We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1 Restaurant in Bophut”
Review of Zazen Restaurant

Zazen Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 478 Restaurants in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Zazen Restaurant Samui is the Thai food lovers dream, the international food lovers reawakening. The atmosphere at Zazen Restaurant is one of romance, sophistication, and intimacy. At night, the trendy restaurant glows with the light of over one hundred candles. Soft jazz mingles with the sound of gentle waves and guests enjoy the pleasures of fine dining, elegant service and the entertainment of traditional Thai Dance in Samui. The restaurant is located on the beachfront at Bophut, with sweeping views of neighboring islands over the tranquil and gentle waters of the bay.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

If you like a really nice setting and a romantic atmosphere and are looking to get away from Thai food for the night, Zazen is your place. It is decked out to the T in decor and culinary artistry is unmatched amoung any restaurant in Thailand. I reccomend the five spices dish with the duck. Hands down the best dish I've had in two weeks of vacation. The desserts are presented as though they were brought down from heaven. If you are looking for a quiet place to have dessert and relax, Zazen is also for you. The service was impeccable and the overall dinining experience is uniquely European to Bophut beach Thailand.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sco2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zazen_FBM, Guest Relations Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your experience at Zazen Restaurant. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our Five Spices with caramelized duck as well as our desserts. We highly appreciate all your compliments which will be shared with all our team. Thank you for recommending our restaurant.

We would be very happy to welcome you again here at Zazen Restaurant next time you visit Samui.

Best Regards,

The Zazen Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

413 - 417 of 1,242 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

We booked Zazen based on the TA reviews. Upon arrival, you are amazed by the setting. The path leading to the restaurant leads you through the garden which is very romantic.

The restaurant is located overlooking the beach, again scoring points for scenery.

Unfortunately, this is where the positive note ends. We chose to eat from the Thai menu. My dishes, chicken curry and squid were average at best. My girlfriend took vegetable soup and fish in red curry where we asked for European style spicy in stead of Thai spicy. For your reference, European spicy seems to be a Zazen synonym for bland and tasteless. When we asked the waitress for some spices to try and spice the food up a little she looked at us as if we came from planet "crazy in the coconut". After much explaining and almost denying us our request, We did get our crazy spices, but this could not rectify the bland taste and disappointment.

From all the restaurants we visited, staff at Zazen was the most arrogant and unfriendly. I would not recommend

2  Thank Stefan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zazen_FBM, Guest Relations Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our restaurant.

We are sorry to hear that your dinner at Zazen did not meet your expectations and that you are disappointed of the food taste quality. Indeed, in our restaurant we are use to hear requests upon the level of spiciness and not the location style of spiciness. Usually, our guests use the term spiciness to describe the amount of peppery they would like to have. We rarely have problems of communication between the waitresses and our guests about the level of piquant or peppery (low, medium or high). Perhaps there has been a misunderstanding about your request of more seasoned and aromatic dish? Our waitresses are use to speak with guests in English but they were probably confused with the term European style spicy. However, I will make sure to mention your point in our daily briefing to insure better understanding of such request in the future.

Best Regards,

The Zazen Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed at the resort for 10 days and ate their on a number of occasions. We were given a cold face towel, an amuse-bouche, and sorbet on each occasion. Pleasingly they were always different showing a kitchen with depth of talent.

The portions are big (at least we felt so), a starter between two and a couple of mains were almost too much (we had to leave a little main each time). I can highly recommend the mixed satay and we saw a couple have the tasting deserts, this looked incredible! So much desert and so pretty!

Every dish is presented beautifully, care is taken with everything, even simple dishes like pad thai are elevated by the chefs.

We had the Thai Discovery menu on one evening, if you are only there for a single meal it may be worth going for. It is simply divine.

Absolutely loved it to the extent that we are now scared to order thai food in London as we know it won't match!

Thank Alexpett85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zazen_FBM, Guest Relations Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a good review of our restaurant.

We are glad to note that you appreciated the food as well as the decoration and variety of the dishes. Indeed, our Chef enjoys taking care of details to make dinner at Zazen a memorable moment.
I hope you will find a good Thai restaurant in London to remind you your stay at Koh Samui.

We would be very happy to welcome you again here at Zazen.

Best Regards,

The Zazen Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

All was perfect! Two times in Zazen restaurant, the place is very beautiful (the way to the restaurant is like a little jungle!) and the service is really welcoming and kind. The food taste very great, casual for lunch and very sophisticated at night.
Everybody is concerned about doing things well.
An amazing place to recommend to everybody!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CmlBn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zazen_FBM, Guest Relations Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Kamille,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a good comment and for recommending our restaurant. We are happy to hear that after your first experience at Zazen you decided to come back again. It is also a pleasure to see that you appreciated our food and our service that we to enjoy to personalize.

We would be very happy to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Best Regards,

The Zazen Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This review is me catching up from last years travels.

It was a superb meal/experience from start to finish.

We were dropped of by our driver, and walked down the lush path to the restaurant and greeted by friendly staff who showed us to our table. Our meal was an incredible blend of French/Thai cuisines.

Finishing the evening, our deserts were works of art! and recall the nougat was so incredible, we decided to revisit Zazen for the second time during our 2 week stay on the island just to experience that.

The cool frangipani scented hand towels at the end were the perfect finish.

A truly memorable experience that shouldnt be missed!

I went back for the high tea service (not sure if they still offer this?) it was a terrific experience too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AllAb0utTheF00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zazen_FBM, Guest Relations Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your good review.
We are glad to note that after one year you still keep a good memory of your experience here at Zazen. It is a pleasure to hear that the little details like the cool towels as well as the deserts decorations have been enjoyed. Indeed, we still offer the “evening tea” service which is an unexpected, and happy to hear, appreciated experience here in Samui.

We would be very happy to welcome you again at our Zazen restaurant or in our fine dining Salon de Ti.

Best Regards,

The Zazen Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zazen Restaurant also viewed

 
Bophut, Ko Samui
 

Been to Zazen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing