We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vibe great value”
Review of Cocooning Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cocooning Hotel
Ranked #84 of 184 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night only as part of our honeymoon but as soon as we arrived we wished we had booked for longer. Dave and Therese were the perfect hosts and the rooms offer amazing value. The music and atmosphere in the bar made it difficult for us to want to leave to go and explore the rest of Bhoput for the night and all in all we couldn't have had a better time here. We can't recommend this place highly enough. John and Leigh, Australia

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 211 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

Thanks Dave and Therese for a lovely two night stay at your hotel.
Perfect position for a quite nights sleep yet just two minutes walk to the bars of Fishermans Village
Room was clean and comfortable.
Really nice breakfasts and a cold beer always available.
Dave and Therese are the perfect hosts and if we are ever back in Boput this is the first place we'll head for.
Spot On.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wellslyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The current owners are not running a Tapas Bar, but can make you an excellent English style breakfast! The rooms are very nicely decorated and well outfitted with amenities. There is a small outdoor pool. I stayed at this location with my mother and father for a week. We found it very relaxing and Dave and Therese were extremely helpful. They even arranged a taxi to pick us up and take us back to the airport. The hotel is close to the beach and in a good location for walking in the Fishermen's Village or checking out the Friday night market.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Spent a lovely few days in Bophut, Cocooning. The rooms are great, the service is amazing and the bar is a really nice spot to start out your evening. The hotel is a stones throw from the beach and there are lots of delicious restaurants and bars to choose from in the evenings in the area. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and I can't wait to go back!! Also the owners Dave and Terese are really helpful, friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisychain7399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

After already been to Thailand quite a few times and enjoyed it I decided to return. After looking into possible places to stay on Koh samui and on a recommendation I decided to give Cocooning a go. I had already been to Koh Samui but stayed in the area of Chaweng both times, so thought I'd try out a different area.... Fishermans Village.

After a 13 hour flight and a bus and boat ride later I arrived, and was greeted by the owners Dave and Teresa. Who immediately made me and my girlfriend feel welcome, sat us down, and after a drink the long journey we had just taken instantly was forgotten.

We stayed there for 4 nights, paid 1000 baht per night and was more than worth it. The rooms felt new, and well maintained, air conditioned and cleaned on request.

The location of Cocooning is perfect Aswel, bang in the heart of fishermans village, 3.5 minute walk from the beach and the local restaurants are incredible, aswel as the breakfast and lunch offered at Cocooning.

All in all, perfect experience, all we had hoped for and much much more, thanks so much Dave and Therese you made our Koh Samui!!!!!!

Timmmmmmmmmmmy and Daisy the Cow!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Therichardtodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My wife and myself stay here for two days. It is a small hotel with a friendly feel. The rooms are small and basic but clean and put together well. You cant beat the price is such a nice area of Samui It is in a great location and the owners do anything they can to help you. They give you all the local knowledge not just in Samui but the islands close too.
Next time we go to Samui we will be going back to thank them for there help.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toshtanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

The biggest asset of Cocooning is, without a doubt, the awesome owners. Welcoming, helpful, energetic and filled with great advice. I'd highly recommend staying here - particularly long term travellers looking for somewhere friendly and good travel advice from locals.

Stayed for two nights. Would have extended our stay but they hotel was booked out the next night.

Western beds! Yay! Nice room, clean, and had a safe. Safe was too small for laptops (not important for most people though!).

Wifi was fast and reliable - except not so much in our room (we think our room might have been getting interference from something though as the moment you stepped outside it was perfect).

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gem_TravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
3.7 mi away
Harry's Bungalows & Restaurant
5.9 mi away
Chaulty Towers
Chaulty Towers
#19 of 51 in Lamai Beach
251 reviews
6.8 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#14 of 51 in Lamai Beach
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Marco Polo Resort & Restaurant
6.5 mi away
Bonny Hotel
Bonny Hotel
#20 of 51 in Lamai Beach
136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samui Heritage Resort
Samui Heritage Resort
#86 of 184 in Bophut
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocooning Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocooning Hotel

Address: 6/11 Moo 1 Fisherman Village | Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Cocooning Hotel & Tapas Bar)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
#54 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $34 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocooning Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes walk from the beach and perfectly located at the quiet end of the villages many shops and restaurants, Cocooning is a tranquil paradise and a great place to enjoy Samui from. Great value for money, the hotel is very competitively priced for the area and perfect for couples, families and singles of all ages. You will be guaranteed a warm welcome from Dave and Therese, the hotel's owners, who are by far the hotel's biggest asset. The dynamic duo from England and Sweden have lived in Thailand for over 10 years, offering a wealth of experience and local knowledge. They started their journey on Koh Tao where they met and worked in the diving industry, until they set up their first business together running a very successful beachside bar and restaurant. They were later married and looking for a new adventure with the imminent arrival of their first child, set their sights on Cocooning in 2012. They instantly added something special to the hotel and their little personal touches can be seen throughout. Service is most definitely with a smile and guests are made to feel instantly at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cocooning Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocooning Hotel And Tapas Bar
Cocooning Hotel Tapas Bar
Cocooning Hotel Koh Samui
Cocooning Hotel Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing