We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome little village, great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
“Awesome little village, great stay!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Visited beginning of Jan. Stormsrivier was a great find, what a beautiful little village. An abundance of stars! Tsitsikamma Backpackers was great! Clean, very helpful staff, very central. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cristelharmse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    110
    21
    8
    3
See reviews for
42
109
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We always rate our stay with the amount of good service we receive. Tsitsikamma backpackers exceeded our expectations! We had a great time!
We enjoyed the Segways and clean air every morning. Will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Clinton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2013

a very pleasnt stay. we were with our parents who felt very relaxed and looked after. rooms were above standard, toliets./showers very clean and well maintained and location is excellent. staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. had a fantastic breakfast in a wonderful setting.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Col R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stormsriver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had just one Night-booked the 4* Accomodation (not the cheap 4 Bed-Room)
It was amazing.. We had a single house, wonderful, big, clean with outdoorshower.. We had just one Night, and couldn't stay longer.. A perfect Christmas-Night

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Elke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

When we arrived we thought it looked lovely. The room was very basic but it was clean (in hindsight the 340 we paid was not worth it as we have stayed in nicer places that are ensuite for only 300). It was quiet and the many notices on the wall informed us that we were staying in a 'tranquil environment' that we were asked to respect. Then at about 5pm a tour bus of teenagers arrived at the hostel. Cue screaming, running about and mess everywhere (the kitchen was disgusting and no one thought that they should clean it up apparently) for the next few hours. The walls were paper thin as we discovered. We were next to the stairs and every time someone ran up them, the room shock. More annoying than the teenagers was the non stop music coming from the bar. But the notices on the wall ensured us that after 10pm things would be toned down. Nope. At 12am I was sick of the bass line, so went and asked the staff what time it would be turned off. The bar man said 'now', i went upstairs and it was turned off - for 2 minutes, before it was put on again. Finally at 12.30am the music stopped. The next morning the teenagers woke us at 7am with more screaming and thundering up and down the stairs. And still the 'tranquil environment' sign on the wall taunted us. For the price and the experience, I wouldn't bother!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank februaryhove2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My boyfriend and I are taking a slow drive down the garden route. I am from SA and he is from the USA, so wanted to show him the most beatiful places i used to travel with friends while road tripping back home from CPT during varsity breaks. But also wanted to show him the local culture and to experience the "real" SA without all the frills and fuss of 5 star accommodation, thus the backpackers/hostels along the route were chosen.

This place was our first stop, after the exhilarating thrill of bungy jumping, this place was a pleasant surprise. We settled into a comfy and spacious room with our own patio and private bathroom. Although there were a few funny smells and fixtures that were broken or on the frits in the bedroom and bathroom, it still had a very comfortable bed which made up for most things.
The other factor which made this place so special for us was the incredibly friendly manager Mitchell. What a legend, his local friends and him made us feel really welcome and got to enjoy their company at the bar till early hours of the morning.
Overall, if you are a young traveller and enjoy a fun and friendly atmosphere, definitely make this a stop on your garden route tour.

Room Tip: If you are couple and want a little more privacy their double ensuite room is a must!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We (4 females) shared a dormitory for one night when we stopped over to do the Canopy Tour. Communication was good prior to our stay and all was prepared for our arrival. We were made to feel very welcome, with a lovely fire lit for us near the bar. We chose dinner in the evening where we were served a traditional braii and toast, jam and tea for breakfast. Meals were great and the self-service option made us feel comfortable. The barman was super and the gardens well kept, especially for a backpackers. I enjoyed a good night sleep and felt refreshed the next morning. The ensuite rooms looked lovely but we were happy enough with the dorms. Free wifi also. Would definitely recommend, especially if on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luckybear6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Storms River hotels
0.3 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
829 reviews
7.8 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
631 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
#8 of 13 in Storms River
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Andelomi Forest Lodge
Andelomi Forest Lodge
#10 of 13 in Storms River
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
At The Woods Guest House
At The Woods Guest House
#1 of 5 in Storms River
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Serenity Retreat
Serenity Retreat
#9 of 13 in Storms River
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsitsikamma Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsitsikamma Backpackers

Property: Tsitsikamma Backpackers
Address: 54 Formosa Street, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Storms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tsitsikamma Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a home - away - from - home backpackers in Stormsriver Village. This four stars and Greenline accredited backpacker’s offers double en suite, double rooms, tented units and dorm accommodation in a magnificent one acre garden setting with gorgeous views of the mountains. Daily breakfast and dinner is served with vegetarian options. Our bar area is the perfect place to sit back and relax after an adventure filled day! We offer in house star gazing as well as the Tsitsikamma Segway tours and mountain bike rental. Come join us for adventurous days and relaxed & fun-filled nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tsitsikamma Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tsitsikamma Backpackers Tsitsikamma National Park/Storms River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing