helpful. I stayed 3 nights in a tent in the backyard, that was lovely. I felt safe there. Even fell alseep on the couch one Sunday afternoon, woke up and saw that a staff member had covered me with a blanket. Warm and homely place!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ElsWierenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The rooms are very simple, but nice.The matress in our room was not the newest… but ok. very, very clean and well equipped kitchen. big Garden! We had a problem with our car and Mitch tried really everything to help us including calling the mechanic and the car rental! Big Thanks again!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naclaflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in the dorm. Lovely downstairs living/communal area- more than enough space even though the backpackers was full during the time we stayed. We found the staff friendly and very accommodating, particularly when we had car trouble and needed somewhere to leave our luggage after check out time and while waiting for our lift to arrive. A very well run backpackers!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We were only for two days at the Tsitsikamma Backpackers and it was great.
The staff there is very friendly, they help you with everything, booking tours and recommend restaurants.

It is very close to the Big Tree, where we drove with a guided Segway Tour from the Backpackers. Besides, the Canopy Tours are only a 5 minute walk away.

We really enjoyed our stay they.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vera K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Very friendly staff, knowledgeable and helpful with setting up tours. Room was nice and clean, tents were simple but clean and bed was comfortable. Bathrooms were very clean and had nice facilities. Shower was warm.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Storms River hotels
7.8 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
756 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
979 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
#6 of 12 in Storms River
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Serenity Retreat
Serenity Retreat
#8 of 12 in Storms River
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dijembe Backpackers Hostel
Dijembe Backpackers Hostel
#2 of 12 in Storms River
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Storms River Guest Lodge
Storms River Guest Lodge
#3 of 5 in Storms River
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsitsikamma Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsitsikamma Backpackers

Address: 54 Formosa Street, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Storms River
Price Range: $33 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tsitsikamma Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a home - away - from - home backpackers in Stormsriver Village. This four stars and Greenline accredited backpacker’s offers double en suite, double rooms, tented units and dorm accommodation in a magnificent one acre garden setting with gorgeous views of the mountains. Daily breakfast and dinner is served with vegetarian options. Our bar area is the perfect place to sit back and relax after an adventure filled day! We offer in house star gazing as well as the Tsitsikamma Segway tours and mountain bike rental. Come join us for adventurous days and relaxed & fun-filled nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tsitsikamma Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tsitsikamma Backpackers Tsitsikamma National Park/Storms River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing