We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fly heaven”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Storms River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolphin View Chalets
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Storms River
Swellendam, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fly heaven”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We arrived around 8pm, as I walked across the grass to the door I could feel hundreds of insects bumping again a my legs. When the lights came on it was swarms of flies which followed us inside like a plague. This was in the main house, perhaps the cottages are better. We'll never know as we left at 5:30am and won't be back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lucknow
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed here in December 2011. You need to have a different kinda perspective or ideology to be digging up places like this. Places like Dolhpin View Chalets are not your ordinary run of the mill tourist lodge kinda place, I don't know how to describe this place.... its like Zion... heavenly abode. Nothing could be more beautiful than the setting of this small little place. The rooms, the garden, the small farm with the cows and the majestic sea & sunset beyond. A fire place/barbeque to top it all..... if you're that kinda person.... 3 days minimum. Nirvana.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajatgarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malelane, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Dolphin View is off the beaten track situated on a lovely farm overlooking the ocean, if peace and tranquillity is what you long for then this is just the place to come and relax at. We had a wonderful 3 night stay at Dolphin View during December 2012. The open plan chalets are equipped with everything you might need for self catering. The most enjoyable aspect for me was the outdoor braai facility, you could enjoy an outdoor braai while watching the sun set over the ocean and then enjoy the stars and the peacefulness when evening falls. In the mornings we were woken by friendly cows and peacocks announcing the new day.

We really managed to unwind and just enjoy the lovely ocean views and spend some quality time as friends.

One thing to take note off is that you must come prepared for self catering, the nearest towns are Plettenbergbay and Humansdorp, both about one hours drive away, there is a filling station with a convenience store about 5Km away where you will be able to purchase milk, bread, fire wood and some basic necessities, but rather purchase what you need before arrival.

Dolphin View was a tranquil home base retreat for us, we went for day trips to the Tsitsikamma National Park, the Langkloof, Jeffreys Bay and Oyster Bay.

This is one place where you will be able to just relax with a great book and finish reading it…because the location is just that great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karlien T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were in a group of 8 and we stayed at this resort (Yes I call it a resort) for 2 nights (11th & 12 Oct 2012). The welcome was fantastic, the accomodation was great and the service was so warm that we did not want to leave. Though it is rated as 3 stars, we would definately rate it as a minimum 4 stars if not 5 stars. Once you unpack just take in all the scenery and be at peace with the world. Thank you for a fantastic Holiday.

Milan and Kalpna
Perth Australia

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at Dolphin View...just felt like home! Beautiful view, clean chalets and Barbara,who runs the chalets is always helpful. Beautiful experience and location in front of the ocean. If rainy,it could be better to reach the Dolphin by a 4 x 4 car.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rikko77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok, thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Just spent three weeks in South Africa and this was BY FAR our favorite part of the trip. The national park is gorgeous and for a reasonable price you're able to stay ocean side while in a national park. Restaurant/store with free WIFI and supplies needed for your own campfire by the ocean. GORGEOUS!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenandree83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We have just spend two nights at the Dolphin View chalets and were lucky to have the place to ourselves on the first night. The chalets are in an excellent location at the top of the cliffs in the Tsitsikamma park and have a fantastic view of the ocean in front and the Misty Mountains behind. The hostess, Barbara, was very friendly and helpful and we were sorry to leave for our next stop on the garden route - if we return this way we will definitely stay at Dolphin View chalets again - hopefully for longer next time!

The chalet had everything we needed for self catering and each one has a braai area in front, kitchen and (importantly for us) a fridge. The wildlife was amazing - peacocks came up to the chalet door and hummingbirds were all around. All in all we had a great time in an amazing location with a friendly hostess. The only difficult part was the road from the N2, as it is quite bumpy in parts, but the friendly reception and the stunning location were well worth it. Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Islandboy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storms River
0.0 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
829 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
631 reviews
0.0 mi away
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Misty Mountain Reserve
Misty Mountain Reserve
#3 of 5 in Tsitsikamma National Park
237 reviews
0.0 mi away
At The Woods Guest House
At The Woods Guest House
#1 of 5 in Storms River
380 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
#1 of 13 in Storms River
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin View Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin View Chalets

Property: Dolphin View Chalets
Address: Bluelilies Bush, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Storms River
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Dolphin View Chalets Tsitsikamma National Park/Storms River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing