We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 nights is not enough!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dijembe Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dijembe Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“2 nights is not enough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2010

we stayed here longer than planned as the place is so relaxed & friendly, it's like it's got it's own time zone! great location & shuttles available for adventure activities, really chilled & comfortable surroundings (open fire, hammocks, felt like home from home!) so great place to wind down from the adrenalin rush! definately value for money, also bar & tasty meals are great value, go tubing, it rocks! staff are amazing, so welcoming, accommodating & great fun, overall it's awesome & wish i could of stayed much much longer!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onegirlrollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    47
    15
    3
    12
See reviews for
7
73
62
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2010

If you're looking for an alternative to regular backpackers where the staff prepares you a fresh-made dinner, where you sit together at the fireplace, where you catch horses at night, where you <put other impressions you'll always remember here>, then you definetly have to go here. Ask Brad if you can use is bikes, drive through the Tsitsikama National Park and walk the beginning of the Otter Trail close to the Ocean. After coming home, enjoy your meal at the fireplace, have a drink or two and the next morning, enjoy the sunrise in a hammok.

This will definetly be one of your best days in South Africa and you'll regret that you have to leave...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank huhuderuhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2010

As we arrived at this place we all 3 were absolutely thrilled. Dijembe is a beautiful place in the middle of nature. This backpackers offers really a lot: you can dream in the hammocks, relax in the jacuzzi, sit by the fire and chat with other guests or the owner and go on activities lik horse riding, zip lining or tubing. The owners and staff were really nice and booked the activities for us. Especially the horse ride through the woods with the owner Brad was a really fantastic experience. The dorm was really stylish and cosy with its bunk beds. Travelling one week on the Garden Route this Backpackers was our absolutely number 1!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carry7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auto, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2010

Unfortunatly we just had one night for staying in Dijembe. But the two days we spent there were really unforgettable. Great people, really great and relaxed management. If you feel like having a good time in a relaxed place you need to go there.
There you have this cool vibe. Chilling in the hammock, riding the backpacker´s horses, or trying to make one of the great and fun offers (like ziplining or tubing) .
At night you need to go into the openair jacuzzi. We had such a great time. And I´ll need to go there again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hasperl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2010

After reading the reviews I had high expectations of this backpackers. I have stayed in quite a few backpackers around the world and this is one of the least inviting. Upon our arrival we were harshly greeted by one of the owners who obviously had better things to do.

The dorms were nice with fluffy blankets, however the washrooms were a disaster. Often the toilets didn't flush and the showers didn't have any water pressure. The cleanliness factor was similar to what you would expect in SEA or central america. Average for a backpackers.

Shuttles to activites were available but very overpriced and on severe african time. (ie... 2 hours late)

The biggest negative of this stay was the pushiness of the owner to get us to do activies. We were pressured 4 times by the owner to do the tubing activity; despite us say no every time. He even went as far as offering us a lower price. Each time we said no he would get up and not be interested in talking with us any longer.

Finally, 2 of our friends were registered to do the Tubing, unfortunately they were the only ones who signed up for it. In the morning they were told that the river was "too high" to go and too bad for them. We met up with some people that were staying at Tube and Axe who had done tubing that morning. The river was NOT too high, infact it was awsome and at the perfect height. When we told 2 of the people who work here, the owner just shruged and the new guy did not make eye contact......Hummmmm.... I think someone was lying about the water level... They were not honest enough to tell our friends that they did not have enough people to go on the tour. The decent thing to do was to suggest another tour operator.

Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank rollingsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DijembeResponds, Owner at Dijembe Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, November 18, 2010
CANADIAN CUSTOMERS STAY 1 MORE NIGHT AT DIJEMBE AFTER WRITING BAD REPORT?
One thousand eight hundred and twenty days open and trying our best .
Sorry Guys for your bad experience. U didnt tell US about it ---even though we CARE & were there.!
>Dijembe gave u 50% discount on shuttles. !
>Dijembe gave u free internet to write your bad review. !
>>Dijembe have a suggestion box (not used by u) .
>Dijembe pumps fresh mountain water with high pressure pumps into gas heaters for best showers--always hot .Sorry u didnt c the notice saying we switch pumps off at late hours to gravity pressure to save the planet.
>Dijembe walked u to bazbus to personally say goodbye to u..Dijembe offered to carry your bags..Our German host Helena asked if u enjoyed your time.U answered YES.
>U said thanks for everything to German host Helena after writing bad report.
>U stayed 1more night at Dijembe after writing trip advisor report.
>STORMSRIVERTUBING --We promote this activity vigorously as it ROCKS & is CHEAP .
>We are not"( the other operator): and will cancel trips as we feel fit cause SAFETY COMES FIRST. Thanks for listening.--SEE U AT DIJEMBE!!---come rivertubing---it ROCKS>!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

Very nice atmosphere, very helspfull staff. Good food. We will defenitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariepoye7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

We arrived here two days ago and felt immediatel very comfortable here. With hammocks in the gardenand an open fire, the hostel has a chilled out vibe. The kitchen is well equipped with oven and microwave.For R 30 we could even use the jacuzzi on the roof of the backpackers (cool!). We love espacially the dog Tiger (great footballplayer!) and we find the staff here very friendly and helpfull. We will defenitely recommend this place to other travellers.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanetteee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Storms River hotels
0.2 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.3 mi away
Armagh Country Lodge
Armagh Country Lodge
#3 of 4 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
#2 of 13 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
#8 of 13 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.3 mi away
At The Woods Guest House
At The Woods Guest House
#1 of 5 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dijembe Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dijembe Backpackers Hostel

Property: Dijembe Backpackers Hostel
Address: Cnr of Formosa and Assegaai Street | Stormsriver Village, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Storms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you walk into Dijembe you become a part of what this homely and sustainable lodge's name promises: a circle of friends. Handmade hammocks, recycled building materials, fresh mountain water and small details like the 'frog city' which protects little amphibians in the wild green camping garden, prove the passion of the green Dijembe team. Respecting the Khoisan ancestors, Dijembe not only invites its guests to drumming and dances, but also preserves their heritage by including and strengthening the local community. Visit the local township with its art shops and taverns. Bounce through the National Park and explore nature on foot, affordable mountain bikes or on the backs of Dijembe's horses - or book some tubing. End the day with a wholesome organic dinner and bread from the stone pizza oven, then star gaze from the jacuzzi on the candle-lit deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dijembe Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dijembe Backpackers Hostel Tsitsikamma National Park/Storms River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing