We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one night wonder” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“one night wonder”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

We were in a large party and only staying one night , we all had dinner which was very nice and not very expensive.
The bar area and bonfire are a relaxing area to sit and have a beer after a long day travelling, was a shame just to spend one night

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trekker_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    56
    26
    10
    11
See reviews for
19
52
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

we were 3 couples staying at the Backpackers, on arrival we were met with friendly staff who immediately made us feel so welsome, rustic and beatulully decorated i could not believe that this is actually a back packers. the rooms took my breath away as it was like walking into a guest house, there are many meal options, great food with an amazing evening vibe and bond fire outside.

thank you guys for a wonderful stay i do recommend not paying hotel prices when you can stay at a place like Tube N Axe with awesome accommodation at less the price.

fantastic staff and wonderful owner who you can see takes pride in his work. a birdie told us that he does everything himself including the building. very very impressive

thanks guys and we will see you soon on our next visit

Room Tip: take the double rooms, however the dorm rooms are just as nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank obapty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Had a lovely few days here with wonderful staff, lively fun bar, good food available, activities organised and great and clean accommodation.

Rooms looked lovely but we stayed in the raised tent which if you like that kind of thing is great fun, very cheap and a memorable experience.

Try the bungee - an AMAZING experience! Though check the water levels before booking tubing. It was too shallow when we did it so not that much fun, unless you enjoy jumping into the river from lots of different jumps including a tree!

Room Tip: Try the tent for something different and fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

Both the backpackers and the area are really beautiful. The backpackers is clean and well maintained and the kitchen was reasonably well equipped. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nyx_sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

loved the place.
the rooms and gardens were all very neat and clean; helpfull staff, good atmosphere in the bar; we stayed in the family room which was perfect.
Do the canopy tour in StormsRiver, great fun.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G0th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2010

has a bar and plays loud music but when it comes to rooms:broken bed and heavy food smell, stayed 1 night-not the best place

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sami7986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-Upon-Tyne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2009

3 of us travelled along the Eastern Cape and generally stayed in upmarket accommodation. When we got to Tsitsikamma however we couldn't find anywhere to stay so decided to give a backpackers lodge a try and it was one of the best decisions we made that holiday. We had done the Bloukrans Bridge bungy earlier that day which was amazing and then booked ourselves on a more relaxing activity, Tree Top Canopy Tours, which was fun and filled with some amazing views as you zipped through the forest. There was a real mix of age groups and the tour was enjoyed by all so don't worry that it might be too much or too little for you. Back at Tube n Axe we filled up on the cheap but tasty food you can order at the front desk and sat with the other guests around the fire drinking and chatting. The hospitable bar staff helped us through a range of shots and a little too much Jaeger to finish off the perfect day. If you meet the barman, Wes, make sure you order a JC le Roux and request Purple Rain. The next day we headed out early for some Black Water Tubing. This was a really amazing experience travelling down stream in a rubber ring, soaking up the sun and views. The water was calm but there are some really fun twists and turns when you go through the faster flowing water. There are also cliff jumps for those a little more daring. I really don't think you can get it wrong in the this place. Whatever you do, you'll enjoy it as the place is so beautiful and the people are so friendly. Amazing.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyrokeby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Storms River hotels
0.0 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
7.8 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.3 mi away
Armagh Country Lodge
Armagh Country Lodge
#3 of 4 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
#2 of 13 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Andelomi Forest Lodge
Andelomi Forest Lodge
#10 of 13 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.2 mi away
At The Woods Guest House
At The Woods Guest House
#1 of 5 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge

Property: Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
Address: Cnr. Saffron & Darnell Streets, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Storms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Storm Rriver Backpackers - This fantastic youth hostel is located in Storms River Village on the pulse of adventure and is ranked among the top backpackers lodges in South Africa let alone Garden Route. Our Accommodation offers warm cosy beds, clean facilities, Stormsriver Activities and Adventures. A buzzing night-life attracts travellers from all over to Tube ‘n Axe Backpackers Lodge and Accommodation. Storms River Village is a must visit while in Tsitsikamma and Garden Route area. Tubenaxe is also home of Blackwater Tubing and it is close to the Garden Route National Park at the famous Storms River Mouth – we offer shuttles on a daily basis to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge Tsitsikamma National Park/Storms River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing