We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocooning Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cocooning Hotel
Ranked #67 of 184 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is really awesome place to go out and have some drinks and hangout,owners are really friendly and you feel welcome straight away,service is so good.Really good place to start evening or just spend time there all evening. I highly recommend!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    36
    7
    16
    3
See reviews for
11
75
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Verbania, Italia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great backpackers hotel. Cheap rooms, good and quiet position (next to a great Thai restaurant). The owner and staff makes you feel very welcome, and help you in any way they can - the owner in British.
Recommended hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The owner, Dave was extremely friendly and welcoming. We are so glad we chose to stay at this hotel for 3 nights in Samui. Dave helped us for car rental and also gave us lots of information as to where to visit, both in Samui and Bangkok. Go to the restaurant on the right when you leave the hotel, the bamboo hut restaurant offers cheap and good food, and also real fruit juices!

The rooms were nicely decorated and they are of excellent value.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone with a budget, you won't be disappointed.

Thanks Dave!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilpinkcupcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Firstly the welcome Dave & Therese give make you feel like you've known them for years. They are convivial & amiable. Both go out of their way to help out with trips, logistics, recommendations which makes things easy & amazing. They are eger to get you out enjoying everyhing the island has to offer with useful advice & local tips. Breakfast are fantastic!!
The hotel is cosy, quirky & most importantly clean & well maintained. It has all the facilities one would ever require & more with fast net, set back from the beach its on the quiet, relaxed street.
There is a small pool & spa to cool down if you don't fancy getting sandy on the beach which is a stone's throw away.
I was upgraded to the suite which was an appreciated pleasant suprise.
I loved my stay here & would definitely recommend coming to stay at cocooning. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Tao, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed here for one night after a hospital visit with a broken knee (live on Koh Tao). The hotel itself is as far from a chain hotel as you can get; newly decorated, bright and clean. The rooms are a fantastic place to relax (i've been doing a lot of that lately!), with comfortable beds and tasteful furnishings. The location is perfect; very close to everything in Fisherman village but far enough away to be really quiet at night.

During my stay the owner Dave was very helpful and went out of his way to make sure I was comfortable and entertained. Not just because I'm a cripple, he was like that with all the guests, providing local knowledge and advice, booking taxis, cooking breakfast, advising cheap ways to call abroad... you name it!

Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ritchieboy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevry, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

What a great place. Arriving travel wearied and sweaty, we couldn't have received a warmer welcome. Greeted, not only with smiles and good humour, but with news of an upgrade...fantastic. Such friendly and helpful owners and staff, going out of their way to make you relax and feel at home.

Our room was fantastic; beautifully decorated and really comfortable. I would happily recommend this place to anyone that I know, safe in the knowledge that they would not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a really pleasant welcome when we arrived at the cocooning. We were both struggling with our stomach because of some bad food we ate the previous night . Dave made us some toast And even went to the 7/11 to get us some sort of rehydration powder which you had to mix with water! Incredibly helpful!

This awesome English (ex) dive instructor created rooms that are designed with cosy yet fresh colours, comfy beds, good showers and more important, rooms which are clean! They just refurbished the place and it made a really fresh impression.
These rooms, located in a great place of the island called ‘Fishermans Village’ Bo Phut, is the perfect place if you are looking for a great price/value balance.

We are both graduated from the Hospitality business school, worked in different hotel chains and dealt with several levels of hotelmanagement. We have met numerous of hospitality related entrepeneurs and this was a perfect example of commitment towards your guests.

During our stay Dave was very willing to help us with all sorts of issues. From arranging a snorkelling trip through the National marine park to advising us on where to sleep in Bangkok on our way back home. He even drew us a map by hand, so detailed that we didn’t even needed Google Maps to guide through the hustle and bustle of this massive capital! So where do we need IPhones for… Just ask Dave to draw one for you 

In other words, you do not only pay for the room: All this friendliness and helpfulness, feeling of being home, excellent standard of customer service, the magic toast, his lovely Danish wife and his great looking son of only a couple of months old, his jokes about his own length, their knowledge about the island and advices they can give you…. I think that will give you just a small idea of how it´s like staying at the cocooning.

Sometimes when you reside in a palace, the staff can turn it into a nightmare. However, this visit was without a doubt truly amazing.

We both would go back in a heartbeat. Definitely!

PS. Dave, If you are still thinking of opening a second place in Thailand…. Do not hesitate to contact us!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.2 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#79 of 184 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#39 of 184 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 stars 875 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
#55 of 184 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lawana Resort
Lawana Resort
#70 of 184 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smile House Resort
Smile House Resort
#45 of 184 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 stars 491 reviews
1.6 mi away
Samui Pier Resort
Samui Pier Resort
#64 of 184 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocooning Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocooning Hotel

Property: Cocooning Hotel
Address: 6/11 Moo 1 Fisherman Village | Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320 , Thailand (Formerly Cocooning Hotel & Tapas Bar)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
#56 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocooning Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes walk from the beach and perfectly located at the quiet end of the villages many shops and restaurants, Cocooning is a tranquil paradise and a great place to enjoy Samui from. Great value for money, the hotel is very competitively priced for the area and perfect for couples, families and singles of all ages. You will be guaranteed a warm welcome from Dave and Therese, the hotel's owners, who are by far the hotel's biggest asset. The dynamic duo from England and Sweden have lived in Thailand for over 10 years, offering a wealth of experience and local knowledge. They started their journey on Koh Tao where they met and worked in the diving industry, until they set up their first business together running a very successful beachside bar and restaurant. They were later married and looking for a new adventure with the imminent arrival of their first child, set their sights on Cocooning in 2012. They instantly added something special to the hotel and their little personal touches can be seen throughout. Service is most definitely with a smile and guests are made to feel instantly at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Cocooning Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocooning Hotel And Tapas Bar
Cocooning Hotel Tapas Bar
Cocooning Hotel Koh Samui
Cocooning Hotel Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing