We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty with taste”
Review of Zazen Restaurant

Zazen Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 473 Restaurants in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Zazen Restaurant Samui is the Thai food lovers dream, the international food lovers reawakening. The atmosphere at Zazen Restaurant is one of romance, sophistication and intimacy. At night, the trendy restaurant glows with the light of over one hundred candles. Soft jazz mingles with the sound of gentle waves and guests enjoy the pleasures of fine dining, elegant service and the entertainment of traditional Thai dance in Samui. The restaurant is located on the beachfront at Bophut, with sweeping views of neighboring islands over the tranquil and gentle waters of the bay.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed at the resort for 10 days and ate their on a number of occasions. We were given a cold face towel, an amuse-bouche, and sorbet on each occasion. Pleasingly they were always different showing a kitchen with depth of talent.

The portions are big (at least we felt so), a starter between two and a couple of mains were almost too much (we had to leave a little main each time). I can highly recommend the mixed satay and we saw a couple have the tasting deserts, this looked incredible! So much desert and so pretty!

Every dish is presented beautifully, care is taken with everything, even simple dishes like pad thai are elevated by the chefs.

We had the Thai Discovery menu on one evening, if you are only there for a single meal it may be worth going for. It is simply divine.

Absolutely loved it to the extent that we are now scared to order thai food in London as we know it won't match!

Thank Alexpett85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zazen_FBM, Guest Relations Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a good review of our restaurant.

We are glad to note that you appreciated the food as well as the decoration and variety of the dishes. Indeed, our Chef enjoys taking care of details to make dinner at Zazen a memorable moment.
I hope you will find a good Thai restaurant in London to remind you your stay at Koh Samui.

We would be very happy to welcome you again here at Zazen.

Best Regards,

The Zazen Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

413 - 417 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

All was perfect! Two times in Zazen restaurant, the place is very beautiful (the way to the restaurant is like a little jungle!) and the service is really welcoming and kind. The food taste very great, casual for lunch and very sophisticated at night.
Everybody is concerned about doing things well.
An amazing place to recommend to everybody!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CmlBn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zazen_FBM, Guest Relations Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Kamille,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a good comment and for recommending our restaurant. We are happy to hear that after your first experience at Zazen you decided to come back again. It is also a pleasure to see that you appreciated our food and our service that we to enjoy to personalize.

We would be very happy to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Best Regards,

The Zazen Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This review is me catching up from last years travels.

It was a superb meal/experience from start to finish.

We were dropped of by our driver, and walked down the lush path to the restaurant and greeted by friendly staff who showed us to our table. Our meal was an incredible blend of French/Thai cuisines.

Finishing the evening, our deserts were works of art! and recall the nougat was so incredible, we decided to revisit Zazen for the second time during our 2 week stay on the island just to experience that.

The cool frangipani scented hand towels at the end were the perfect finish.

A truly memorable experience that shouldnt be missed!

I went back for the high tea service (not sure if they still offer this?) it was a terrific experience too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AllAb0utTheF00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zazen_FBM, Guest Relations Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your good review.
We are glad to note that after one year you still keep a good memory of your experience here at Zazen. It is a pleasure to hear that the little details like the cool towels as well as the deserts decorations have been enjoyed. Indeed, we still offer the “evening tea” service which is an unexpected, and happy to hear, appreciated experience here in Samui.

We would be very happy to welcome you again at our Zazen restaurant or in our fine dining Salon de Ti.

Best Regards,

The Zazen Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We ended up leaving after our main courses had failed to arrive 1 hour and 55 minutes after arriving - the kitchen and staff obviously can't cope at busy periods. Although we were eventually offered the main courses for free if we had decided to stay, by that point we had lost the will to carry on, and left. It took over half an hour to get a drink and just over an hour for our starters & the kids' food to arrive - none of the other hotels and restaurants in Koh Samui/Thailand seem to have this problem as the staff are plentiful and hardworking - the hotel we stayed in (Tongsai Bay) was very efficient.

The food when it arrived was mixed - tuna/scallop tartare was excellent & beautifully presented - the mixed grill satay was tasty but cold when it arrived, as was one of the 2 kids meals. Maybe the menu is too large and varied for the kitchen to manage, maybe the F&B manager needs to get a grip - difficult to say from the outside. The bill was 5000 BHT excluding main courses/dessert - on the high end for Koh Samui.

On the plus side, the setting is great, the wine list is excellent and there is an amusingly kitschy floorshow on some nights. But in my view it doesn't get into the top 10 on Koh Samui (where I have been coming since 1986) - in that area around Bophut/Maenam the best we tried were definitely Barracuda and Zenzibar.

2  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zazen_FBM, Guest Relations Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review of your experience at Zazen Restaurant.

We are sorry to hear that the dinner did not meet your expectations and that you are disappointed of our restaurant. The evening you visited us is clearly not at the level of service we daily provide to our guests. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience caused due to the unusual lack of organization.

Do not hesitate do signal yourself if you visit our Zazen restaurant again, we would be delighted if we could welcome you one more time to show case our high level of service and quality of food.

Best Regards,

The Zazen Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We ended up here for dinner by mistake really. We just popped in for a drink and thought it looked nice so decided to have dinner. They were already full but said we were most welcome to stay seated at a small table in the bar which suited us. The service was amazing but half way through the first course the mosquitoes arrived. The waiter obviously say my discomfort and bought over the repellent (lifesaver). The meal continued with outstanding service and was the best meal we experienced during our 10 days on the island. In fact we enjoyed it so much we tried to book a table for our last night but again they were full. If you want to experience Zazen you do need to book in advance. It really is that good

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zazen_FBM, Guest Relations Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Tracy M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a good review about our restaurant.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the place and that our staff could help to fend off mosquitoes, which I know, can be very disturbing. Indeed, Zazen restaurant is fully booked mostly every night and we strongly recommend booking a table in advance.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back again here at Zazen.

Best Regards,

The Zazen Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zazen Restaurant also viewed

 
Bophut, Ko Samui
 

Been to Zazen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing