We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zazen Restaurant

Zazen Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 439 Restaurants in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $39
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Seafood, European, Asian, Thai, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Zazen Restaurant Samui is the Thai food lovers dream, the international food lovers reawakening. The atmosphere at Zazen Restaurant is one of romance, sophistication and intimacy. At night, the trendy restaurant glows with the light of over one hundred candles. Soft jazz mingles with the sound of gentle waves and guests enjoy the pleasures of fine dining, elegant service and the entertainment of traditional Thai dance in Samui. The restaurant is located on the beachfront at Bophut, with sweeping views of neighboring islands over the tranquil and gentle waters of the bay.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

The ambiance and atmosphere of this lovely restaurant is second to none. It is both lively and romantic with gorgeous decor and lighting. The staff are friendly and attentive and the menu is amazing! We have eaten in many fabulous restaurants around the world and the food at Zazen is right up there.

Some other reviews on here say it is more expensive than other places in Bophut, well, that may be true of the western/asian fusion menu, (which is still fantastic value for the amazing quality food!) but the Thai food is also inexpensive but is some of the best Thai food I've eaten in a restaurant. The portions are generous, the menu is extensive, you could eat there every night for 2 weeks and have something different every night. We ate there most evenings of our stay, it was delightful.

A real gem in a secluded but easily accessible area at the end of Bophut beach with gorgeous views out over the sea to Koh Phangnan. Don't miss it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank samansell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex-Andries, Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

Greetings from Zazen Restaurant!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our restaurant, it was a great pleasure to welcome you.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your evening with us from the service, to the food and ambiance

We look forward to welcome you again very soon at Zazen Restaurant!

With our best regards,

The Zazen Restaurant team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    779
    241
    92
    41
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

On our last day on Koh Samui we found this beautiful restaurant overlooking crystal clear waters with fantastic Thai cuisine. Pricey compared to our other meals but we splashed out for our last day. Incredible wine list. Loved it!

Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex-Andries, Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Karen,

Greetings from Zazen Restaurant!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our restaurant, it was a great
pleasure to welcome you.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your lunch with us.

We look forward to welcome you again very soon at Zazen Restaurant!

With our best regards,

The Zazen Restaurant team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Best and second most expensive meal we had an Koh Samui and worth every penny. We went on the last night of our honeymoon and it is such a romantic place to go.
Could not fault it - food, service , location, atmosphere, sea view were all excellent. It cost us £80 for 2 including wine but we could have selected cheaper options or gone without the wine but we wanted a special night and were not disappointed.
I would highly recommend this restuarant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex-Andries, Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Bob,

Thank you very much for your review. It is always a great pleasure to learn that our guests like what we do.

We look forward to welcome you again at Zazen Restaurant very soon!

With our best regards,

The Zazen Restaurant Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
102 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Great restaurant , service and atmosphere is perhaps the best we tried on samui , the food was excellent , we went for the Thai which was good and well presented.the restaurant overlooks the ocean very romantic .

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeAsiaroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex-Andries, Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time writing a review about Zazen Restaurant!

We are delighted to learn that you really liked your experience in our restaurant. We transmitted your comments to our Chef.

We really look forward to welcome you again very soon in our award winning restaurant!

With our best regards,

The Zazen Restaurant Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great setting (excellent really), great food, great wine list, great service, great staff. Expensive by Thai standards (even Samui) but well worth it - bill for 3 with 2 bottles of good wine was 8,000 baht or 200 euro, but had starters, main course, desserts, coffee, and a few beers after as well so cheap by European prices

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank David728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex-Andries, Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear David,

Greetings from Zazen Restaurant!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our restaurant, it was a great pleasure to welcome you.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your evening with us from the service, to the food and the wine list.

We look forward to welcome you again very soon at Zazen Restaurant!

With our best regards,

The Zazen Restaurant team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zazen Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Zazen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing