We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friedly staff, good position”
Review of Cocooning Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cocooning Hotel
Ranked #79 of 184 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great backpackers hotel. Cheap rooms, good and quiet position (next to a great Thai restaurant). The owner and staff makes you feel very welcome, and help you in any way they can - the owner in British.
Recommended hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for Cocooning Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 201 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

The owner, Dave was extremely friendly and welcoming. We are so glad we chose to stay at this hotel for 3 nights in Samui. Dave helped us for car rental and also gave us lots of information as to where to visit, both in Samui and Bangkok. Go to the restaurant on the right when you leave the hotel, the bamboo hut restaurant offers cheap and good food, and also real fruit juices!

The rooms were nicely decorated and they are of excellent value.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone with a budget, you won't be disappointed.

Thanks Dave!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilpinkcupcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Firstly the welcome Dave & Therese give make you feel like you've known them for years. They are convivial & amiable. Both go out of their way to help out with trips, logistics, recommendations which makes things easy & amazing. They are eger to get you out enjoying everyhing the island has to offer with useful advice & local tips. Breakfast are fantastic!!
The hotel is cosy, quirky & most importantly clean & well maintained. It has all the facilities one would ever require & more with fast net, set back from the beach its on the quiet, relaxed street.
There is a small pool & spa to cool down if you don't fancy getting sandy on the beach which is a stone's throw away.
I was upgraded to the suite which was an appreciated pleasant suprise.
I loved my stay here & would definitely recommend coming to stay at cocooning. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeeWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed here for one night after a hospital visit with a broken knee (live on Koh Tao). The hotel itself is as far from a chain hotel as you can get; newly decorated, bright and clean. The rooms are a fantastic place to relax (i've been doing a lot of that lately!), with comfortable beds and tasteful furnishings. The location is perfect; very close to everything in Fisherman village but far enough away to be really quiet at night.

During my stay the owner Dave was very helpful and went out of his way to make sure I was comfortable and entertained. Not just because I'm a cripple, he was like that with all the guests, providing local knowledge and advice, booking taxis, cooking breakfast, advising cheap ways to call abroad... you name it!

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdevanney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

What a great place. Arriving travel wearied and sweaty, we couldn't have received a warmer welcome. Greeted, not only with smiles and good humour, but with news of an upgrade...fantastic. Such friendly and helpful owners and staff, going out of their way to make you relax and feel at home.

Our room was fantastic; beautifully decorated and really comfortable. I would happily recommend this place to anyone that I know, safe in the knowledge that they would not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a really pleasant welcome when we arrived at the cocooning. We were both struggling with our stomach because of some bad food we ate the previous night . Dave made us some toast And even went to the 7/11 to get us some sort of rehydration powder which you had to mix with water! Incredibly helpful!

This awesome English (ex) dive instructor created rooms that are designed with cosy yet fresh colours, comfy beds, good showers and more important, rooms which are clean! They just refurbished the place and it made a really fresh impression.
These rooms, located in a great place of the island called ‘Fishermans Village’ Bo Phut, is the perfect place if you are looking for a great price/value balance.

We are both graduated from the Hospitality business school, worked in different hotel chains and dealt with several levels of hotelmanagement. We have met numerous of hospitality related entrepeneurs and this was a perfect example of commitment towards your guests.

During our stay Dave was very willing to help us with all sorts of issues. From arranging a snorkelling trip through the National marine park to advising us on where to sleep in Bangkok on our way back home. He even drew us a map by hand, so detailed that we didn’t even needed Google Maps to guide through the hustle and bustle of this massive capital! So where do we need IPhones for… Just ask Dave to draw one for you 

In other words, you do not only pay for the room: All this friendliness and helpfulness, feeling of being home, excellent standard of customer service, the magic toast, his lovely Danish wife and his great looking son of only a couple of months old, his jokes about his own length, their knowledge about the island and advices they can give you…. I think that will give you just a small idea of how it´s like staying at the cocooning.

Sometimes when you reside in a palace, the staff can turn it into a nightmare. However, this visit was without a doubt truly amazing.

We both would go back in a heartbeat. Definitely!

PS. Dave, If you are still thinking of opening a second place in Thailand…. Do not hesitate to contact us!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were at Cocooning for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. From the moment we arrived, we knew we were in good hands. Dave is just a really nice (and funny) guy who not only wants you to enjoy your stay at the hotel but to enjoy everything the island has to offer. Our room was clean and cozy with air-con, safe, fridge, flat screen tv, and a small balcony. The hotel is located right near the end of Fisherman's Village --- the perfect place to sit, drink beers, and people watch after you've made the rounds on Friday walking street. They serve a nice English breakfast in the morning and there's a great Thai restaurant just next door. Highly highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crackrjax2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
0.0 mi away
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
#54 of 184 in Bophut
312 reviews
3.7 mi away
Harry's Bungalows & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#17 of 184 in Bophut
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#96 of 184 in Bophut
161 reviews
6.8 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#16 of 51 in Lamai Beach
315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samui Heritage Resort
Samui Heritage Resort
#85 of 184 in Bophut
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocooning Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocooning Hotel

Address: 6/11 Moo 1 Fisherman Village | Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Cocooning Hotel & Tapas Bar)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
#54 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $29 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocooning Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes walk from the beach and perfectly located at the quiet end of the villages many shops and restaurants, Cocooning is a tranquil paradise and a great place to enjoy Samui from. Great value for money, the hotel is very competitively priced for the area and perfect for couples, families and singles of all ages. You will be guaranteed a warm welcome from Dave and Therese, the hotel's owners, who are by far the hotel's biggest asset. The dynamic duo from England and Sweden have lived in Thailand for over 10 years, offering a wealth of experience and local knowledge. They started their journey on Koh Tao where they met and worked in the diving industry, until they set up their first business together running a very successful beachside bar and restaurant. They were later married and looking for a new adventure with the imminent arrival of their first child, set their sights on Cocooning in 2012. They instantly added something special to the hotel and their little personal touches can be seen throughout. Service is most definitely with a smile and guests are made to feel instantly at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cocooning Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocooning Hotel And Tapas Bar
Cocooning Hotel Tapas Bar
Cocooning Hotel Koh Samui
Cocooning Hotel Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing