We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Amazing Honeymoon”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Hi Michael & Melati Team,

Kristie and I would like to express our appreciation to you and your team on the hospitality and care that you showed to us on our honeymoon. We are blessed that
We had the opportunity to stay with you.

We were amazed by the friendly, caring and politeness of the Melati staff, something we are not used to here in Australian resorts, and not to forget the high personality of Tien he blew me away how he can just entertain a crowd and get everyone together which just created a great atmosphere amongst the guests. He would be an asset to any company.

We loved coming back to the room each night to find what treat would the chef had left us.

Each one of your staff filled their roles respectively and I believe this as well as your beautiful resort Melati is what made our honeymoon one to remember.


We look forward to seeing you all again this year.

With many thanks

Paul & Kristie Harris

Room Tip: Was nice to have the pool villa room for times when you wanted your own privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2012
Dear Paul H,

Wow, you have now 'blown' us away! Thank you to you and Kristie, but I must say, we are blessed to have had the opportunity to welcome you and serve you both.

You make Melati sound like paradise and while it does have really good days, it is fair to say we do drop the ball on occasion. However, I think you picked up on what we try to do and that is connect with our guests as mistakes happen and we believe if we know our guest, understand them, connect with them, we can please them in the end. I see we have done that with you both.

I will pass your regards to Tien and the entire team.

All my best for a lifetime of love and happiness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    306
    110
    51
    27
See reviews for
330
832
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We just spent 6 nights at the Melati for our honeymoon. From the moment we got there we felt like royalty. The staff are so polite and simply can't do enough for you.
The rooms (we got upgraded to a pool villa suite) are awesome too. There were a few small signs of wear and tear but the overall vibe of the room from the private pool right down to the burning jasmine scented oil made it breathtaking. The location is 15mins from chaweng but when compared to Bangkok, chaing Mai or phuket, you're not missing anything. The infinity pool right on the beach is great, complete with swim up bar and breakfast in the view restaurant looking out at the sea is really nice. Turn down service, food, happy staff and many more pleasantries make the Melati a truly great choice for any traveller. Special mention to ting (chogonan) in the pool bar... Made great cocktails and taught me some helpful coversational thai language.
Probably the most obvious flaw of the hotel would be the abundance of Mosquitos. However they have put into place many things to counteract this, from free repelent, sprays and citronella burners. Having said that, if ever we are in koh samui again, it will definatley be the Melati for us.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robinf83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear robinf83,

Thank for your comments and for choosing Melati.

I know that travelers like yourself have a wide range of choices. When guests choose Melati, we endeavor to do all we can to make the most of the honor to serve and create a unique guest experience.

As for the mosquitos, while they do come along with a tropical and wet garden, we do our best to handle them by a variety of plantings as well as daily sprays. I am happy to see that while you didn't welcome them, they didn't effect your holiday in a negative way and that you will return!

Look forward to welcoming you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed at Melati for 10 days a couple of years ago and loved it so much that we decided to get married there in December 2011. The resort is just gorgeous, with clean and modern rooms, lush tropical gardens with ponds and waterfalls, beautiful large infinity pool overlooking private beach, and two separate restaurants (daily breakfast buffet overlooks pool and ocean - lovely start to each day!) The resort is about 10 minute drive out of Chaweng but easily accessible via taxi or, as we did, hire a scooter or small car through the resort (very cheap and easy). Our wedding was amazing.....all the planning and organisation was managed by the wonderful Ms Rio Rose (Melati Wedding Planner Extraordinaire). We couldn't have done it without her! She made the whole process very straight forward and enjoyable, and organised everything including the accommodation, ceremony setting, celebrant, photographer, hair & make-up, flowers, cake, DJ, band, reception, registration process.....and all the extra bits that just made everything perfect. We had over 50 friends and family members and we all agree....most fabulous venue for a wedding! And if you're not getting married, Melati is the perfect place for a nice, quiet, and relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Dear Nicole A,

Thank you for your feedback.

On behalf of Rio and our team, the pleasure was truly ours to organize and host your amazing wedding.

I wish you a lifetime of love and happiness.

And do visit us again to relive the memory someday.

Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

My husband and I celebrated the New Year by spending 7 pure bliss days at this magical resort. We stayed in an upstairs deluxe room which was just perfect! The resort is very well maintained and looked after, the staff go out of their way to say hello and make you feel welcome, breakfast by the beach every morning was a great starter and we felt totally relaxed. I had did a great deal of research into this holiday to make sure it was everything we wanted it to be and it was plus more. I actually didn't want to come home! Special thanks to Mr Tien for going over and beyond his job in helping my husband track down a particular store we needed to get some business materials for. He is a true assets to Melati! We would be back in heart beat!

Room Tip: We stayed in a grand deluxe which was very comfortable for us and this is their standard room, so th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RealEstate_Erin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Dear RealEstate_Erin,

Thanks for your time to comment and of course for spending your valuable time with us on holiday at Melati!

Tien is a gem and I will pass your comments on to him and the entire team.

And you know what, we didn't want you to go home either! So please, do visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We were very happy at Melati Beach Resort. The resort is amazing and so is the green area in all of the resort. We liked our room which was spacious and had a balcony with an outside bath. The shower was huge and felt like a summer rain. Every day the chef send a greeting - some typical Thai desert, which always was lovely and something to look forward to. The scent of jasmine travels through the hotel complex. The staff are very attentive. They stop their work and greet you. The pool area and beach are great. Yes, it's true the sea is a bit stony but that didnt bother us at all. The restaurant by the pool is very good and so is the pool bar. However, we were a bit shocked by the prices, which we thought were too high for Thailand. There was a happy hour though which is worthwhile. The breakfast is amazing. You can choose from an international breakfast buffet but for me the best was the fresh juice bar!!! The menu at the pool restaurant changes in the evening and if you go at that time avoid the pasta dishes. They are awful and overpriced. Instead go for the meat. I had duck - which was great. There is a restaurant next to the resort which offers Thai food at a cheaper price and has a friendly service too. The main restaurant offers Thai food and one evening we went for the Thai buffet. Although we liked the starters we were disappointed by the main dishes. There were not enough options (just seafood and lamb) but when we said something to one of the staff they offered an alternative from the kitchen which was nice. The obligatory New Year's event (8000Baht per person - 200Euro), which they told us we had to sign for when we checked in had been a bit of a surprise for us. In our booking there had not been any point mentioning this and as we had plans celebrating with friends this was very inconvenient for us. Fortunately, Ivan acted very professionally, checked our booking and then gave us the option of joining.
Overall I can say that our stay at Melati Beach was positive and if I ever return to Koh Samui I would book a suite there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LasVegas28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Dear LasVegas28,

Thank you for spending your holidays with us!

I will pass your comments to our team, as well as Ivan and to our Executive Chef.

Further, I am sorry your travel agent/booking media didn't make you aware of the New Years Eve party and the compulsory charge. This is standard at Melati and many resorts in Koh Samui.

Again, thank you for staying with us and I hope to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed at the Melati for 1 week for new years and early Jan and the experience was like no other!. Melati has great customer service, location and beautiful rooms. We stayed in the basic "deluxe room" which was not basic at all it was like a 5star+ room in Sydney, it was huge and had a beautiful view overlooking the gardens, we couldnt have been happier with it.
The sea view restaurant was so nice and very gourmet with a view to die for.
Ivan & Tien and the rest of the team were so friendly and helpful, was sad to leave!
Highly recommended. :)
TIP. Stay new years the show that Tien put on was definatly a memorable one!

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room which was fabulous! Are huge and can fit a 3rd person if need to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessnick2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Dear Jessnick2012,

Thank you for spending your New Year's Eve with us and for the valuable feedback.

I will share your comments with the amazing Ivan and Tien as I agree, they are stars!

Have a wonderful year and if you wish, see you for New Year's Eve 2012!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Stayed recently at this hotel and its was absolutely beautiful. Had their own private beach making it very exclusive.
Stayed for a week at their pool villa and it was amazing . The only bad thing is the rooms are invested with mosquitoes. And because my husband is caucasian he was bitten by so many mosquitoes despite having the mosquito coils provided by the resort. They should have fogged the resort regularly .
As the resort is far away from the town making it very relaxing.
Will definately visit and stay in this resort again. But the price is very pricy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Victoria G,

Thank you for joining us over the holidays and I am glad you found your holiday enjoyable and relaxing.

As for the mozzie issue, it is a shame but in the tropics, when the rains come, the mozzies follow. Also note that we do spray and fog daily, assuming it doesn't rain, in an effort to control this issue.

Again, thank you and hope to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
3.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
1.1 mi away
Royal Muang Samui Villas
Royal Muang Samui Villas
#2 of 10 in Choeng Mon
759 reviews
0.9 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Tongsai Bay
The Tongsai Bay
#5 of 186 in Bophut
1,870 reviews
7.8 mi away
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Outrigger Koh Samui Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melati Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melati Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 9/99 Moo 5 | Thongson Bay, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#14 Family Hotel in Bophut
#16 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melati Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melati’s 77 Villas & Suites are a minimum of seventy seven square meters of indoor-outdoor living space with more than seventy percent of all accommodation featuring personal swimming pools. The Resort is embraced by an expansive and lush tropical landscape, featuring a magnificent seven level waterfall accented by Melati’s exclusive seven tier service plan making Melati Beach Resort the ideal destination for those seeking indulgent romance and true relaxation. Melati also features not one but two central pool areas. Located beach front is a massive infinity pool known as The See with amazing views of neighboring islands, a swim-up pool bar and adjacent kids club. The See is the perfect place for those young in years or simply young at heart to while away the day in chilled out comfort; a place to be seen and a place to see. And for those seeking peace and quiet the Sanctuary Pool is a sunken oasis of pleasure reserved for adults only.Further accenting the guest experience are two restaurants, pool bar, lounge, full service spa with beauty salon, fitness center, yoga sala, meditation garden, tour & excursion desk and gift shop. Additionally the resort offers daily activities, limited yet complimentary wifi access for those in need, a complimentary Mac Internet Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melati Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melati Beach Hotel Bophut
Melati Beach Resort And Spa
Melati Beach Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing