We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect every time”
Review of Cocooning Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cocooning Hotel
Ranked #73 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect every time”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I have been staying on Koh Tao long term, so anytime we end up going to Koh Samui we without a doubt stay in Cocooning! Dave and Therese go way more than the extra mile to ensure everything is up to standard and that you are comfortable and enjoying your time. The rooms themselves are awesome, quiet enough at night if you want to relax but close enough to some great pubs and dinner places, and an easy drive or quick cab to Chaweng if you need a little more. The couple also have a great knowledge of the island and are quick to sort out anything else for you from good places to rent motorbikes to where to find the perfect steak or local Thai dish and everything in between. Can't recommend this place enough, we will be back guaranteed!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    42
    10
    18
    4
See reviews for
14
91
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Koh Tao, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Cocooning is like a home away from home. From the moment you walk in you feel welcome. Dave and Therese did everything to help us with advise on restaurants, bars and things to do on the island. The rooms are clean, spacious and have aircon and fan. The beach is a minute walk away. On the Friday there was "walking street" which was good fun. We decided to eat at the resort because it was tapas night...amazing food for a good price! Would recommend this place to anyone coming to Samui!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachfan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I have been traveling in SE Asia for 2 months and this is the first time we have written a review because Cocooning is the best place we have stayed in this whole trip!!!!! First of all, Fisherman's Village is where you want to be on Ko Samui. Shopping is great, seaside locations, and tons of restaurants to choose from. The hotel itself is intimate, affordable, and extremely friendly. We have never felt more welcomed!!!!! Dave the owner and his wife Therese gave us great suggestions and helped us book an itinerary for all of the islands. Be sure to stay on a Friday for cocooning's renowned tapas and lively walking street. We can not praise this place enough... Truly inviting, fun, comfortable and chilled out!!!!!!!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Izzycohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Tao
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days and everything was beyond excellent. The warm welcome from the wonderful owners Dave and Therese to the close proximity to all the best restaurants and bars in the Bophut area. The rooms are exactly what you need, air con with a separate fan, very comfy beds and plenty of space in the bathroom and the balcony outside. Dave and Therese go beyond what you'd expect from hosts at a B&B, very helpful with any information you need with ongoing travels or even new eaterys to try out in the area, a wealth of local information and a willingness to share it with their guests so the have the best stay on their holiday. They do a wonderful night of amazing seafood tapas every Friday on the weekly walking street market in Bophut..something not to be missed... Very happy to say we'll definitely be back at this little gem of a place....Thanks to Dave and Therese for making our stay a memorable one....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just got back from a short stay at the Cocooning Hotel and would definitely stay there again. The rooms were comfortable and nicely furnished, and owners Dave and Therese went out of their way to make us feel welcome and give us tips on what to do. There's a fantastic local restaurant right next door as others have said, and the hotel itself does really good breakfasts. One of our best days in Thailand was spent relaxing by the jacuzzi and knocking back some Singha beers- look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KagTok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I love this little hotel, we have stayed here a couple of times and the price of the rooms are superub! Dave and T do everything they can to help you.........they go above and beyond in everything they do even with a small baby . The Tapas on a friday evening is totally amazing...its a must!

If your looking for somewhere that is a little different/quieter this is the place to stay amazing places to eat and drink ...and just a 10 min cab ride to the clubs...... this has it all!

We will be back....every year if i had it my way!

Room Tip: The Suite is amazing for the price...pay the little extra !!! great views of the friday markets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jls01uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is really awesome place to go out and have some drinks and hangout,owners are really friendly and you feel welcome straight away,service is so good.Really good place to start evening or just spend time there all evening. I highly recommend!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.0 mi away
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
#54 of 186 in Bophut
304 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#19 of 186 in Bophut
972 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#93 of 186 in Bophut
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Enjoy Beach Hotel
Enjoy Beach Hotel
#5 of 151 in Bophut
164 reviews
1.7 mi away
Punnpreeda Beach Resort
Punnpreeda Beach Resort
#71 of 186 in Bophut
364 reviews
1.6 mi away
Samui Pier Resort
Samui Pier Resort
#66 of 186 in Bophut
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocooning Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocooning Hotel

Property: Cocooning Hotel
Address: 6/11 Moo 1 Fisherman Village | Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Cocooning Hotel & Tapas Bar)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
#54 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocooning Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes walk from the beach and perfectly located at the quiet end of the villages many shops and restaurants, Cocooning is a tranquil paradise and a great place to enjoy Samui from. Great value for money, the hotel is very competitively priced for the area and perfect for couples, families and singles of all ages. You will be guaranteed a warm welcome from Dave and Therese, the hotel's owners, who are by far the hotel's biggest asset. The dynamic duo from England and Sweden have lived in Thailand for over 10 years, offering a wealth of experience and local knowledge. They started their journey on Koh Tao where they met and worked in the diving industry, until they set up their first business together running a very successful beachside bar and restaurant. They were later married and looking for a new adventure with the imminent arrival of their first child, set their sights on Cocooning in 2012. They instantly added something special to the hotel and their little personal touches can be seen throughout. Service is most definitely with a smile and guests are made to feel instantly at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cocooning Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocooning Hotel And Tapas Bar
Cocooning Hotel Tapas Bar
Cocooning Hotel Koh Samui
Cocooning Hotel Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing