We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All that lyou could ask for..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“All that lyou could ask for..”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Used it as a start point for hking the Otter Trail. Great Welcome - even though arrived at night. Efficient and freindly service, a bar for an evening drink and all the facitilies you could want - including a hearty breakfast and transport to the beginning of the trail.
Highly reccomended.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MANOF46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    112
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
44
109
42
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I felt immediately at home when I arrived (I was picked up from a near by station where I was dropped by the Intercape bus) at the Tsitsikamma backpakers. The staff was friendly and helpful. I stayed 3 nights in a tent in the backyard, that was lovely. I felt safe there. Even fell alseep on the couch one Sunday afternoon, woke up and saw that a staff member had covered me with a blanket. Warm and homely place!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ElsWierenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The rooms are very simple, but nice.The matress in our room was not the newest… but ok. very, very clean and well equipped kitchen. big Garden! We had a problem with our car and Mitch tried really everything to help us including calling the mechanic and the car rental! Big Thanks again!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naclaflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in the dorm. Lovely downstairs living/communal area- more than enough space even though the backpackers was full during the time we stayed. We found the staff friendly and very accommodating, particularly when we had car trouble and needed somewhere to leave our luggage after check out time and while waiting for our lift to arrive. A very well run backpackers!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reutlingen, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We were only for two days at the Tsitsikamma Backpackers and it was great.
The staff there is very friendly, they help you with everything, booking tours and recommend restaurants.

It is very close to the Big Tree, where we drove with a guided Segway Tour from the Backpackers. Besides, the Canopy Tours are only a 5 minute walk away.

We really enjoyed our stay they.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vera K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Very friendly staff, knowledgeable and helpful with setting up tours. Room was nice and clean, tents were simple but clean and bed was comfortable. Bathrooms were very clean and had nice facilities. Shower was warm.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Tsitsikamma Backpackers is a quiet retreat in a beautiful setting. I stayed in one of their garden tents that had 2 single beds, a porch, and electricity. The common area is very welcoming with couches, TV and computer to use. The staff was very helpful and could offer advise, directions and make bookings. I would definitely recommend this backpackers to friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillKampalaUganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Storms River hotels
0.3 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
860 reviews
7.8 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
#7 of 12 in Storms River
181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Andelomi Forest Lodge
Andelomi Forest Lodge
#9 of 12 in Storms River
70 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
#1 of 12 in Storms River
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsitsikamma Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsitsikamma Backpackers

Property: Tsitsikamma Backpackers
Address: 54 Formosa Street, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Storms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tsitsikamma Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a home - away - from - home backpackers in Stormsriver Village. This four stars and Greenline accredited backpacker’s offers double en suite, double rooms, tented units and dorm accommodation in a magnificent one acre garden setting with gorgeous views of the mountains. Daily breakfast and dinner is served with vegetarian options. Our bar area is the perfect place to sit back and relax after an adventure filled day! We offer in house star gazing as well as the Tsitsikamma Segway tours and mountain bike rental. Come join us for adventurous days and relaxed & fun-filled nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tsitsikamma Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tsitsikamma Backpackers Tsitsikamma National Park/Storms River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing