We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertaining, great location”
Review of Cocooning Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cocooning Hotel
Ranked #73 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Dover
2 reviews
“Entertaining, great location”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed in Ko Samui for nearly 2 weeks and had friends staying at Cocooning.. We walked down the busy walking street most nights and had drinks at the bar with Dave the owner as our entertainment, very friendly, funny guy. I have nothing but nice things to say about him and his lovely wife Therese who gave us lots of tips for travelling and seeing some of the other sights of Thailand.. I also had a look around the hotel and into my friends room, which was lovely clean, cosy and nice decor. I would definately stay here on my next visit to Thailand 10/10

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigDorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    42
    10
    18
    4
See reviews for
14
91
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Dave was/is great. We're backpacking at 50+ and walked in off the street to get directions. Very helpful right away so we decided to make roots for a few days. Patio and bamboo with birds chirping and a slight breeze... zzzzz woke in paradise after a refreshing nap. On the end of Fisherman's it's nice and quiet but very close to the action after a leisurely walk.

Thanks Dave.
Hope you're getting more sleep (new baby). :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Nang Yuan, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

From the moment you arrive in Fishermans Village you have this feeling of total hotel escapism, its beautiful, pretty, clean, an adorable place and feeling.

Cocooning Resort is everything you want it to be, its setting is just beautiful with everything matching, its clean, crisp feel puts you at ease straight away.

The owners are from England and Sweden and have created a homely feel to it welcoming everyone with open arms.

The rooms are so pretty and everything is done with such taste and elegance, again the feeling of the rooms are clean, crisp and very comfortable..

Breakfast is a must, Dave the owner and his wonderful Thai assistant cook a mean English breakfast, its healthy, not greasy and just enough to see you through until your next meal.

They also have a lovely plunge pool with shade or sun to suit all holiday sun seekers.

You can walk from the resort to the many hotels, cafes and shop near by, the village is bustling with shops and is also right near the beach, just steps away from the beautiful ocean.

Next door is a great Thai restaurant again everything is within walking distance.

The price is very good for what your getting, its a perfect stay with everything you need and want for a holiday, mini break or few days in Fishermans Village.

Guys you did it, you did it very well

Always love to visit, you won't get rid of me.......well done

Room Tip: All rooms are quite, clean, pretty, comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Spent a couple of nights here recently and had a fantastic stay. It's set on a quiet end of Fisherman's village but just a couple of minutes walk from lots of bars and great restaurants. The hotel is brilliantly located for the Airport - only about a 15 minute drive but NOT under the flight path. Convenient too for travel around the island and onward travel to Koh Pangan and Koh Tao.

Dave and Therese's hospitality was awesome - Dave made sure we were plied with ice cold beers without having to leave the pool and gave us the insider's track on the island. There's a nice restaurant by the pool where we chatted with other guests too and proper breakfasts in the morning.

Rooms are clean and have all the amenities needed - AC, balcony, fridge, wifi and TV with international cable channels. Beds were really comfortable. Got a great night's sleep there.

Thanks Dave & Therese, we'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraW246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Cool plot in Fisherman's Village, clean rooms with everything you need and a great breakfast! Also great spot for some people watching on a Friday night when area transformed into walking street with many art, craft and food stalls my favourite place to stay on Samui for sure! Only passing through for one night and extended for another couple and will be back again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank StevenMahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

After staying at the resort for a couple of nights last year it was great to see the new owners were very hospitable Dave and Therese made our stay very enjoyable . Friday night was very entertaining with the road closed off for walking street . The bar seemed very popular with the locals and some very nice regulars made us feel very welcome .

I would recomend the breakfast aswell the morning after . the small pool is just right to cool off in the afternoon sun .

The rooms are clean and have both ac and fan also with a nice flat screen tv .

We decided to stay there for the whole 2 weeks even tho it was only going to be for a few nights
If you are looking for value for money with cracking hosts the Cocooning the the place to go 10 out of 10

Thanks again guys

Lee

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diverdavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Only had just the 1 night....wished it could have been more....Dave very helpful, full of info and advice. Great location just a minute's walk from Fisherman's village and the beach. Great value for money. Yummy full English breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rick l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.0 mi away
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
#51 of 186 in Bophut
304 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#17 of 186 in Bophut
972 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#96 of 186 in Bophut
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Enjoy Beach Hotel
Enjoy Beach Hotel
#5 of 151 in Bophut
165 reviews
1.7 mi away
Punnpreeda Beach Resort
Punnpreeda Beach Resort
#70 of 186 in Bophut
364 reviews
1.6 mi away
Samui Pier Resort
Samui Pier Resort
#67 of 186 in Bophut
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocooning Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocooning Hotel

Property: Cocooning Hotel
Address: 6/11 Moo 1 Fisherman Village | Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Cocooning Hotel & Tapas Bar)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
#54 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocooning Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes walk from the beach and perfectly located at the quiet end of the villages many shops and restaurants, Cocooning is a tranquil paradise and a great place to enjoy Samui from. Great value for money, the hotel is very competitively priced for the area and perfect for couples, families and singles of all ages. You will be guaranteed a warm welcome from Dave and Therese, the hotel's owners, who are by far the hotel's biggest asset. The dynamic duo from England and Sweden have lived in Thailand for over 10 years, offering a wealth of experience and local knowledge. They started their journey on Koh Tao where they met and worked in the diving industry, until they set up their first business together running a very successful beachside bar and restaurant. They were later married and looking for a new adventure with the imminent arrival of their first child, set their sights on Cocooning in 2012. They instantly added something special to the hotel and their little personal touches can be seen throughout. Service is most definitely with a smile and guests are made to feel instantly at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Cocooning Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocooning Hotel And Tapas Bar
Cocooning Hotel Tapas Bar
Cocooning Hotel Koh Samui
Cocooning Hotel Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing