We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So stunningly beautiful, excellent 5 star service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 184 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Melati Beach Resort and Spa is a gorgeous place to holiday, we were there for 7 nights, we had our own little private pool and villa which was so so stunningly decorated and comes with an enormous - actually the biggest King size bed we have ever slept in, and it was incredibly comfortable! Breakfast was also an amazing feast, you quite literally can get anything you want or need and the staff are so willing to help you at any time with anything you need. I cannot rave about the staff enough, they are all so so lovely and so incredibly polite and courteous.

The pool bar is fantastic, they have a happy hour twice a day (thats 2 for one), and they run around serving up drinks to everyone, so sweet, we enjoyed their strawberry and banana smoothies with masses of crushed ice, and they make a really great pina colada!

Although this is not an island resort that you could do much snorkelling the water seems constantly heavily cloudy but there are day visits you can do out to a national park, we did not go there so I cannot rate that, as we did not want to spend a day where it takes about 2 hours by speed boat each way to get there when we only had 6 days to really relax.

We did hire motor bikes and that was an absolute blast, at $10. for 24 hours it is worth the fun ride! The spa treatments there in the resort are really great, I also had a few treatment poolside, actually I preferred this as you get the lovely sea breezes at the same time. Although you can get very cheap massages in the local town Chaweng, we tried "Glorias" a few times the women there were lovely too, but the Melati Spa is so much better it is worth paying the extra for location and better treatments.

There are two big swimming pools, the ocean view pool is the best, it is a gorgeous huge pool that appears to connect to the sea, and has a bar in it that you can sit up at and sip away at your cocktails.

The chef at Melati is unbelievably good, we ate at their restaurant by the sea a number of times at night, and every lunch time, and of course the breakfasts, but the food is really superb!

Room Tip: Get the room with a private little pool, it is very hot there and it is romantic an refreshing to go...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear angelsSydney,

Thank you for choosing Melati Beach Resort & Spa, we are thrilled to know that your stay with us was memorable.

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion and I will pass your comments on the whole team.

Next time in Samui, do let us know as we would be happy to welcome you again!

With Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,445)
There are newer reviews for Melati Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

570 - 576 of 1,445 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent 3 weeks in Thailand staying in various levels of accommodations. This was by far the nicest place we stayed. We wanted a 2 night splurge where we could relax in a really pretty environment. My boyfriend also requested that I find a place with a swim up pool bar and and outdoor shower (we stayed at a place like this last year in Costa Rica). Melati fit the bill and then some. Their basic rooms had the outdoor shower on the bottom floor and the pool had a swim up bar (although we found the barstools to be a bit high and not as comfortable for sitting - no worries though. They had a great happy hour (2-1) drinks 3x a day).

They picked us up at the ferry (we were in Koh Phangan before) and took us to the hotel. We were there a little earlier than check in and after filling out the paperwork we went down to the restaurant by the pool to eat lunch. When are room was ready we were pleasantly surprised that they had upgraded us to a villa where we had our own private pool. It was so cool! The room was lovely and the pool was fun.

The food at the hotel was great and the breakfast spread had everything that you could want. The pizza's are quite large and are filling enough for 2 people to split. On our last day we took the kayak's out (free) and discovered that there is a little bungalow hotel to the right of Melati (if you are looking at the ocean, it's to the right) that had a reasonably priced restaurant. So if you want a cheaper dinner, you could try there. We did not eat there though. We thought the prices at Melati were fair for the quality of food you were getting.

I would also recommend having a massage by the pool. It was only 500 Baht. There's a gal on the beach (not part of Melati) that will do it for 400, but it was much nicer by the pool.

The only thing that came up during our stay was that there was a little bit of a mix up with the cost of transport to the airport upon our departure. I was told it would be the same price of what it was from the ferry (300 Baht), but it was 600 Baht. It was quite early in the morning and we tried to have it changed, but they wouldn't (or couldn't?). It wasn't worth arguing about. I would suggest that you verify things like this the night before.

If you want a place that is lovely and away from it all, stay here. If you want a loud party place, go else where. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Journeyer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Journeyer83,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at Melati Beach Resort & Spa.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed on your comments to the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and in the meantime please feel free to follow us on Facebook and Twitter for upcoming special offers.

With Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I was fortunate enough to be invited to a Skal dinner at this resort this weekend gone.
The setting is lovely and very tastefully furnished, affording comfortable little areas of privacy. The dinner buffet was exceptionally good, Thai food and the staff were very attentive, polite and helpful. All in all, it was one of the best evenings out I have had on Koh Samui. I highly recommend this resort for an evening meal. I would be very surprised if the accommodation is not to the the very high standards I saw.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Tony C,

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, Kan Sak Tong. We are so happy that you enjoyed your evening with us and your compliments is the best award for our Team!

We hope to welcome you at Melati Beach Resort & Spa again very soon.

With Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We came here for a family holiday which we already have planned last year. So we booked a grand deluxe so we can enjoy our stay of 5 nights. When we arrive, we were welcomed by 2 ladies a thai lady " Kuy' and phillipine " Maria " and a guy ' forgot the name ' they were all very attentive and warm. My wife and the kids didn't mind the long trip because of them. When they send us to our accommodation, it was fantastic! there were no room for any problem. On our 2nd to 3rd day of stay, I phoned to the reception to ask something about the restaurant's menu and ask them to check our a/c but the receptionist can't understand what I'm saying,so before it end up to nothing I ask for the manager, I think she's the reception manager ' lady ', with great surprise, she can't speak english with me! wow! for a 5 star resort I can't imagine hiring someone for no pr skills is somewhat disturbing. I mean for the resort itself is high standard but the people working there? If we were to come back next time, they should probably have a better staff than what they have now. But the resort is a 5 star standard.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roger l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, Owner at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay with us and we appreciate you sharing your extremely valuable comments with us and others!

It was indeed a great pleasure to have your company and we shall be looking forward to welcome you soon back the The Melati!!

Sincerely,

Denis Martin
GGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This resort is lovely! The staff are amazing and the breakfast buffet is suburb. The location is nicely tucked away from hustle and bustle, but is near enough to visit other resorts, restaurants and the town centre in the hotel bus or cars. Positioned right on the water of a beautiful bay, you feel truly secluded. The Spa is also amazing, with a beautiful atmosphere and great massages. They also offer a nice massage by the pool. Would certainly return and recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms are well positioned, and within easy distance to the main pool on the bay.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smarisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear smarisa,

Thank you for choosing Melati Beach Resort & Spa among so many resorts on Samui; we are thrilled by your feedback.

The Team will be glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our guests are quite fond of our secluded location and peaceful surroundings. Our Award Winning Spa is also one of our best assets with a number of treatments unique to Melati and Koh Samui.

We do hope to welcome you again very soon and appreciate your patronage.

With Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

English, english, english! For a five star resort and the amount of money we spent, we expect, at least a friendly welcome. Customer service is what makes a place. Room service is confusing, they can't even comprehend the most simple requests. Most of the time, it was just all explaining as if we are trying to describe in the most simplest way how to order bolognese spaghetti and how the a/c isn't cooling enough. So frustrating. Rooms are excellent though and the place magnificent. Drawback is the service, a very integral factor for a 5 star resort. Some saving grace, a couple of fine young ladies who work there dd go out of their way to help us. I think they both have the same names, Marie or Maria, one French and one Filipina. They know how to compensate a disgruntled couple just by being friendly and engaging us in a good conversation. Overall it was an okay place, what Melati lacks is the pleasantness and hospitality of catering to it's guests.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DamienRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear DamienRG,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Melati Beach Resort & Spa. I was pleased to read you enjoyed our resort and room facilities but was most concerned about the inconveniences you experienced with communication.

Room Service calls are handled by our Guest Service Center, staffed only by associates with high English proficiency. In addition to an ongoing training program for local staff, our Team is comprised of over a dozen native English speakers, making communication issues minimal to non-existent. Therefore, I cannot help but take your review with a grain of salt.

We reviewed every aspect of your complaints and can only determine that it is a matter of accent. Yes, English is the second most spoken language in the world, the most widely used on the internet, for education and business. Sadly this often leads to catastrophic consequences when travelers make assumptions that non-native English speakers understand everything clearly and effortlessly.

Consider that our associates have sacrificed many years to learn English; perhaps for your next visit in South East Asia, try learning phrases of another language. It’s very humbling.

Thank you again for your feedback, please feel free to contact me directly as we appreciate all opportunities to better our property.


With Warmest Regards,

Nadine Rouget
pr@melatiresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We booked in advance to enjoy a peaceful and quiet stay just like we planned. when we arrived a few staff in the front office can speak good english even the MANAGER ' PUK '. and to mention nobody can probably speak my language ' nihongo ' till MARIA came to attend us. She was very polite and cheerful knowing she is from Philippines, she took care of us and that is when we realized, that someone from the reception cares. The room was very beautiful and the pool overlooking another island is fantastic. We will surely visit here again next year. HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yakisori n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear yakisori n,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Melati Beach Resort & Spa. The Team, especially Puk and Maria, will be thrilled to know that your stay with us was enjoyable.

All your indications will be very useful for future guests and will help us to provide the best possible service. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon and thank you again for your feedback.

With Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
3.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
1.1 mi away
Royal Muang Samui Villas
Royal Muang Samui Villas
#2 of 10 in Choeng Mon
791 reviews
0.9 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Tongsai Bay
The Tongsai Bay
#6 of 184 in Bophut
1,902 reviews
1.8 mi away
Outrigger Koh Samui Beach Resort
7.8 mi away
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melati Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melati Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 9/99 Moo 5 | Thongson Bay, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#14 Family Hotel in Bophut
#16 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $95 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melati Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melati’s 77 Villas & Suites are a minimum of seventy seven square meters of indoor-outdoor living space with more than seventy percent of all accommodation featuring personal swimming pools. The Resort is embraced by an expansive and lush tropical landscape, featuring a magnificent seven level waterfall accented by Melati’s exclusive seven tier service plan making Melati Beach Resort the ideal destination for those seeking indulgent romance and true relaxation. Melati also features not one but two central pool areas. Located beach front is a massive infinity pool known as The See with amazing views of neighboring islands, a swim-up pool bar and adjacent kids club. The See is the perfect place for those young in years or simply young at heart to while away the day in chilled out comfort; a place to be seen and a place to see. And for those seeking peace and quiet the Sanctuary Pool is a sunken oasis of pleasure reserved for adults only.Further accenting the guest experience are two restaurants, pool bar, lounge, full service spa with beauty salon, fitness center, yoga sala, meditation garden, tour & excursion desk and gift shop. Additionally the resort offers daily activities, limited yet complimentary wifi access for those in need, a complimentary Mac Internet Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melati Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melati Beach Hotel Bophut
Melati Beach Resort And Spa
Melati Beach Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing