We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked a tent for two nights. I have to say that it was a very good decision to go to Tsitsikamma Backpackers. The reception people were always friendly and tried to assist, the nature around is spectacular (!!!) and the place itself was very clean and green. Nice stay, would gladly book it again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    112
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
46
109
43
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vredehoek, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We booked in as a couple and 7 year old on 30 Dec. We wish they had told us in Oct when we booked that our room would share a prefab wall with a bar. Smoke seeped through the bathroom window all night and the noise was appalling. We eventually complained at 11pm when the music was shut off but the shouting, pool ball knocking and smoke continued. We eventually left at 5am feeling exhausted with a child who had a headache from the smoke and noise. The facility is otherwise beautiful and neat with lovely staff. I would not recommend it for anyone who is beyond "partying" stage or is a family. We also feel that the facility should have warned us about the rooms proximity to the bar and that the "tranquil environment" that is advertised is not the case beyond 7pm. Not a good stopover when one had to concentrate on driving to Cpt the following day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014

WOuld not have missed it for worlds. Only tents available. Would have preferred a room. Staff both friendly and helpful. Well appointed, comfortable and very clean. Most enjoyed Nation park and Canopy tour.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had a fantastic time at Tsitsikamma Backpackers. We stayed in the tents and they were fabulous - clean, comfortable mattresses and clean ablution facilities.
The access to activities or information was spectacular!
I highly recommend staying here :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Very good price - quality.
Staff is helpful and friendly.
Shared showers and toilets are fine (we slept in the outdoor tents - low price).
Bar is fine.
The whole place has a nice atmosphere.
We enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend this backpackers.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch
2 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The rooms and all facilities are great, I hardly sleep that good at home. The staff takes care of the guest very well, make suggestions on activities. The offer breaker and dinner on request. I'll be back

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The venue and price was ideal for our purposes. Good location - close to Tubing activity. Perhaps as consideration - the breakfast was more expensive than the local restaurant and wasn't as extensive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Iain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storms River
0.3 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
876 reviews
7.8 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
#7 of 12 in Storms River
183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Andelomi Forest Lodge
Andelomi Forest Lodge
#9 of 12 in Storms River
70 reviews
5.2 mi away
Misty Mountain Reserve
Misty Mountain Reserve
#2 of 5 in Tsitsikamma National Park
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsitsikamma Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsitsikamma Backpackers

Property: Tsitsikamma Backpackers
Address: 54 Formosa Street, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Storms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tsitsikamma Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a home - away - from - home backpackers in Stormsriver Village. This four stars and Greenline accredited backpacker’s offers double en suite, double rooms, tented units and dorm accommodation in a magnificent one acre garden setting with gorgeous views of the mountains. Daily breakfast and dinner is served with vegetarian options. Our bar area is the perfect place to sit back and relax after an adventure filled day! We offer in house star gazing as well as the Tsitsikamma Segway tours and mountain bike rental. Come join us for adventurous days and relaxed & fun-filled nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tsitsikamma Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tsitsikamma Backpackers Tsitsikamma National Park/Storms River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing