We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, but lacks some categories.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #21 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The hotel is nice and clean, has good security( including 5 patrolling security gards and CCTV cameras everywhere) the quality of the food and drink is great and the beach is clean. The house keeping staff are magnificent at cleaning up your room and are very trusting around your belongings and expensive belongings (e.g iPad's, jewelry and money)

But I did face a few problems with my stay, first is that the WIFI Internet is very slow in the rooms (at least it's all free) and second, some of the hotel staff have provided me with some disappointing service and weren't meeting my expectations.

Not all of the staff are like this; the rest of the staff have excellent manners and are very nice around children and other guests. If the hotel works on these weaknesses, I will be defiantly coming back in the future.

Room Tip: The room I highly recommend is the pool villa rooms, they are very nice and located closer to the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amara_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Amara_56,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Melati Beach Resort & Spa. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay and would like to apologize for falling short in some areas.

On behalf of the Team, I sincerely apologize for the inconsistencies in the service we provided. Please trust that your comments have been noted and we are constantly re-training all staff on expectations and consistency so as to eradicate such incidents.

We are truly ecstatic to know that you will be back and thank you for your patronage. We wish you all the best for 2013 and hope to welcome you back very soon.

With Warmest Regards,
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

690 - 696 of 1,477 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

Having booked online, the Melati Resort and spa looked like a fantastic break-away paradise in the northern part of Koh Samui. Unfortunately there are few issues that resulted in my poor rating. Firstly this is NOT a resort for couples seeking relaxation. The pool/bar/restaurant is crowded with kids and families. The resort has tried to acknowledge the problem by providing an adults only pool area, but sadly it's situated in the gardens amongst the villas, so no beach or sea view. That was reserved for the kids pool.
Secondly much to our disappointment NON of the units have sea views (Bad research on our behalf). So they all 'garden units' which results in dimly lit dark rooms. The units are however very nice if it were not for this poor ambiance.
Thirdly, there seems to be a plumbing issue!! Or toilet got clogged twice in 4 days. A truly horrifying experience for a somewhat romantic getaway vacation.

On the plus side, the hotel grounds are beautiful the staff all speak fantastic English. So much so that when I spoke to them in Thai I received a vacant response attributed only to the fact that they spend more time speaking English!
The staff are also extremely well trained and very friendly. I can say some of the best service in Thailand.
Disappointing that the rest of the hotel experience did not live up to this accolade.

It's also nicely situated in the north, more exclusive part of the island.

So in summary, if you looking for a 5 star resort for you and your FAMILY with loads of entertainment and activities, this hotel is for you. Just check the plumbing in your room.
HOWEVER
If you looking for a 5 star romantic and relaxing getaway, this is definitely not an option. You will definitely regret the hefty price you'll be paying to deal with other people's screaming kids.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Matthew T,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Melati Beach Resort & Spa. We appreciate any feedback that we receive from our previous guests.

We are sorry to hear that your stay was less than ideal given the situation with the plumbing problems. Our maintenance crew works very hard to make sure that all rooms are in top shape and that everything is working correctly. Unfortunately, from time to time things do break down when a guest stays with us and we do our best to accommodate you in any way that we can.

It would seem we provided a swift response in trying to resolve your problem but we were unable to have it fully resolved. Had we not been a full house during your stay we would have certainly moved you to another room. Unfortunately, we did not have this option given the occupancy at that time.

I am glad that you enjoyed the rest of our amenities, despite your comment about families and children. At the end of the day, it is peak season and we welcome a large variety of guests from all over the world. We are a versatile establishment with very large grounds and for this precise reason, we are able to cater both to families and couples in search of a romantic getaway. While we find your judgement a tad unfair, especially to our guests, we appreciate your feedback.

We would hope that, should you be in the area in the future, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

With Warmest Regards,

Daniel G. Fuchs
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our stay got off on a bad footing at the Melati as we arrived on New Year's Eve and were presented with a request to pay for the compulsory Gala Dinner that evening - a staggering 8000 baht (200 euro) per person which did NOT include any alcoholic drinks during or after the meal. This felt like robbery (Compare this to the famous 5* Peninsula Hotel in Bangkok where a splendid Christmas Day buffet dinner accompanied by a bottle of decent wine and a glass of port each, had come in at only 8000 baht in total for the pair of us!) as it did to two other disgruntled (British and Dutch) couples we ended up chatting to that night. Various aspects of this evening (but not, I should add, the driving rain, which is never a valid reason to be unhappy!) significantly disappointed, and marred our initial perception of the Melati. I should remark that the hotel management respectfully listened to my feedback points after the event and then, offering no comment as to whether they agreed them to be valid or not, made an unprompted and welcome financial gesture, refunding the cost of one of the Gala Dinners. I just hope that my comments to them may alter their approach to this event next year, so that others will never again have to encounter the 'Gala Dinner Rip-Off' during their holiday.

We stayed in the most basic room - 'grande deluxe' - and found it spacious and well-designed, with a low, comfortable king-size bed. The hotel deserves commendation for the effort it puts in to combat mosquitoes which can be a problem throughout Samui. Amongst other things, a spray is provided for your room which really worked - never once did we feel troubled by a mosquito in our room. We left Thailand with far fewer bites than after similar length trips to European sun-spots such as Croatia and Sicily. The in-room decor could do with a 'refresh' though, as it is tired-looking in places and some cushions had significant aged-looking stains. Air-conditioning is effective, but does not extend to the bathroom - only the bedroom (which is probably the same in other places too but here you notice it because of the design and size). The bathroom was large, and contained a basin, toilet and big shower unit. You are also requested to place used toilet paper in the bin by the toilet, rather than flush it away - not a requirement we'd had at either of the 5* hotels we stayed at in Bangkok and Chang Mai. (Maybe this is a Koh Samui-wide issue, but whatever it is, it's all rather unpleasant and doesn't seem indicative of a truly luxurious establishment). The shower area could, if desired, be opened onto the separate, curtain-screened bathtub, well-positioned on the balcony-terrace for a lovely, discreet 'outside' soak. Products provided were pleasant enough, jasmine-scented (I think!) but were provided in dispensers so you couldn't tell what make they were. As well as the bath tub, the terrace also included a small 2 seater sofa, chair and small table - ideal for evening relaxing. There is a turn-down service each evening which includes the dropping-off of a different coconut-based sweet - a nice touch. All in all, the Grande Deluxe really is a lovely room design for a relaxing, romantic stay for a couple.

There is a lot could be said about the resort, but I will only comment on what we experienced having not visited the spa, not had a pool-side massage, not gone to the gym, and not attended an evening beach barbecue. First, it is very attractive, spacious and does not feel at all cramped. Accommodation is made private through clever layout design, attractive trees and shrubbery, together with streams of running water . It is also a really great place for families with young children. The main (infinity) pool has 'sub' pools for kids, swimming, paddling, and an adjacent sand pit. There is also a kids club next door to it. This is all positioned just behind the hotel's private, sandy beach which is also lovely for swimming. Great for those of us without kids is the 'Sanctuary Pool', at a different part of the site - this is a silent area for adults only - bliss! By both pools and on the beach there are plenty of comfortable loungers (no sun-bed battles here!) and beach towels provided. There are various 'happy hours' at the bar throughout the day and evening - including 10pm-11pm! Yes, in other places this would be peak drinking hour, but not at Melati. Maybe it's all the knackered parents with kids, or the honey-mooners retiring to bed early - whatever the reason, the truth is the place is silent and virtually deserted from 9.30pm each night. If however, you can keep your eyelids open for a 2-4-1 Mai Tai cocktail at 10pm, they are well worth it! Breakfast is a buffet in the restaurant overlooking the beach - a truly lovely location. Juices can be prepared fresh upon request, as can eggs cooked to your liking. There is something for everyone in the wide selection on offer, clearly designed to appeal to all the Melati's guests who hail from across the globe. (There did not seem to be a predominant nationality here).

The staff at the Melati is plentiful, extremely friendly, and on the whole, very effective, although sometimes lacking in real 5* execution - on different occasions we had drinks forgotten, red wine served chilled in the 'posher' restaurant when we wanted it at room temperature, main courses arriving before any drinks had arrived... Very sincere apologies followed each of these incidents, and any frustration with the Melati personnel quickly dissipated.

This a place for those who like to get away from it all. You can't really walk anywhere from the hotel, so except for a cheap Thai restaurant immediately next door on the beach, you will be dining in at one of the two not-at-all-bad (but over-priced for Thailand) restaurants at the resort, or taking a hotel shuttle bus or taxi ride to Chaweng beach - 15 or so minutes away. If strolling out from your hotel in search of different, 'authentic' dining places is your thing, then this resort is not really for you.

So in conclusion: I would stay here again if back on Samui, but I advise strongly to query in advance of booking what you will be obliged to pay for, should you consider making this your New Year's Eve destination.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CJMANUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay with us and we appreciate you sharing your extremely valuable comments with us and others!

It was indeed a great pleasure to have your company and we shall be looking forward to welcome you soon back the The Melati!!

Sincerely,

Denis Martin
GGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very beautiful with great rooms and the service is 5 star. The pices reflect this. If you want cheap then go elsewhere. Staff are fantastic and so accommodating . Had Xmas and new year here. It took 2 days for setting up the new yeah celebrations then the tropical weather was very unkind to them. It poured with rain. Sorry to say but they were lots of people who complained as if Melati coud control the weather. Sorry Europeans but God you complain about everything! I had to stop a French lady fron actually screaming at staff in a way I have never seen in all my travels.Word- stay at home lady! Melati you have given me and my family a great vacation thanks to Koe, Brian, Johan, Charm , Fon just to name a few. Hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dacky6927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Dacky6927,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words about Melati Beach Resort & Spa and our wonderful staff. Our goal is for you to be at home while you are staying with us and we are glad that you were able to enjoy our amenities despite the weather.

We believe the only way to succeed in this industry is to make sure we exceed our guests expectations so they will leave happy, return to us again and tell their friends. The dynamics of hospitality requires the need for continual improvements and we welcome the occasional challenges.

Many thanks again for your wonderful review, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

All the best for 2013!

With Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Small and quiet resort perfect for families or couples. Away from the bustle of the local towns. Quiet beach with no vendors. Excellent service. English spoken by most staff. We found the restaurants adequate, serving a range of menu choices from West to East.

Tips: ask for a room near the beach. It is a long walk to the far end of the resort.

There is a lovely little Thai restaurant next door on the beach called Thong Son Bay Restaurant not associated with the resort. It's a great laid back place perfect for lunch of dinner. Prices are reasonable and service is always with a smile.

Having coral shoes might have been nice for swimming off the beach. Free kayaks were a nice touch. Waves at our beach are generally small. Don't expect to do any body surfing.

Bring your own insect repellent in the evenings or after a rain. The insect repellent available in the bathrooms near the pool caused my girls a great deal of burning. We had to wash it off immediately. They were both in tears.

Massage poolside is half the price of a massage in the Spa. You can ask for a 30 minute massage for a child. Fitness center was great.

The mixed drinks at happy hour (buy one get one free) are watered down and the glasses half full. Stick to the beer. The local beers in the mini bar were half the price of the same beer at the pool bar. Go figure.

They have a special menu for half board customers. It excludes some higher priced menu items. Prices on the ala carte menu are Western prices. We used the half board (breakfast and dinner). We found this to be perfect for our family. You can use the half board for lunch or dinner. It can not be used for room service. The kids menu could use more healthy choices and vegetables. I think my kids ate french fries at every meal for a week. Breakfasts are good with a lovely selection of western and eastern foods, fresh juices, and egg chef.

We arrived in the morning and our rooms were not ready. The staff let us change into our bathing suits in the baths and showers next to the spa. They then stored our luggage and we swam until our rooms were ready.

The excursions are not run by the resort. Prices for excursions are pretty much the same how ever you book. We did the snorkeling and kayaking at the Ang Thong National Marine Park. The coral reef was a bit beat up, but for my kids, it was like swimming in a fish tank. The Marine Park itself was stunning.

I took a taxi to the Friday Night Market in the local fishing village. If you are non-Thai, expect tourist prices from the vendors. Haggle for the best price possible and good luck. Taxi to the villages runs about 400 baht (or 10 euros). The market was large and impressive. A great place for photographs.

There is very little night life in this place. They organized a beach barbecue with fire juggling one night, which was fantastic. The pool bar is very quiet after dark despite happy hour from 10 to 11 pm. If you are looking for a hopping night spot, this is not your place. If you have small children, like we do, this works out well. It's very quiet there at night.

In an effort toward full disclosure, the resort upgraded our room from adjoining rooms to a family villa about 3 days into our stay. We have no idea why, but I can tell you a villa was much nicer than the adjoining rooms. The private pool was a luxury. One bathroom for five people was a bit of a stretch, but we made it work.

The mattresses were firm, which my husband loved, but that is a personal preference.

On the whole, I'd recommend this resort to any of my friends. Thanks, Melati, for a relaxing week.

Room Tip: Get a room as close to the beach as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhillyGirlAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear PhillyGirlAbroad,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Melati Beach Resort & Spa and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are happy that you enjoyed our resort and that the food was to your liking. We are sorry to hear that our drink selections did not exceed your expectations and apologize for our shortcomings. Please trust that your comments are duly noted and will help us further improve ourselves.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon and wish you a happy and prosperous 2013.

With Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is my first review and we are staying over Christmas 2012. The Melati is a great hotel in a very quiet part of Koh Samui. Overall I really recommend this place, great hotel, very friendly staff, good pool on an amazing little beach and perfect for families.

The only thing I would say is they could do a lot better on the food. Breakfast is great but the rest if average at best. To be honest the cheap shack next door does far better food for 1/4 of the price.

I would still come back but definitely feel transport to get out of the resort & see & eat in other places is neeeded.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rustyrussler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Dear rustyrussler,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Melati Beach Resort & Spa. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as our facilities, even though we're saddened to know our food did not meet your expectations.

We want every guest to enjoy our cuisine; your feedback is important to us as your valuable suggestions help us to improve continually.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon and wish you a very Happy New Year!

With Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

All in all a nice stay. However there are some drawbacks and "bumps".
The major pool looks great from a distance but when you get closer and dive in you will soon realise that it could do with some refurbishment. Tiles are loose and stick up from the pool floor - and that hurts when you step or kick into them. Also cleaning the pool and pool area every day should be a minimum of what is expected.
The quality of the food is OK but nothing to write home about. You are much better of visiting some other restaurants. However you will then need to go by taxi since there are no one in the immediate neighbourhood.
What does make the stay worth while are all the friendly employees that all goes the extra mile for you. They were all very helpfull.

I would love to go back to Koh Samui but would then choose to stay at a hotel closer to some of the more central areas with more options to choose from.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 68Helge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Dear 68Helge,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We were pleased to see you enjoyed our friendly service and staff, but were very sorry to hear that our facilities did not exceed your expectations during your stay.

However, we appreciate your feedback and will be taking your suggestions into consideration. Once again, thank you for the review, and we hope to prove ourselves to you in the future. The Team joins me in saying Happy New Year and all the best!

With Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
1.1 mi away
Royal Muang Samui Villas
Royal Muang Samui Villas
#2 of 10 in Choeng Mon
821 reviews
3.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.9 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
#17 of 104 in Chaweng
1,328 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Tongsai Bay
The Tongsai Bay
#5 of 185 in Bophut
1,939 reviews
1.8 mi away
Outrigger Koh Samui Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melati Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melati Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 9/99 Moo 5 | Thongson Bay, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#11 Family Hotel in Bophut
#15 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $101 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melati Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melati’s 77 Villas & Suites are a minimum of seventy seven square meters of indoor-outdoor living space with more than seventy percent of all accommodation featuring personal swimming pools. The Resort is embraced by an expansive and lush tropical landscape, featuring a magnificent seven level waterfall accented by Melati’s exclusive seven tier service plan making Melati Beach Resort the ideal destination for those seeking indulgent romance and true relaxation. Melati also features not one but two central pool areas. Located beach front is a massive infinity pool known as The See with amazing views of neighboring islands, a swim-up pool bar and adjacent kids club. The See is the perfect place for those young in years or simply young at heart to while away the day in chilled out comfort; a place to be seen and a place to see. And for those seeking peace and quiet the Sanctuary Pool is a sunken oasis of pleasure reserved for adults only.Further accenting the guest experience are two restaurants, pool bar, lounge, full service spa with beauty salon, fitness center, yoga sala, meditation garden, tour & excursion desk and gift shop. Additionally the resort offers daily activities, limited yet complimentary wifi access for those in need, a complimentary Mac Internet Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melati Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melati Beach Hotel Bophut
Melati Beach Resort And Spa
Melati Beach Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing