We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I don't understand the fuss”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Zazen Restaurant

Zazen Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 440 Restaurants in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $39
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Seafood, European, Asian, Thai, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Zazen Restaurant Samui is the Thai food lovers dream, the international food lovers reawakening. The atmosphere at Zazen Restaurant is one of romance, sophistication and intimacy. At night, the trendy restaurant glows with the light of over one hundred candles. Soft jazz mingles with the sound of gentle waves and guests enjoy the pleasures of fine dining, elegant service and the entertainment of traditional Thai dance in Samui. The restaurant is located on the beachfront at Bophut, with sweeping views of neighboring islands over the tranquil and gentle waters of the bay.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I don't understand the fuss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We ate from the Thai menu and asked ourselves what was all the fuss about? The setting is very pretty, but the food was far from outstanding. H Bistro at Hansar is, altough a bit more expensive, miles further in balance and sophistication of tastes. For a smaller wallet, Cafe 69 along the main road would be a more budget friendly but outstanding Thai with a twist. All in all, Zazen is pretty, but we thought the food was just ok. Perhaps the Western options are what everyone is impressed about - we didn't try those though. The wine menu looked decent, we had cocktails only, and those were very nice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Manuela_Amsterdam_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zazen_FBM, Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Manuela,

We very much thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about our restaurant. We are pleased to read that you liked the setting and that you enjoyed the cocktails. We would have wished however to have made your experience more memorable and regret that the food taste was not what you have expected.

We are serving Royal Thai Cuisine which tastes different than other regional Thai cuisines served in other restaurants because of its refined cooking techniques. Thai Royal Cuisine can trace its history back to the cosmopolitan palace cuisine of the Ayutthaya kingdom.

We hope that one day we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

The Zazen Restaurant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    780
    242
    93
    41
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart Tasmania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pricey but nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We went here for our anniversary dinner on a recommendation. We arrived to find the place was AMAZING and right by the water. however a look at the menu was a bit of a shock as the meals were quite pricey and the wines were exorbitant despite the huge range. We ended up going with a thai banquet which was quite nice and very satisfying at a cost of 2500 THB for two ( the cheapest thing on the menu) and a couple of cocktails each took us up another 1500 THB. The food was lovely and the chef came to greet us during the meal. We had a lovely time however were a little disappointed at the cost compared to other similar restaurants in Thailand

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anniemac_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zazen_FBM, Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for the time you have taken to review our restaurant and thank you for choosing us for your anniversary dinner. We are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your evening at Zazen. Indeed our wine list is extensive, however we have some excellent wine by the glass which we sell at a very competitive price despite the fact that the taxes for wines in Thailand increased drastically the past few months.

We are looking forward welcoming you back.

The Zazen Restaurant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

My husband and I visited Thailand last summer and unfortunately had a scooter accident early on in our holiday. As we weren't able to bear the salt water in order to enjoy the wonderful water around Koh Samui we decided instead to treat ourselves to a really nice meal instead. We only booked Zazen for one night but loved it so much that we came back again the following night. The location is so picturesque and really tranquil and relaxing. A gorgeous cocktail looking out over the beach certainly took our minds off any aches and pains. The staff are so lovely and did everything possible to make the whole meal a wonderful experience for us even moving us to a table with a fabulous view over the beach. The food was mouth watering and every course was fantastic. Zazen really is a gem and I am so glad we found it. The resort looked fabulous too so if we do go back to Koh Samui one day I think Zazen will be top on our list!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JLongthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zazen_FBM, Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Restaurant and Resort. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time in Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa. We do try to provide our guest with a unique experience through our Resort facilities and with a genuine service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Zazen!

The Zazen Restaurant Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HongKong
Level Contributor
111 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant, will go again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We've had multiple trips to Samui and have tried many restaurants, there are only two that we would return to Zazen is top of that very short list. Very romantic eclectic decoration, excellent service and of course wonderful food. It's not too expensive either when you consider the quality / location. Keep up the good work Zazen!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MatthewC655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zazen_FBM, Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Matthew,

Thank you for reviewing our restaurant, we are very proud to hear that we made it on top of your short list!

We are looking forward welcoming you back to Zazen.

The Zazen Restaurant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“expensive but worth it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

great setting right on the beach front with unreal views out towards koh phangan. food was beautiful and 1 picky teenager said was the best thai meal she had while on holiday. the rest of us agreed with her! the most beautiful restaurant we ate at while in koh samui and aslo the best service.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank tonyyoung69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zazen_FBM, Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive feedback about your experience at Zazen Restaurant. We are really happy to note that you enjoyed our restaurant and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

The Zazen Restaurant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zazen Restaurant also viewed

 
Mae Nam, Ko Samui
 

Been to Zazen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing