We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wood Hall Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Collingham
Certificate of Excellence
Loughborough
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

We booked the Sunday night club deal, £139 for afternoon tea, dinner, bed and breakfast. Excellent value. Staff friendly and helpful, hotel and facilities of high standard. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bec81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    209
    68
    36
    15
See reviews for
115
419
11
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed on a Saturday night - there was a wedding party and it's fairly obviously that other guests in this scenario get over-looked. We knew we couldn't use the dining room, we were told it was fully booked, what we hadn't been told that this was due to the weddng. We were told it was OK to order food from the bar but the staff seemed pre-occupied with the wedding. The menu was the same one as for room service and for a spa hotel had no veggie option, an amazing thing to find in 2011. The sitting room we ate our meal in was cold, we were told a fire would be lit in 25 minutes time!! The food was very average, they couldn't rustle up a decent salad - simply don't get this.

The lighting in the rooms is too poor to read by, we had 3 lights not working on top of this and had to get someone to replace them. The service at breakfast topped the whole weekend - we had to ask 3 times for tea and coffee. Might sound petty but first thing in the morning what do most people crave.

This was not a budget weekend, they charged full rate.

There needs to be staff over 35 years of ageworking in a hotel of this type who understand what a warm welcome means and get old-fashioned service values.

A bad experience not to be repeated.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stel186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles_Merchie, General Manager at Wood Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and I am very sorry for the disappointment you encountered with some aspects of your stay.

I would however like to mention that a Wedding Event or any other type of function has no impact on the Georgian Restaurant as they are both run by there own individual teams. The reason why the restaurant gets booked up very quickly is because it is a very popular, Two AA Rosette Restaurant and it has a maximum of 40 seats available. I must however apologise for the poor service that you encountered in the Oak Bar and breakfast the following morning. I am aware that the Duty Manager made an effort to speak to you and apologised before you checked out and brought the issues to my attention the following day in order to resolve the short fall in the service with the team. It is true that our Lounge and Room Service menu is the same however I would like to mention that there are plenty of vegetarian options on it including, Soup, Risotto, Cheese Rarebit and a selection of vegetarian open toasties. Our Chefs are also very flexible and willing to accommodate any special requests.

I am truly sorry that you felt overwhelmed by the wedding guests and I would like to reassure you that we always do our utmost to ensure the quality of the stay for our individual guests is not affected by them with measures such as reserving the Drawing Room for residents only and ensuring that individual guests have the sole use of the restaurant for breakfast and the wedding party is in a separate private room, ect…..

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Warm regards and sincere apologies

Charles Merchie, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

The drive up to the hotel was amazing in itself, the hotel even nicer. We stayed at wood hall for a wedding, the wedding was wonderfull and the food delicious. My room was amazing and I was in a room at the back, realy can not express how lovely I found the hotel and staff. I will be going back for a weekend so I can try the spa facalities and enjoy the grounds.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessyharri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D&G Scotland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

My daughter and I have just returned from a 2 night spa break at Wood Hall and we loved it. The Hotel is set in absolutely gorgeous grounds and the hotel is spotlessly clean. We were in a courtyard room adjoined to the main hotel and it was fab. The room was a really good size and had all the usual such as tea/coffee/iron/press/bathrobes etc. The television was at least 42" screen and there was a dvd player too. The bathroom was lovely - all tiled and had an over bath shower which was really powerful.
The food was amazing (dinner was included the first night of our break) - fine dining and deserves it 2 rosettes. The spa was lovely - pool decent size, excellent steam room aand jacuzzi and the gym was well very well equipped. The treatments we had were fisrt class - the therapists were lovely and obviously knew what they were doing. We both had the back neck and shoulder massage and the salt and oil full body scrub. Only down side - beware the price of drinks as ever in these type of hotels - a 250 ml glass of wine 0 £10.50!! We bought a bottle and shared it! Would definitely go back. The 2nd night we went to the Windmill pub for a meal at the bottom of the lane - it too was delicious and lovely friendly atmosphere - very reasonable too.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

We have been to this Hotel a few times & always been happy with our visit.
However, this time we felt that the rooms are looking very tired & in need of some attention. The paintwork is very shabby & some of the furniture too. The bed very comfortable, a good night's sleep.
Sorry to say but disappointed with the cleanliness this time, The glasses in the bathroom were still stained with dried on toothpaste! Needless to say we didn't use them. Also, the tea/coffee making facilities were not very well replenished, no sweeteners, only two sugars.
But, the meal in the Restaurant was First class, everything was perfect. The Chef Brilliant, The service excellent. Would go back just for the meal experience. Well done.

Room Tip: Rooms are pricey to start with but if you can afford it & Upgrade you may well do better than we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaLacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed for a wedding (which was lovely, very well organised and the food was great!).

Hotel itself is lovely, a bit of wear and tear in the rooms but nothing to be concerned about.

Breakfast was great we did not find this cold, plenty of choice and was replenished.

I do think the rooms were overpriced - I was expecting turn down service which we did not get, and there was no free wifi.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gemmybear83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

Having already stayed here on several occasions as a favourite we chose Wood Hall for a short break where the familiar setting would allow us to quickly relax. We arrived on a Sunday at 2pm so couldn't check in until 3pm so waited in the spa.The hotel seemed preoccupied with a Wedding fayre such that we felt rather an inconvenience and then we were handed a key to find our own way to the room. We immediately rejected this room (Juniper) as its outlook was a close up view of the noisy kitchen air conditioning unit. We were immediately shown to a better room in the modern annexe of the hotel. Both rooms are now very weathered (furniture stained and worn, soft furnishings shabby, lamp shades crumpled and in room information guides tatty) which because of the dark brown and muted stone shades actually make them feel very tired and overused and well below standard for this class of hotel and our previous experience. It was also not so good to see piles of laundry and in room service trays left stacked up on the landing of the hotel well into the early evening. We also checked out the spa which again has seen better days and smelt musty in the changing rooms.

The saving grace of this hotel is its restaurant with excellent service and fantastic menu. We really enjoyed dinner, expecially the artisan cheese and in particular the waitress service from Violetta who is a superlative professional, engaging and knowledgeable without fussiness. Breakfast was equally good with a good range of food and attentive service.

On departure, the service from both reception and the spa was slow and lacked attention to the customer. Overall this hotel rates a disappointing average rating from us in its current state and front of house service but the outstanding restaurant is the redeeming feature.
I'm sure we will return but Wood Hall, it's time for a makeover and your hotel service needs upgrading to standards which your beautiful setting merits.

Room Tip: Don't chose Juniper unless you like a close up of air conditioning units!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyZia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collingham
4.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,395 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
8.5 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
14.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
11.6 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wood Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wood Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Trip Lane | Linton, Collingham LS22 4JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Collingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Collingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wood Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a country escape for the Scott family, Wood Hall Hotel & Spa in Wetherby remains a tranquil country house hotel where today's pressures seem an age away. Ever since the house was completed around 1790, it has been a place of peace and relaxation. Fittingly, it currently stands next door to a Carmelite monastery, home to a order of nuns. However Wood Hall Hotel is not simply about quiet contemplation: the hotel offers 44 bedrooms, a 2 AA Rosette restaurant and a small health club and spa. Inspire your delegates with our training and meeting facilities, take over the house for your dream wedding or celebrate a special occasion in one of our private dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Wood Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wood Hall Hotel And Spa
Wood Hall Hotel Wetherby
Wood Hall Wetherby
Hotel Wood Hall
Hall Hotel Wood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing