We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go here, this is great value for money and the best staff ever!”
Review of Cocooning Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cocooning Hotel
Ranked #75 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Cocooning Hotel surprised us big time! The room rates are very inexpensive, so we did not expect much. We got a lot however. The room has everything you would want. However, the best thing here is the staff!!

Andrew and Rut, who run this hotel and restaurant, are so great! We came here and felt really bad for 3 days (stomach pains from the Thai food). Andrew helped us with tips and a drink and the day after we were better. He actually saved our holiday! We had nice conversations with them, got movie tips and dvd's for loan and the food in the restaurant is very very good. And again inexpensive. The location is very good as well. Fishermans Village is a cute part of Koh Samui, because there are tourists but not that many as in Chaweng Beach for example. It is more 'real', but still you can have a perfectly romantic dinner on the beach (with Western food if you like). On Friday's, there is a very large street market, which you should not miss! Great!

If you are looking for an inexpensive but very comfortable and most of all fun and relaxt stay on Koh Samui, you should definiately go here!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EstherBreda_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 207 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed 21 nights with Andrew and his family who run this little 7 room hotel and had a really nice holiday. No stress, nice food & drink, everything worked fine with bookings of scooters, laundry, boattrips, taxis and so on. The bathroom could perhaps use some new paint but always kept nice and clean. Just remember, it´s a cheap hotel, no luxury but good value for your money.
Thanks everyone and hope to see you again!

PO & Marie

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank POEnglund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

this was a lovely supprise .. warm and comfortable. staff were very helpful and friendly, with an English speaker to help where needed. The music was lovely ... I just fell in love with the pool . food was nice.it was very rustic and was put together with family hands if you know what i mean. no coffee or tea in rooms , no soap or shower things ... but it was still nice.

Room Tip: nice ristic and family run
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kbruno62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I was looking forward to a really nice welcoming and comfortable hotel after travelling around Laos for 2 weeks in relative hardship. But I only stayed at Cocooning one night, although I paid for all four nights. The sheets seemed worn/thin and seen better days, nylon cushions on the bed and bed canopy was a bit of twisted netting over a bamboo. The bathroom needed re-decorating and shower curtain looked moldy. The Staff were very welcoming to me, and the food excellent - but the rooms do not look as good as the photos.

Room Tip: I may have had a bad room, but ask to see yours before you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vincent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Don't be put off by the prices here. 50 baht gets you probably the best Thai curry in Koh Samui.

Great food, great prices.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank English_Expat_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed here last year, and returned for a week this time round. Cocooning is in a great spot of the Fisherman Village, just that bit quieter. Rut is a great cook and when you say make the food "pet pet" meaning hot/spicy it will be! Andrew is always very helpful and friendly, we had some fun times with both Andrew and Rut. Also the extended family working there are lovely, always smiling. Rooms are clean and comfortable. They still have the drink tequilla rose which you should try too:))

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SabaideeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

The room was lovely, and good value for Bophut Beach. The staff were really friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was lovely. There is a pool, but it's very small so is more of a place to dip in to cool off, rather than to spend the day lounging around.

The hotel is just on the edge of Bophut, but it's a very small strip so it's still very central. The food market on Friday's is fantastic, we had some amazing food and definitely worth going out hungry that day!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jn117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
5.9 mi away
Chaulty Towers
Chaulty Towers
#17 of 51 in Lamai Beach
249 reviews
3.7 mi away
Harry's Bungalows & Restaurant
6.5 mi away
Bonny Hotel
Bonny Hotel
#20 of 51 in Lamai Beach
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
#59 of 185 in Bophut
317 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aspira Samui
Aspira Samui
#115 of 185 in Bophut
77 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samui Heritage Resort
Samui Heritage Resort
#84 of 185 in Bophut
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocooning Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocooning Hotel

Address: 6/11 Moo 1 Fisherman Village | Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Cocooning Hotel & Tapas Bar)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
#54 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $34 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocooning Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes walk from the beach and perfectly located at the quiet end of the villages many shops and restaurants, Cocooning is a tranquil paradise and a great place to enjoy Samui from. Great value for money, the hotel is very competitively priced for the area and perfect for couples, families and singles of all ages. You will be guaranteed a warm welcome from Dave and Therese, the hotel's owners, who are by far the hotel's biggest asset. The dynamic duo from England and Sweden have lived in Thailand for over 10 years, offering a wealth of experience and local knowledge. They started their journey on Koh Tao where they met and worked in the diving industry, until they set up their first business together running a very successful beachside bar and restaurant. They were later married and looking for a new adventure with the imminent arrival of their first child, set their sights on Cocooning in 2012. They instantly added something special to the hotel and their little personal touches can be seen throughout. Service is most definitely with a smile and guests are made to feel instantly at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cocooning Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocooning Hotel And Tapas Bar
Cocooning Hotel Tapas Bar
Cocooning Hotel Koh Samui
Cocooning Hotel Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing