We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #21 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great place to relax”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Great view from the pool, as good as the web site.
Very courteous and helpful staff in all areas.
Top notch cocktails at the swim up bar.
Excellent room (garden deluxe suite).
Brilliant breakfast variety.
The only let down was at the high end restaurant, which didn't live up to what you'd expect quality-wise in Thailand.
Nice beach, pseudo-private.
If you're looking for night-life, hustle and bustle, you might want to stay closer to Chaweng, else its a 15 minute hotel taxi ride in.
Great value, will go back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bazzoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Bazzoir,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we are delighted to hear your stay at Melati Beach Resort & Spa was memorable. The Team will be happy to know you enjoyed our facilities and friendly service during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Thanks again for your fantastic comments.

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    292
    105
    50
    26
See reviews for
314
793
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood city
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

After reading the good reviews, I booked this hotel for 3 nights for my mom and I. When we first got to the hotel at 10:30pm, we were treated by staff who served us tea. Since we have an extra person, the staff asked me to pay 500. Then she said it's 1000. After a few seconds, she said it's 2000, per night. Since she said if we pay 2000 per night, breakfast is included for all 3. Right after I sign the bill, she said the breakfast is for one person only. This doesn't make sense and I wanted to cancel the breakfast; however, she said the breakfast cannot be refunded. However, she said the breakfast is 500 per person. So next morning, my family had breakfast there, but it turned out to be 750 per person. When I asked why, the staff said I have to buy voucher in order to quality for the 500 price. This wasn't communicated to me the night before.. What a rip off..

We ended up staying at the hotel for the whole day. People say getting massage in Thailand is good, so my mom and I tried that. The price is pretty high comparing to the rest of the massage places on the island. My masseuse was horrible. She was frowning all the time and was very impatient. I requested a bit stronger, and suddenly, I felt like she could break my bones. I almost screamed out and requested to change a masseuse, but none was available..

For dinner, the staff said there is fire show and buffet for dinner, about $50 per person. So we signed up for it. We got a seat on the far end where we couldn't see anything. The food was ok, but then it started raining. We wanted to go back to the hotel room by golf car, which is what they use to transport people within the resort. However, we waited for almost an hour for the ride. After getting back to the room, we saw the largest spider we've ever seen in our life.. What an experience.

Don't get me wrong, the decoration is very nice. That's why it deserves a 2-star. However, after we paid for the third person, we kept getting two sets of everything, so we had to call to request..

Koh Samui is pretty. You can come to Melati only if you want to be ripped off.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Athenatong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Athenatong,

While we were very saddened by your review, we thank you nonetheless for taking the time to share. After careful investigation, we were able to see what went wrong and while it by no means justifies any oversight on our part, it will help future travelers get a better picture.

We would like to point out that your room was booked for 2 people (room only) at a discounted rate and your party arrived with an extra adult. Typically, we would have just encouraged you to take an extra room, but we understand the constraints of a budget traveler and accepted to accommodate your friend in the same room. Granted, our Front Desk team was not very clear on the conditions of an extra bed and breakfast. Please trust this has been looked into and will not happen again.

Please allow me to comment on your massage experience as it has left me a little dubious. Melati Spa Team has been the recipient of several awards each year for the past five years and we pride ourselves on the professionalism of our therapists. That being said, it does happen that certain treatments are not suitable for some clients and this is why we have a very detailed process before each treatment. Our therapist indicated that the bed you chose for your massage was not suited for that particular treatment, but after much persistence on your part, she agreed. We are very sorry that your treatment did not meet expectations; it certainly does not reflect the level of excellence of Melati Spa.

The stretch of beach used for our BBQ dinner is less than 50m, so that all guests seated on the beach during dinner have a great view of the show. It has come to my attention that the reason you missed the show was simply because your party went back to the room and did not have a chance to enjoy the entertainment.

Just as a side note, Melati Beach Resort & Spa is surrounded by tropical gardens and a consequence of that are occasional insects which thrive in a tropical climate. I can assure you that the spiders are harmless.

Nevertheless, your feedback was shared with our team and will help us ensure such incidents do not happen again. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.

With Kind Regards,

Daniel G. Fuchs
Group General Manager
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Fantastically spacious and well presented rooms. Can be a bit of a schlep from room to beach, bar, or restaurants - and uphill in one direction or the other. Fine dining at the top and regular dining at the bottom of the site which is huge. Food very pricey compared to better hotels. No rooms overlooked to preserve intimacy with loads of trees and jungle foliage. Site is remote so no walkable village or other diversion apart from great quirky rustic independent thatched beachside restaurant and bar next door. They need to do something with the culverted stream that spills onto part of the beach as it can be unpleasant on the eye and nose !

Room Tip: Nearest beach and bar as possible to avoid schlep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Randal M,

Thanks for your feedback and for taking the time to post this review. Feedback is always taken positively as it helps us to improve further. We appreciate your praise about accommodation and our gardens, Melati is indeed a large property located on a quiet bay.
That being said, we do have golf carts available on call should our guests feel tired of walking up and down our manicured pathways. In addition, our remote location is clearly advertised everywhere.
Before leaving you with renewed thanks for writing this review, we would like to point out that the stream you refer to is in fact a storm drain. November is monsoon season on Samui and it rains heavily causing the drain to overflow at times.

We look forward welcoming you back soon and thank you again for your review.

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hahndorf, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at the Melati for a week. It was everything we had hoped and more. Not only was the accomodation beautiful but the staff , were so helpful, genuine, and gracious! We stayed in a family pool villa and the attention to detail was outstanding. From the fragrance in our room to the little treats to try every day! Our whole experience at the Melati was faultless. We absolutely loved it! We would thoroughly recommend this resort without hesitation. It truly is a piece of heaven on earth. And on a personal note Piero and Stephanie are super great! From the Muttons.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Belinda M,

Thank you for choosing Melati Beach Resort & Spa among so many resorts on Samui; we are thrilled by your feedback and the Team will be glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our guests are indeed quite fond of our little piece of paradise and enthusiastic team. Please trust that your comments will be shared with everyone, Piero and Stephanie in particular.

We do hope to welcome you again very soon and appreciate your patronage.

With Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

I spent four nights at the Melati.

The resort is very nice, with lush grounds that feel like you are surrounded by nature. The beach is small - only about 150 metres wide - but very quiet and peaceful. The ocean water is warm and swimming is great.

The pool near the ocean is very nice and the views from the pool are great. The second "quiet" pool was always empty when I walked by, so it would be a nice place to sit if you want total silence.

The wifi is good everywhere - the rooms, the restaurant, the pool, and the beach.

The food at the beachside restaurant is good and views are great, and the food at the Thai restaurant is absolutely fantastic.

The people who work at the resort are really what makes the place special. Everyone who works there is friendly and sincere. The staff are proud of Thailand and the resort, and they were always happy to help with anything that you needed.

They celebrated Loy Krathong with a big dinner, traditional thai music and dancing, and several members of the staff dressed in beautiful costumes and they held a beauty contest (which is a thai tradition for this holiday celebration). They made incredible krathongs, which are floats made of flowers and food, and we all released them into the pool. We then lit and released sky lanterns from the beach and watched them fly away. It was a lot of fun, especially because we were celebrating with the staff and this was a very important night for them.

I will return to the Melati!

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Jeff F,

What a fantastic review of your recent stay at Melati Beach Resort & Spa! It is always a pleasure to read positive feedback from our guests, thank you very much for taking the time to share. The Team will be so happy to see their hard work praised in your review, as we do strive to provide the best possible experience to all our guests.

We would be thrilled and quite privileged to welcome you on your next visit to Samui. Thanks again!

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel have the most kind and helpful team. We stayed in a pool villa and i really recommend it, you have a pool just for yourself and thats a very nice place to be at 6pm after a long day at the beautiful beach. The food is excellent on all the restaurants in the resort. This is, without any doubt, the best of the best resort.

Room Tip: Chose a pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joao R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Joao R,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Melati Beach Resort & Spa. It was certainly a pleasure to read that you thoroughly enjoyed our facilities. Your comments on the service and quality of food are most gratifying and will be shared with all the team, as there is nothing more motivating than guests who take the time to send a note of appreciation.
We are glad to read that we will see you again next and again thank you for your kind words. We look forward to serving you soon.

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We spent 6 nights at melati and enjoyed our stay. The resort itself is lovely two nice pools, a good restaurant, a small but clean beach all in a tranquil area. The only let down for us was our room location which was quite far from the main area and the paper thin walls. Despite this we would still return to melati we would just change our room type next time.

Rooms - we stayed in a garden villa with a pool. The villa itself was lovely spacious a nice pool, light and airy. Before booking we were tossing up between a pool villa and garden villa. What we didn't know is that the garden villa had suites above them as well as next to them. This would not be a problem if the walls were not so thin that we could hear all of our neighbours, talking, walking and watching tv. Next time we would boom a pool villa which don't have rooms above them. Location wise we were about 5 mins walk from the main beach but we got used to this through the week and just took a bag to the beach so we didn't have to constantly walk back to the room.

Pool- the two pools are lovely. The main one is big and has lovely views over the ocean while the other offers a quiet environment away from the crowds. In saying that we never found the pools or the resort crowded. We also never had a problem getting a sun lounger by either of the pools.

Restaurant - good food nothing to complain about, not a cheap place to eat but not too pricy. Cheaper alternatives are easily available just a taxi ride away.

Beach- small beach but lovely. It is shared by only 2 other small resorts and we didn't see many other people from these resorts. I do like to walk the beach which couldn't happen on this small beach which can be walked in about five mins but after seeing other crowded beaches I realised our beach was much nicer even though small.

Location - the resort is in a quiet area, there are no shops or restaurants in walking distance. It is about at 10-15min taxi ride to either of these which will cost you about $15 dollars each way in a taxi.

Also just a quick note on the library. During our trip I finished my first book and thought great they have a library but there are literally 4 books written in English so just bring an extra book.

All in all besides slightly annoying thin walls we did have a lovely stay at melati and would return again.

Room Tip: All lovely but Pool villa rooms don't have rooms above them. Ask for room closer to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear K M,

Thank you for taking the time sharing your feedback here on Trip Advisor. It is always encouraging to hear that our guests enjoyed our many of our facilities and have so many positive things to say. It is much appreciated. We wish to assure you that there will be a follow up on the other issues you brought to our attention. We will take your feedback as motivation to work even harder to exceed our guest’s expectations and beyond.
The Team looks forward to welcoming you back to Samui in the hopefully not too distant future.

With Warmesr Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
3.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
1.1 mi away
Royal Muang Samui Villas
Royal Muang Samui Villas
#2 of 10 in Choeng Mon
663 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#15 of 187 in Bophut
896 reviews
4.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.5 mi away
The Tongsai Bay
The Tongsai Bay
#6 of 187 in Bophut
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melati Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melati Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 9/99 Moo 5 | Thongson Bay, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#14 Family Hotel in Bophut
#15 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melati Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melati’s 77 Villas & Suites are a minimum of seventy seven square meters of indoor-outdoor living space with more than seventy percent of all accommodation featuring personal swimming pools. The Resort is embraced by an expansive and lush tropical landscape, featuring a magnificent seven level waterfall accented by Melati’s exclusive seven tier service plan making Melati Beach Resort the ideal destination for those seeking indulgent romance and true relaxation. Melati also features not one but two central pool areas. Located beach front is a massive infinity pool known as The See with amazing views of neighboring islands, a swim-up pool bar and adjacent kids club. The See is the perfect place for those young in years or simply young at heart to while away the day in chilled out comfort; a place to be seen and a place to see. And for those seeking peace and quiet the Sanctuary Pool is a sunken oasis of pleasure reserved for adults only.Further accenting the guest experience are two restaurants, pool bar, lounge, full service spa with beauty salon, fitness center, yoga sala, meditation garden, tour & excursion desk and gift shop. Additionally the resort offers daily activities, limited yet complimentary wifi access for those in need, a complimentary Mac Internet Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melati Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melati Beach Hotel Bophut
Melati Beach Resort And Spa
Melati Beach Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing