We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Italian food, amazing service and great atmosphere.”

La Locanda Piccolino - Wetherby
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Collingham
Price range: $0 - $65
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Located in Collingham, near Wetherby, Piccolino serves great Italian food in an atmosphere inspired by the charm and buzz of classic brasseries. Famous for its Italian cuisine, freshly baked focaccia bread and friendly service, this Italian institution attracts a loyal clientele from the Leeds, Harrogate and York areas, with a broad menu offering something irresistible for everyone. The attractive outdoor garden also provides the perfect retreat in the summer whilst the staff serve a wonderful combination of both modern and classic Italian dishes to you. Piccolino uses only the finest quality seasonal ingredients, with everything freshly prepared and made on the premises by the restaurant's chefs. The restaurant's Italian charm and long standing team ensure all visitors receive a warm welcome and a true Italian experience each and every time.
London
Level Contributor
257 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Real Italian food, amazing service and great atmosphere.”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Run by Sardinians, who were delighted to speak Italian with our guests from Rome, the service could not have been better. They really take care of their clients.
The pizza dough was perfect, the vegetarian choices were numerous and the quality of food is excellent.
The smoked salmon starter was wonderful, I could have eaten it over and over again. Don't hesitate to try the caciucco too, really tasty and just the right amount of piccante.
Truly a gem of a restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LizbetLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    98
    49
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food but way too expensive and poor service.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Called in here midweek with my wife, and there were only about 10 other people in. Not a very friendly welcome, staff did not really seem interested.

There is a good choice of drinks, both alcoholic and non alcoholic for the driver but they are way overpriced.

Ordered garlic bread with tomato to start which took 20 minutes to arrive !, got the impression they were hoping we would buy more drinks but that was not going to happen at those prices.

Then had another 40 minute wait for 2 basic pasta dishes and side salads. We would have stayed for sweets but it had taken so long already we simply did not have the time to wait.

It's a shame really because the food quality was good, and the atmosphere is a nice place to be, but the overall experience was let down by bad service and frankly extortionate prices for what we had.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob_Lord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
292 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nice setting and friendly restaurant”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Visited numerous times for lunch and once for dinner. The pre dinner drinks area isn't very attractive however the outside area admittedly for warmer weather is an attractive addition so for preference outside the nicer place for drinks weather permitting. Menu extensive and the seafood risotto,crab ravioli and soup all very nice as is gamberoni however best to ask to hold the oil as its liberally drizzled! Personal preference is that the swordfish and seafood skewers are the recommended options. The special of lobster is disappointing as the heavy tomato sauce is not delicate enough to enhance the lobster.....it dominates. Wine list ok and reasonably priced but prosecco slightly overpriced in my view. Some tables very close together which has the impact of not sufficient privacy....a drawback. Staff friendly but sometimes a language barrier when asking for things like no oil or dressing on the side as this is readily agreed upon ordering but the kitchen is not informed and the food arrives not as asked. However the staff are fine to take it back and return to spec. All in all recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diamond280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Service but high prices”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We visit the restaurant quite regularly as we are local. The staff are great - they really look after you and make your visit really enjoyable. The food is good but perhaps a little too much aimed at the English palate - Italian food is simpler, however I undertstand that as a chain there has to be some uniformity amongst the restaurants. It is pricey, especially if you have a large family. You can take advantage of an early bird menu which is more economic.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Busy_Fab40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Looking a little tired for this up market chain”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Called with my wife recently, I've bee going for several years but it definitely needs a makeover. The staff are always attentive and welcoming, called on Sunday, early evening it wasn't as busy as I though. It was a bit grubby, around the toilet area and it was, by the smell, unmistakeable a toilet. Back to the food. I had a beautiful walnut and pear salad my wife had the chicken liver pâté both were very good although a little too much pâté for a starter. I had the Porchetta I felt this had been cooked in individual slices rather than carved from the joint it would rate it as OK, there was no crispy crackling as mentioned on the menu, the crispy roast potatoes were sad and very greasy, I had one left the rest. My wife had a starter seafood risotto which was very good and the portion was enough, at £80 for two certainly it wasn't value for money. This is one act that needs smartening up.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Locanda Piccolino - Wetherby also viewed

Wetherby, West Yorkshire
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
 
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
 
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
 

Been to La Locanda Piccolino - Wetherby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing