We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melati Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Honeymoon ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just spent our honeymoon at Melati resort and spa, what an amazing experience. You only get one honeymoon so if you want it to be an awesome one, go to Melati's. If you're not happy, really happy with your stay, there's something seriously wrong with you. We had a pool villa and the virtual tour you can take on the website doesn't do it justice. Mainly I think this is because you dont get the beautiful atmosphere unless your there. Every inch of this resort smells out of this world. Its not over powering, just a subtle hint on the breeze. I cant tell you what it was but maybe a combination of the tropical gardens, flowers and oils.
The attention to detail through out Melati blew us away. From how the lady who made up our room made my pajamas into the shape of a person on the bed. The delicious breakfast.... lunch and dinner! The cocktails by the pool. The private beach in a bay all its own. The pristine pools and the massages at the spa. The travel and tour advice from Angelo (the manager at the restaurant). How lush and beautiful the gardens are.This place truly is a sanctuary. Above all, the people who work at Melati's make the whole experience really special. They make you feel special, every one of them.
Thankyou to all at Melati's for making our stay with you PERFECT.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank connormandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Connormandy
First and foremost the entire team Melati wish you and your husband a very healthy, happy and prosperous journey of life together.
Despite the fact that many couples select our resort for their wedding venue, each and every time we feel so deeply honored that they have done so.
Your kind words and experience mean the world to us, and we so very happy to have been able to provide you with the most special holiday and event of a lifetime.
We never forget the responsibility we carry to do just that.
Thank you for sharing your experience with other trip advisor readers.
It would be a distinct pleasure to welcome you back on your anniversary or anytime you choose to do so.
With best personal regards
The Melati team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    290
    104
    50
    26
See reviews for
308
785
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We want to say a massive thank you to the team at the Melati for helping us plan and achieve the most wonderful wedding day we could imagine. We were able to personalize our experience to make our day magic. Everyone kept commenting that they had never seen such a relaxed bride - this was down to Marnie Rudd (the events organizer) and her team. We both were kept fully up to date with everything that was happening. No question was too big or too much trouble. The hotel saw to all the finer details and we had the day we dreamed of and then some. I guess everyone says their own wedding is the best, but I can't think of anything more we could have wished for on the day.
The food was amazing, the setting beautiful, the photos (which we have back already three days later) are perfect, the small extra touches / gifts from the hotel mad us feel special and extremely well looked after.
We had a group of about 50 people, and everyone commented on what a great event.
Thanks again Melati - We would definitely recommend this as a venue to anyone considering getting married in koh samui.

Room Tip: The Melati is remote - this definitely appealed to us especially as a wedding venue, but its not for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoZoHenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear ZoZoHenley
Thank you so very much for sharing your experience with us on trip advisor. We are so very happy that we have been able to create a fantastic wedding event for you and your guests.
We fully understand our responsibility to ensure that you and your husband have a wonderful once in a lifetime event and your praise is very much appreciated.
All of us at Melati wish you a long, happy and healthy life together and hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

What a lovely hotel. The staff are amazing, so attentive and friendly it’s what makes this hotel, along with the lovely beach, excellent breakfast and great rooms.

We booked a room with a garden pool, it was huge, very good standard, spotlessly clean the whole time and lovely little touches like gifts as turn down night service.

The hotel is set in beautiful grounds with trees, plants, water features etc and the gardens are maintained very well everyday. There are two lovely pools, one main one which is infinity overlooking the sea and an adult one which is lovely and quiet.

The breakfast choice is amazing, so much and the most lovely setting to sit each morning.

The location is a little remote which we wanted but a cheap taxi ride to Fishermans village is great, lots of beachfront restaurant to choose from. We hired a car at the hotel for the day and went to waterfalls and just drive around the lovely island.

I couldn’t fault anything about this hotel and would recommend to anyone who wants luxury and great service

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickleBrighton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear PickleBrighton_UK
We are thrilled to receive your compliments and a huge thank you for sharing this with other trip advisor readers.
It is always highly rewarding when ones efforts are recognized by the people that mean the most to us our valued guests.
All of us hope to be able to welcome you back soon and wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

I have just spent 4 nights at this hotel. It is a beautiful place to stay and i cant fault it at all. It is set in beautiful gardens with a lovely beach and views from the pool. The staff are fantastic and so polite. We had one of the rooms with a plunge pool. they were a great size and extremly clean. the complex is quite large so you could have a fair walk to your room.
The breakfast was really good. We did not eat dinner in the hotel as there was a traditional Thai place next door where the food was really good and cost a sixth of the price!
The hotel is in a great loction on the island, close to the big budda. We hired a car and drove round the island. The independant car car place in reception is not as slick an operation!
Overall a really nice place to stay and would go back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaffyBrightonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear DaffyBrightonUK
On behalf of the entire team Melati thank you so very much for sharing your positive experience with us.
We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that upon your return visit you will give our restaurants a try and you will note that we offer a culinary experience substantially different and upscale then the place next door.
Wishing you the very best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

My wife and I have recently returned from an 11 night stay at Melati. We travelled there having spent 3 nights in Bangkok. We enjoyed Bangkok and Melati was the perfect follow up. Peaceful with beautifully kept gardens and amenities. The days were a pleasure from start to finish. The welcome at breakfast from the wonderful staff having ocasionally sampled an early morningThai Chi session ably run by Bank , the lovely private beach with deliveries of lunchtime happy hour cocktails , the Sanctuary pool in the late afternoon, a dip in the plunge pool at the villa before getting ready to eat.

The meals at the two restaurants on site were all enjoyed. It was easy to get into Chaweng or Fishermans Village for a change of scene and then to return to the wonderful calm and tranquility of Melati.

We were looking for a special experience and the staff and amenities at Melati certainly provided it.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the spaciousness of the Private Garden Pool villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyU62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear BobbyU62

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience with us. Bank is especially happy to have been mentioned by you.
Indeed the entire crew Melati is so please to have been able to create a wonderful holiday for you.
Wishing you the very best and hope to be able to welcome you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We experienced the whole package at Melati: Spa with Thai massages, the two restaurants, the luxurious villa with private pool. Everything was spot-on: attentive service, quality and freshness of food, cleanliness, secluded location (it is so unfair to criticise this as it is clearly advertised on the website). Please extend our heartfelt gratitude to all the staff who was so warm, welcoming and ready to cater to our every needs. This resort has set the bar so high, it will be difficult for us to book our next holiday! We would (and hopefully will) return!!!! A special mention to Angelo and Guido for being so helpful and mindful.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Freddd86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Fredd86
Thank you so very much for sharing your experience on trip advisor.
We are so thrilled to receive your compliments.
Angelo and Guido are very appreciative that you have made a special mention of them and this has been passed to them.
It is always a great sense of satisfaction when we have achieved what we set out do to.
Pleasing our esteemed guests.
Again thank you and we do hope to be able to welcome you back soon and repeat the experience that you had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Melati Resort after a long trip around SE Asia. We have two small children, 5 and 3 years. Our first impressions of the resort were great and there are some wonderful things about it (like the enthusiastic if poorly resourced Kids Club lady named Rain). We stayed in a Family Pool Villa which was also well serviced and very pretty. But in terms of the extras we are used to having in resort style accommodation, well service is generally lacking. Whilst the meals are adequate and tasty, the service is slow and the costs are excessive. Want to explore Samui? Well, getting in and out of the resort is super expensive and illogical. The taxi service is at a flat rate and even though we payed 400B to get there from the airport, we were charged 500B to leave to go to the airport. Scammers much? The problem with our stay was on the last day when we needed to contact family in Australia. It was clear that our telephone in our room was playing up. We tried a few times across the week to get this sorted with staff but never seemed to communicate well enough. On our last day, we pressed the issue and were pretty much accused of not understanding how to use the telephone, that we were contacting an disconnected number etc etc. Staff were hostile and disinterested. After several hours of back and forth, a fairly unsatisfactory response from the manager on duty, we were able to use the phone at reception (the number worked well enough). Initially, my impression was that we were simply misunderstood, but later I realised that they were just not interested in the fact that we had a difficulty. This shouldn't be so hard in a resort so expensive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frizzybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Frizzybee

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and thank you for your compliment about our facilities.
Please first and foremost allow me to apologize for the very regrettable incident surrounding your desired phone call back home. Indeed it was an issue of misscommunication.
At the same time thank you for sharing this problem.
Based on your review I have conferred with our team and we have discussed this at length. Now we have implemted a procedure which will hopefully alleviate future issues similar to this.
I am totally dismayed that we gave you the feeling of not caring, I can assure you this was not the case.
The entire team works hard in attemtping to please our guests, whilst not always successfull we always care and in your case we are very saddened to have left this impression with you.

Taxi service, please allow me to explain. In Samui there is something like an official tariff for taxis. We respect this tariff. We only deal with a reputable company that a) provides us with a certificate of Insurance for their cars and passengers and b) a copy of a valid driving license of their drivers and c) a background check on their drivers.
As we wish to ensure the safety of our guests.
We understand that often Taxis on the street agree to discount and offer their service for lower than the official rate. But as stated above you may not be certain of the quality of the driver, his/her background and do they have insurance or not as only basic liability 3rd party Insurance is necessary in Thailand.
I apologize if this has disturbed you and I am also very regretful that you did not receive this information beforehand from our staff.
I have spoken to my staff to ensure that they inform our guests as to the reasons for our pricing. Yes you may pay a bit more but you are assured of quality service.
Thank you for writing this valuable review and again please accept my apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
3.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
1.1 mi away
Royal Muang Samui Villas
Royal Muang Samui Villas
#2 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.7 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#14 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#6 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
4.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
2.9 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melati Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melati Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 9/99 Moo 5 | Thongson Bay, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#14 Family Hotel in Bophut
#16 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melati Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melati’s 77 Villas & Suites are a minimum of seventy seven square meters of indoor-outdoor living space with more than seventy percent of all accommodation featuring personal swimming pools. The Resort is embraced by an expansive and lush tropical landscape, featuring a magnificent seven level waterfall accented by Melati’s exclusive seven tier service plan making Melati Beach Resort the ideal destination for those seeking indulgent romance and true relaxation. Melati also features not one but two central pool areas. Located beach front is a massive infinity pool known as The See with amazing views of neighboring islands, a swim-up pool bar and adjacent kids club. The See is the perfect place for those young in years or simply young at heart to while away the day in chilled out comfort; a place to be seen and a place to see. And for those seeking peace and quiet the Sanctuary Pool is a sunken oasis of pleasure reserved for adults only.Further accenting the guest experience are two restaurants, pool bar, lounge, full service spa with beauty salon, fitness center, yoga sala, meditation garden, tour & excursion desk and gift shop. Additionally the resort offers daily activities, limited yet complimentary wifi access for those in need, a complimentary Mac Internet Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Melati Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melati Beach Hotel Bophut
Melati Beach Resort And Spa
Melati Beach Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing