We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful, quiet spot.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A beautiful, quiet spot.”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Tube N Axe for two days and had a lovely time. The location is ideal, on the edge of quaint Storms River Village and surrounded by plenty of greenery. The staff are very accommodating and helpful. When you tell them what
you are interested in doing for the day they go out of their way to make it easy for you.

I went out to the Tsitsikamma National Park both days that I was there, forgoing any of the more adventurous activities, and enjoyed both the Waterfall Hike (which is on very challenging terrain) and the one to the suspension bridges that cross the mouth of Storms River. Tube N Axe provides the first transfer to the park for free to Baz Bus travellers, and the cost for the second transfer was about 200 rand.

The lodge itself is lovely and cozy and there is a nice, chill vibe in the common area after dark. You can curl up on a couch, play pool, get a drink at the bar, or go outside to enjoy the roaring campfire they light nightly.

They do a really nice breakfast buffet in the morning for about 35 rand with plenty of freshly baked goodies and fresh fruit to enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelleyabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    58
    26
    11
    11
See reviews for
21
54
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I called the day before my arrival at Tube & Axe to make a reservation and request pick up at the gas station nearby (which their website advertises they provide for free). I waited for almost two hours and spoke several times with people on the phone who kept saying the driver was coming, although he never showed up and I got a ride with other people.

Everything at the hostel is pay extra. The dorm rooms are spacious and clean, but you have to pay for absolutely everything. The bar tender guy was extremely unprofessional and got absolutely plastered the night I was there and acted like a five year old child. It was ridiculous.

On my way out, I asked for a ride back to the gas station (since again, the website advertises this transport is free) and they said I would have to pay because the shuttle is free only one way-- even though I never got the one way pick up, anyway.

Would definitely recommend staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banc-y-felin, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The room was clean and bright and the beds beyond comfortable!
The staff were helpful and informative and the atmosphere was quite laid back.
The bathrooms were clean and in good order also. The breakfast...what can I say about the breakfast? The muffins were so fresh from the oven that they were still steaming, the bread obviously oven baked and super fresh also...what more could you ask for?
I've done the tubing a couple of times and have been pretty lucky to get rapids on more than one occasion, even in low water where there are less rapids the guides made sure that we had plenty of fun with always a laugh and joke to be had with everyone and some jumps from high rocks.
I really enjoyed my whole experience at Tube N Axe in its beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have not stayed at Tube n Axe before because I wlove so close we often go there for something to drink and to play a game of pool.

Moses makes the best cocktails and for the best prizes! He makes the bonfire outside and plays the music loud and everyone has an amazing time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simone V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Lovely setting for a clean, well maintained en-suite room. Good price for room, food and drinks. Helpful staff. Safe village to walk in evening after dark. Visit Marilyn's for cocktails or food. Explore Storm River's Mouth and kayak up the river,
be warned that the waterfall walk is very challenging when you reach the rocks, the canopy tour is a must, visit the big tree and make sure you visit the Total garage on the N2 for a walk across the bridge over the river. It is so beautiful in the Tsitikamma forest and Tube n Axe is a superb place to base yourself.

Room Tip: Private, family room en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownOwlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
141 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

The lodge is ok but the atmosphere is nothing special, the town is also completely dead.
We went to this hostel to do the black water tubing and I can tell you it's a pure scum and joke!
First of all I think the tubing I way to expensive for the money you get.
Second of all there is no river. There is just some water with no stream in it so you have to paddle with your hands literally for 3 hours.
Third you have to walk and climb over stones even more than you have to paddle.
I was very very angry. This tubing is not adventurous at all and is a pure scum!

The town is completely dead but if you search to do something I would recommend to go to the Elvis bar down the road. It's only a 3 minutes walk!

There is no swimming pool at the lodge but the hotels around tube n axe are happy to let you swim in their pool If you just buy a drink!

Staff was not friendly at all. The Dutch girl behind the bar was just the whole time texting and not paying attention to anything. I don't understand why everybody was so positive about this place.


Our tour took us 15 days and we did
Johannesburg
Durban
Chintsa
Jeffrey's bay
Plettenberg
Storms river
Oudtshoorn

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Emmanuel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here to take advantage of the blackwater tubing. And didn't. It isn't cheap & when we were told by staff that
the water was low & that we would spend 40% of the time lugging the tube over rocks, we held back until we heard fellow campers reviews. To a man, they complained that they spent over 80% of the time rock crawling & the little time spent in the water was not worth it. This is disingenuous. It's over R1000 for a couple & shouldn't be promoted when it isn't worth backpackers hard saved money.
Having said that, the campsite was well kept & the showers brilliant.Tsitsikamma canopy tours were great & Xmas Day lunch at Marylins Diner was wonderful. If you're into 60's memorabilia, it's a joy to spend time with Elvis & Marylin & the genuine cadillacs.
There is no pool at Tube n'Axe, but the hotel down the road allows you to swim there if you buy a drink, which was fab.
The staff at Tube n' Axe weren't very friendly & the empty bar & outdoor fire at night laid testimony to that. Down the road is another backpackers (Njumbe?) which was very festive & welcoming, with drumming circles & activities most evenings.
The freezers in the communal kitchens were not operational while we were there, but we were allowed to use the bar freezer, although I wonder if that is the exception rather than the rule when it is busy.
We did have a great time however, thanks to the amazing people we met there. We came equipped with extra extension cables & although electricity is not offered to campers, we made it happen & shared with others who became fast friends for 30 seconds and more! ..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Storms River hotels
0.2 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
#2 of 12 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Serenity Retreat
Serenity Retreat
#8 of 12 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Andelomi Forest Lodge
Andelomi Forest Lodge
#9 of 12 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge

Property: Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
Address: Cnr. Saffron & Darnell Streets, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Storms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Storm Rriver Backpackers - This fantastic youth hostel is located in Storms River Village on the pulse of adventure and is ranked among the top backpackers lodges in South Africa let alone Garden Route. Our Accommodation offers warm cosy beds, clean facilities, Stormsriver Activities and Adventures. A buzzing night-life attracts travellers from all over to Tube ‘n Axe Backpackers Lodge and Accommodation. Storms River Village is a must visit while in Tsitsikamma and Garden Route area. Tubenaxe is also home of Blackwater Tubing and it is close to the Garden Route National Park at the famous Storms River Mouth – we offer shuttles on a daily basis to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotel.de so you can book your Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge Tsitsikamma National Park/Storms River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing