We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More of a Family Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #19 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“More of a Family Resort”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here for our final night on Samui. The resort is actually very close to Big Budha/Bophut beach and we enjoyed the location (we seemed among the few guests that had motobikes). The beach is small but awesome; A private cove overlooking nearby islands. Too bad for all the children and the families; many I guess from the lesser resort next door who were clearly using the resort facilities (including the chairs and towels). The grounds are nice and our room was lovely (great shower); however, the vibe was just sort of off at this place -- perhaps due to all the families or the odd reception we got at check-in. Next time we'll pay the extra money at stay at Sala Samui right down the road.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Andrew G ,

Thank you for spending your holiday with Melati. Your time in writing this review is certainly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the location of our property as well as our accommodations.

Unfortunately during the big holidays especially New Years many families travel with their children. We do provide an adult only pool for guests who prefer a more quiet atmosphere.

The issue with outside guests using our facilities was addressed. Our resort doesn't allow guests who aren't staying with us to use our facilities and we have our hotel staff who continuously check for this. However during this time of year we were fully booked causing it to be difficult to keep track of which guests were staying at the hotel. Please trust that our staff have been briefed on this and will pay extra attention to ensure that our guests get maximum use of our facilities.

Again, sincere apologies and I hope we have the honor to welcome you again maybe during a different time of the year.

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    295
    105
    50
    26
See reviews for
316
800
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My family and I booked a Pool Villa, which the Melati management in Bangkok confirmed directly 3 weeks prior to our arrival. Despite this, upon arrival after a long flight, we were informed that the hotel had double booked our room and had already given it away to someone else who arrived earlier. Their "solution" was to put us up in a different room type for 1 night, and then inconvenience us by making us move the next day. Memo to Melati: Living out of a suitcase and repacking your bags early the next morning is not a way that any guest wants to spend the first day of holidays! Needless to say, this is an unacceptable practice, and there is absolutely no excuse in this computer age for "accidentally" double booking rooms. If there were truly an "accidental" overbooking, plainly Melati management would have known about it weeks in advance when it instead confirmed our reservation and room type directly by email.

Aside from all of this, there is simply nothing "5-star," or even "4-star" about this property. The resort facilities and rooms are tired, with peeling paint, dirty water, and, in our case, an air conditioning unit that broke down at 1am with no solution available until the next day. The staff is generally inattentive, unable to respond to problems, and unhelpful. Food and service in the restaurant was abysmal. Daily breakfast was exactly the same for all 5 days of our stay, and was of plainly inferior quality. In contrast to every other hotel I've frequented in Thailand, the dried fruit was packaged and actually served directly out of the plastic jars (labels and all). Pastries were re-heated, and apparently packaged, stored in a heated cabinet like you would find at one of the local 7-11 stores. Fresh fruit was limited to watermelon, pineapple and cantoloupe daily (pathetic for Thailand, where one would expect fresh mangoes, dragon fruit, passionfruit, jackfruit, and other local delicacies), and was generally either unripe or rotten. The restaurant also frequently ran out of everything all at once, leaving nothing to eat for sometimes 20 minutes at a time until a guest finally tracked down one of the inattentive staff. Service elsewhere was similar--unknowledgable reception staff who didn't seem to have any sense of what it means to provide guest service. Last, the location is really pretty terrible, with no village or shops within walking distance, and an expensive taxi ride to get to anything. I would certainly never stay here again, nor recommend this property to anyone, especially given the outrageous prices (even for Thailand). Look elsewhere!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cares2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Cares2013,

Thank you for sharing your impressions on Trip advisor. We are truly sorry if you did not experience the level of service you are right to expect from Melati. Nevertheless, we wish to assure you that there will be a follow up on the subject mentioned and on the other issues you brought to our attention.

We are confident that you would have had the experience of a lifetime if your room was available as booked. On behalf of the Team, please accept our sincere apologies if it wasn't.

We would be extremely pleased to receive by you a second chance in order to make your next stay a memorable one.

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed at many hotels and resorts on koh Samui from budget hotels to 5/6 star hotels over the last 20 years. The web site for Melati promised a stunning 5 star hotel in a good location, and reading Tripadvisor reviews we felt confident on booking the the final week of our 3 week trip at the resort. We checked out of an amazing hotel on the north west side of Samui and into the Melati looking for a change of scenery and a resort with a bit more atmosphere and better located for restaurants and sightseeing with our young children. Upon entering the hotel we could immediately see that we had made a terrible mistake. I will list just a few of the reasons. Shabby, dark and unwelcoming lobby, poor customer service at check in, room key faulty and slow resolution with no apology, bad odour in room, pillows and bed linen smell of stale sweat (and yes we asked for replacements but still the same), pool area not swept or hosed so unpleasant to walk on plus littered with food debris, and bird and animal excrement yes even at the kids area, kids club matting stained and floor dirty, no fresh fruit juice at breakfast just cartons, food choice disappointing mostly western and unhealthy especially the children's menu, room service poor, pool dirty with grout missing between tiles or stained, mismatched and shabby furniture around the whole hotel, I could go on and on but I fear there is little point as reading other negative reviews on here, the hotel manger (who was not to be seen at all) seems to be reluctant to accept negative feedback. I would rather stay in a bungalow on the beach than stay at the Melati even with children, Particularly as we paid the same price for our room as we would for a top class 5 star hotel in London, if not a bit more. I asked if we could check out and get our money back on the second day but the request was refused. Beyond disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Clare L,

While we were very saddened by your review, we thank you nonetheless for taking the time to share. After careful investigation, we were able to see what went wrong and while it by no means justifies any oversight on our part, it will help future travelers get a better picture.

We are very sorry that Melati was not to your liking; however, as mentioned in your review, we were chosen because of our good Trip Advisor rating. Consequently, we must be doing something right. The description of our lobby is perplexing to say the least, as are your comments about our public areas which we find particularly hard to swallow. We do apologize for not being fast enough in clearing debris, but I can assure you we have a hard working team of public attendants who see to the cleanliness of our resort. It is peak season and much like most hotels on the island, the rooms are non refundable during that period, which is clearly stipulated in our contract.
It is regrettable that you didn’t get a chance to try our juice bar with fruits and vegetables which has been a feature on our breakfast buffet for several years now.

Nevertheless, your feedback was shared with our team and will help us ensure such incidents do not happen again. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.

With Kind Regards,

Daniel G. Fuchs
Group General Manager
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We spent 6 nights at the Melati from Dec 26th to Jan 1st.

What's good about the hotel:
- Nice rooms (but depending on where is the villa you can walk a lot to go to the lobby, restaurants, beaches, pool, etc... as it is a big hotel)
- The location is near Chaweng to go out and have fun at night (do not expect any fun at the hotel, the bar had no liveliness when we were there)

What's wrong about the hotel:
- The beach is very tiny, very dirty outside the private part
- When we booked the hotel on Agoda, we had to pay for the New Year's Eve dinner. No choice, it was included. When we asked to the Melati staff if wine & champagne were included in the price we paid, they said no. Then, they told us that we have to pay for their bottles (and are not allowed to bring any bottles from outside). As a result, we paid very expensively bad wines (around 50 USD for a bottle of Australia wine of 2012 is definitely overprices).
Plus, there was no champagne at the glass and we had no choice to buy the bottle (500 USD !!!)
That was extremely disappointing.
- The taxi fare to the airport: When we left for the airport, the staff didn't want to call us a taxi (they said that the hotel was too far from the city and that the taxi wouldn't come, which is completely false: we did this the all week before!). They obliged us to take their own shuttle service and made us pay 800 baht for it !!!! (which is totally crazy when we know that there's only 10 minutes from the airport to the hotel).

So to conclude, the hotel was good but the New Year's Eve and shuttle scam really ruined it. I would better recommend a hotel located at the south of the island.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargauxMHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear MargauxMHK,

Thank you for sharing your impressions on Trip Advisor. We are truly sorry if you did not experience the level of service you are right to expect from Melati Beach Resort & Spa.

Please allow us to clarify some issues raised in your review. While our beach may not be the largest, it is quite far from tiny and has the advantage of being secluded. Gala dinners typically do not include beverages and this is quite standard in most hotels on the island. Our standard Champagne starts at 200 USD and our Operations Manager personally went to every table to sell our champagne by the glass.
We do apologize for the misunderstanding regarding our shuttle service. After investigation, we found out that there were in fact 2 rooms in your party which is why the price was higher.

We would be extremely pleased to receive by you a second chance in order to make your next stay a memorable one.

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

At first we booked a Grand deluxe room for 3 person 3 months prior to check in date from agoda. We paid extra for the extra bed for 3 nights. But then my mom wants to join the trip so we booked another room a few days later. So there were 4 of us in two rooms. The extra bed we paid for the first room is for free. The only special request we had for 2 rooms is that we need TwinBeds rooms. But when we arrived they said that TwinBeds Room are all occupied. They said that it is indicated that special request are subject to availability upon arrival. Yes? But it's not like we booked the room 1 month before check in or it is the two last rooms left when we booked? Couldn't they have set aside 2 TwinBeds room for us? We paid so much to sleep on an extra bed they offered to set up for free? So the only solutions they can do for us is to set the Sofa Bed as our bed which they said is more comfortable than an extra bed. So I and my sister spent 3 nights on the Sofa bed in the room. We are the only Thai family during this New Year nights and they treated us like second class citizen. Not to mention the New Year's Eve party dinner cost so much but the food quality is so low, the lobster is nowhere fresh. Our table were set behind everyone, we couldn't see anything happening on the stage. This is a trip we paid so much for and yet the most diappointing trip. The staffs are helpful with other issue we ask for help but it is to expect in such Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iphat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear iphat,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment and unsatisfactory experience at Melati. As customer service remains our top priority, feedback such as yours enables us to improve our service, facilities and therefore we are very grateful to you for bringing the issue to our attention.

On behalf of the management, please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you and your family, please be advised that your experience in no way reflects our dedication to our valued guests.

As per your booking it was originally booked for 3 guests to stay in 1 room and 1 guest staying in the other room. The details of 2 twin beds per room was addressed to us upon arrival unfortunately due to our resort being fully booked at that time we were very limited to assisting you with your request.

It is definitely not our intention to treat Thai guests as second class citizens and we strive in providing good service to all guests of all nationalities. We are very sorry you felt that way during your stay with us. We wish to assure you that all the other issues during your stay will be addressed promptly.

We would also take this opportunity to thank you for your patronage - we do hope that the above misgivings will not prevent you from considering our hotel the next time you are in Samui.

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

melati in kosamui is a perfect place to relax, it has the best of everything and the scenery, service is of excellence. it was my perfect holiday. Their gym is really good too and you can rent a motorbike which is far cheaper than the hotel taxi. It is the best way to get around the island

the view from the pool is to die for paradise

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fahareen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear fahareen,

Thank you for choosing Melati Beach Resort & Spa among so many resorts on Samui; we are thrilled by your feedback.
The Team will be glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to make this holiday a memorable one.

We do hope to welcome you again very soon and appreciate your patronage.
With Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skewen, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

From our smooth and prompt pick up at Koh Samui airport to being dropped off at the airport at end of our stay, we can honestly sat Melati did not dissapoint.
Upon check in we were greeted by friendly staff who gave us jasmine scented cold towels and an ice drink which was welcomed after our long journey. We were then transported to our villa of 11 nights which totally blew us away...
We stayed in private pool villa. On our enterence to the villa we were greeted with a complimentary bottle of bubbly with two glasses, a basket of fruit and our bed was decorated stunningly with a "happy honeymoon" made out of flowers and leaves. It made no difference at all that we were a same sex couple and found the welcome from all the staff at Melati very hospitable during our stay.
The very spaceous villa was lovely, consisting of a living area with a comfortable sitting area, a T.V, fridge and mini bar,patio doors wich dropped straight in to our pool a huge bathroom with twin sinks, bath, shower room and outdoor shower and our bedroom was huge, again with patio doors, tv, sitting area and a queen sized bed.

We went on a full board basis and after reading some of the previous reviews we were a little concerned. There was really no need ,the food in both resturants did not dissapoint. Breakfast at the sea view every morning was delightful, and the view of the beach is postcard perfect. There is plenty of variety and everything was hot and plentyful. Lunch (we rarely fitted this in after breakfast) again there is a large selection to choose from the menu from freshly cooked pizza and burgers to italian dishes to thai dishes - it really has something for everyone.
Evening meals again were tasty and full of variety and the service at both resturants was very attentive and friendly.

The gardens and grounds are beautiful and are maintained to a high standard. It is at this point I must say that whenever you pass a member of staff be it housekeeping or gardeners the will always stop and aknowledge you with a friendly hello and a smile.

The housekeeping staff were amazing and our villa was cleaned on a daily basis. Every evening we would have our villa "turned down" an oil burner lit and these sweet treats left for us on our return...which are divine!

We loved the peace and quiet that Melati offered and only found ourselves venturing out for one day trip which we booked through Melati. I do reccommend that you see some of the beautiful island and landmarks. We loved seeing the grandmother and grandfather rock, the mumified monk, the big buddah and ofcourse elephant trecking. Most of our time was spent by the lovely sanctuary pool reading and making the most of the happy hour cockatils. We wanted a complete chill out and that is exactly what we got!

The spa is also worth a visit, the staff are very friendly and both treatments we had didnt dissapoint. It was great to even share a laugh and a joke with our masseurs and to leave feeling even more refreshed.

Thank you to all the staff at Melati. You helped to make our honeymoon a truley unforgettable experience and for that we are very grateful!

Room Tip: For the ultimate in luxuary push the boat out, treat yourself and go for a pool villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Adel B,

Congratulations on your wedding, it is such a pleasure to read that we made your honeymoon an unforgettable experience.

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your detailed review of your experiences at Melati, the team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that their efforts made it even more special.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
3.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
1.1 mi away
Royal Muang Samui Villas
Royal Muang Samui Villas
#2 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#14 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
4.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.5 mi away
The Tongsai Bay
The Tongsai Bay
#6 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melati Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melati Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 9/99 Moo 5 | Thongson Bay, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#14 Family Hotel in Bophut
#15 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Melati Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melati’s 77 Villas & Suites are a minimum of seventy seven square meters of indoor-outdoor living space with more than seventy percent of all accommodation featuring personal swimming pools. The Resort is embraced by an expansive and lush tropical landscape, featuring a magnificent seven level waterfall accented by Melati’s exclusive seven tier service plan making Melati Beach Resort the ideal destination for those seeking indulgent romance and true relaxation. Melati also features not one but two central pool areas. Located beach front is a massive infinity pool known as The See with amazing views of neighboring islands, a swim-up pool bar and adjacent kids club. The See is the perfect place for those young in years or simply young at heart to while away the day in chilled out comfort; a place to be seen and a place to see. And for those seeking peace and quiet the Sanctuary Pool is a sunken oasis of pleasure reserved for adults only.Further accenting the guest experience are two restaurants, pool bar, lounge, full service spa with beauty salon, fitness center, yoga sala, meditation garden, tour & excursion desk and gift shop. Additionally the resort offers daily activities, limited yet complimentary wifi access for those in need, a complimentary Mac Internet Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Melati Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melati Beach Resort And Spa
Melati Beach Hotel Bophut
Melati Beach Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing