We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In love with Bo Phut” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eden Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eden Bungalows
Ranked #12 of 151 Bophut B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“In love with Bo Phut”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2008

I couldnt disagree more with Kracmunkie's review. I'm sure he must have made a mistake & stayed elsewhere as I absolutely loved Bo Phut & the Eden Bungalows. We had a deluxe bungalow which was clean, spacious & comfortable. The outdoor bathroom was fine - you should probably not holiday in Thailand if you are scared of a few mozzies & bugs. The grounds of Eden were also lovely with a fishpond, gardens and pool area and the staff were great. I loved the breakfasts where you could go for western stuff or thai. I also thought they were in a good location of Bo Phut - in the fishermans village close to the restaurants & bars. It was quite a walk to the other resorts such as zazen so I think if you were staying here you wouldnt get to eat at the other restaurants as much.

I really didnt get the 'only stay here if youre French or a hippy' comment - when we were staying there was a mix of ages, nationalities, couples, families & traveller types. Did he/she only want to stay with all Americans having exactly the same holiday as him/her? If so I would say Kracmunkie you are a narrow minded jerk!

The beach was lovely white sand and although there was a strange texture to the sand once in the water, this was just because it was so fine & the sea so calm I think - it was perfectly clean anyway. We went to Chaweng for the day & a night & although the beach was a little nicer it was also 4 times as packed with sunbathers, more people trying to sell you things and a plane flying over very low every 30 mins. It also stunk of egg and I was so glad then that we were staying in beautiful Bo Phut.

We stayed for 5 nights & were spoiled for choice for restaurants, had lovely thai meals, seafood grills on the beach & also a really nice italian. We also loved having cocktails at the Pier & then heading back to one of the bars nearer to our bungalow.

I would reccomend Eden & Bo Phut, I am telling all my friends they must go, I thought it was paradise!

  • Liked — Lovely tropical garden surrounding the bungalow
  • Disliked — I loved everything
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank loisdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    59
    20
    10
    11
See reviews for
53
99
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2008

In a nutshell: Stay here if you're French or a back-to-the-Earth hippie. Otherwise keep looking.

Also: The beach directly in front of the restaurants across the way from Eden is DISGUSTING. The beach bottom is covered in mud/sludge and no one really swims in it. You have to walk down to the nicer resort area of Bo Phut to get to the swimmable beaches (clarity is poor in all of Bo Phut). I absolutely would not have stayed here if I'd known this.

The details:
Sorry, but any place where you book one of the best "deluxe" air con bungalows and still have to wear bug repellant to bed does not get a thumbs up from me. Considering I stayed here during low season (aka HOT, super muggy season) for $72/night, Eden does not offer great value for the price. Few amenities, no free breakfast, no beach views, and paper-thin walls. I should have stayed at Bayview in Chewang/Lamai like other reviewers suggested (it would've been $10 cheaper/night with brekkie included and probably far fewer mosquitoes!)

The pros:
-Quiet and quaint location in Bo Phut's fisherman town
-Easy access to quiet beaches
-Easy access to bo phut pier to get to other islands
-A good number of delicious restaurants in walking distance
-Mini fridge to put your drinks and snacks
-Air con unit and an extra fan
-In-room safe
-Adequate toilet paper

The iffys:
-Outdoor bathroom... The novelty wore off pretty quickly as I realized I'd be sharing it with the mosquitoes and the heat. No peeing in the middle of the night for me, thanks.
-Hard beds and a thin cover... Hard beds I can understand in Asia but just a thin blanket when you HAVE to keep air con on all night to keep the mozzies away and to not sweat to death? Sigh
-Thin thin thin bungalow walls... Even though our "fancy" bungalow was set back from the main path and away from the pool, I could still hear ppl walking by and the kids at the pool, ick. If I wanted a place that resembled my apartment complex, I wouldn't have travelled halfway around the globe.
-I think this is a recent upgrade: 13" LCD TVs were added but placed in the farthest corner from the bed so you'd need superhuman vision to read anything on the screen. Also the remote has been screwed to a giant wood box so it feels like holding a brick when changing channels.
-Didn't re-stock bar soap frequently enough, we ended up buying some.

The cons:
-This i guess is supposed to add to the rustic charm but theres almost a complete lack of all simple western amenities: clock, shampoo and bodywash, hairdryer, phone, & beach towels. -Sorry, I'm not here to go camping.
-Mosquitoes in the room everytime you open the door to the bathroom... 'Nuff said.

Other observations:
Popular with the French people. Must be all over the French guidebooks since Eden's run by a French couple. Not an issue at all since they're fluent in English as well.

-Nights stayed: 5
-Time of year: Early May
-Number of mosquito bites: too many to count

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank EatingLikeItsMyJob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2008

Spacious, spotless rooms and baths with very comfortable beds. We stayed with our 4 kids in 2 connecting rooms overlooking the pool. In contrast to other locations on the island, Bo Phut has an uncrowded beach and is quiet at night (except New Year's Eve). The breakfast menu is extensive and includes eggs, crepes, fruit shakes. Everyone found something they loved. The grounds are beautiful and everything is very clean. Internet access is 1 bhat per minute.

  • Liked — Comfort, quiet, cleanliness
  • Disliked — noisy New Year's Eve, until 3 am
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hinkochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2007

If you're looking for a cozy, charming, well-run boutique hotel at a reasonable price, look no further than Eden Bungalows, tucked away in Hat Bo Phut, the "quiet" beach on Koh Samui. Run by a nice young French couple, Eden features just a handful of rooms, each with its own theme (mine was the Iris Room). The pool and courtyard are lovely and well-tended. Non-French speakers (moi) may feel out of the loop -- the owner is Monsieur Gregarious toward his countrymen but much cooler toward others. After two weeks of dining on real-deal street food in Bangkok and Chiang Mai, Eden's on-premises "Thai restaurant" in the evenings is a letdown, although the server/cook is perfectly fetching. Also, the breakfast menu could use some Thai options to complement its white-people choices. But these are small peeves: For peace and pleasure, consider Eden Bungalows.

  • Liked — Character, beauty, value
  • Disliked — Restaurant just so-so
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Heffay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2007

The Eden Bungalows was a very cute, quiet and perfect little oasis in Bo Phut (Koh Samui). We absolutely adored this place because of it's location, the tranquility, and the unique rooms. The eden bungalows property felt like we were in a tropical oasis. Our room was felt like an upscale bungalow with air-con, comfortable bed, teak furnishings, and a really cool you-feel-like-you're-outdoors bathroom. No television, so it's more on the romantic getaway style.
Good staff, pool table in bar area, nice pool.

Type Room that we had: Double rooms with air-con
Number Nights we stayed: 2

The Good:
- Unique bungalow style rooms with air-con
- Safe in room
- Our room overlooked the pool
- Location is basically on the beach. Just walk 10 meters to the beach.

The Not-So-Good:
- Air Con was sufficient, but could've been stronger

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank johnandbilldc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.2 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.7 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#49 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#87 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eden Beach Bungalows
Eden Beach Bungalows
#7 of 213 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bandara Resort & Spa
Bandara Resort & Spa
#27 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Bungalows

Property: Eden Bungalows
Address: 91/1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Eden Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Bungalows Hotel Bophut
Eden Bungalows Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing