We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to be in Thailand!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cocooning Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cocooning Hotel
Ranked #80 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The place to be in Thailand!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

As a concierge of a 5-star hotel back home,I have to say I am so glad to have stayed at this cozy, charming & conveniently located boutique hotel. I booked 3 nights traveling with my bf & and another couple. We had a fabulous time thanks to Cocooning's warm hospitality,unbelievable value,location & its unique amenities.

The hotel is located near Bophut beach at the end of the Fisherman's Village.Conveniently located with just a 10 min drive from the airport.
We arrived on a Friday afternoon and was told by their ever so friendly owner Andrew that every Friday is market day where the road is closed off from all vehicles. It is then transformed into this cultural & interesting market filled with numerous food stalls selling delicious street food. The market runs from mid afternoon till about 22:00pm in the evening. A must visit!

There is so many things to do on the island. Just ask their ever so friendly owner Andrew for amazing island tours to book or just places to have fun.He knows it all & believe me his recommendations are worth taking tips from. For nightlife visit the famous Ark bar that is right at the beach front in Chaweng Beach or go for a delicious brunch at Nikk's beach where you can enjoy an all day buffet and enjoy their pool for free together with Samba dancers,bongo & trumpet players! The ambiance is amazing! Music,beautiful ppl,drinks and a vibe that will leaving you pumpin for the rest of the day.

Thanks Andrew for all your recommendation & for the wonderful hospitality at Cocooning!

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Priceless1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    40
    10
    18
    4
See reviews for
14
88
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gwangju
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

We booked a room at this hotel a month prior for a little over a week's stay. Unfortunately once we arrived we were told that with the hotel ownership changing hands some of the reservations had not been passed on and our booking was not confirmed. We were really disappointed and worried, but the owner and his staff immediately tried to put us at ease and find us a temporary stay at a suitable hotel for that night. The hotel we were brought to was very close to the airport, and not ideal location, so we asked if there was another hotel in a better location. The owner took time out from his busy day to drive us around to check out two hotels and make sure we were happy and felt safe. We never felt like we were causing any hardship for them. They were extremely polite and professional.
We ended up a a nice motel by the beach for the remainder of our stay.
Every night we would return to Fisherman's village and Cocooning for dinner and drinks. We loved it there so much, and felt so much at home that we canceled a week's stay on a different island and instead decided to stay at Cocooning.
Our stay at Cocooning went beyond the small talk pleasantries, the owner and his staff are usually around the restaurant and bar everyday, and they love to talk to people. Many mornings I would walk down and sit with the owner, Andrew, and have a coffee and just chat.
Andrew and his staff make you feel less like a tourist simply passing through, and more like a friend stopping in for some dinner, drinks, and conversations. It is a great, warm vibe at Cocooning and I cannot wait until I have the opportunity to come visit again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misschel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The midlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2010

we arrvised here without any reservation, luckily they had 2 rooms free at 900thb per night, a bargain for a guesthouse in this area, on arrival my rom there was a large double bed, TV, DVD player, Air con and a large furnished balcony.....Decorated to a modern standard, sitauted on the end of fishermans wharf there was an abundance of restuarant, bars within walking distance, the hotel had a small bar and did food and tapas, the only problem we encountered was they tend to keep food stocks low, no milk one day - so they went and got it, by the time they were back my coffee was cold though, no bread one day and no baked beans so to be honest we did tend to eat elsewhere. The staff were amazing and will do anything to help, the 3rd night we had to move to the suit as they were full - there was 3 in our party so a night on the sofa was fine, great suite - 2 storey with large bedrooms upstairs, full ensuite bathroom - with Bath which is highly unusual when on a budget in thailand, large corner sofa, large plasma tv and DVD, which came in ueseful as next day it rained all day so we made the most of the lounge area... The suite cost is 1,500 THB - bargain !!! A definite must if you want to stay in this area of Koh Samui, i will definitly be returning !!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lennythemidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

The hotel is about a three minute walk from the main shopping/eating area of bo phut fishermans village. The area was one of my favorites in ko samui with great gift shops, a few lively bars, beautiful beach and a great selection of both western and eastern restaurants. The hotel itself was very small, but has a homely feel to it, the boutique rooms are beautiful and the staff were all extremly freindly and welcoming throughout our stay. The food was excellent, i would definatley recommend this hotel, couldnt fault our stay and excellent value for money!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

Me and my partner stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks. This hotel is located at the "end" of Fisherman's Village and enjoys a more peaceful location away from the sounds of night life. After checking nearly every single hostel in the entire village this is the best option if you want a nice cheap room with AC. 1000 baht per night, is to me is an extremely low rate. The lowest we found before that was a terrible little room near by for 800 with no AC and little lizards running all over it.

Our room was called "desert" and was really cozy and nicely designed with a lovely little balcony but had the worst bed I've ever slept in. The matress in this room is too hard to sleep on. Apart from that, there are not many complaints. On one night there was a wild party going on in one of the rooms which was a bit annoying when there's nowhere to complain. But we used our ear plugs.
We had laptops and used the WIFI every day which worked perfect without any interruptions. We used it in our rooms, in the restaurant and in the pool area.
The pool area is really small but only adds to the cozyness of this hotel. After eating in the restaurant you can easily move to the comfortable chairs by the pool and have a beer or coffee. As the night lights come on there's a really nice atmosphere and cozyness - although they are not always open late and if they close you don't have access to the restaurant. Sometimes they would shut at 4 already.
On Thursdays they have like a Swedish gathering where they all sit and have tapas which is really nice and can turn into a real party.
The staff here is great, when I accidentally walked on the sharp stones surrounding the gate area the bargirl litterally ran out, lifted me up and carried me back!!
From here you can easily walk through the entire village and choose from many small restaurants if you don't want to eat at the hotel. We usually had 1 or 2 meals per week in the hotel restaurant.
To access the small Bophut beach you can easily walk to one of the hotels on the opposite side and as long as you buy something from the bar you are welcome to use their sun beds.
To get to Chaweng from here you need to go grab a taxi by Seven Eleven or have a motorbike rented. Samui is not for walking.
We will surely stay here again but only after checking if the sleep quality standards have improved.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyThailand, Swedish manager at Cocooning Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2010
Sorry to hear about the bed, I can tell you all ,that new madresses been installed in every room.from 1 st April 2010. Looking forward to have you as guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

We stayed at Cocooning for 4 nights over the Chinese New Year holiday.

Fisherman's Village on Bo Phut beach is an excellent location - rustic, lined with boutique hotels and restuarants. Not a party-town like Chaweng, so if you're looking for a relaxing holiday with places to go for a dinner and quiet drinks this is ideal.

Cocooning is nice enough as a small boutique hotel. We stayed at the Sunrise Suite, which has a lovely living area + bathroom, with a spiral staircase leading up to the bedroom. The living area is somewhat let down by the floor - concrete with a slick of waterproof paint, but in rather bad condition, something you would expect to find on the floor of a warehouse, not a hotel room. The floor was also rather dusty, and this remained so throughout the 4 days we were there.

The shower is rather temperamental, but all in all the bathroom was clean enough.

The bedroom was lovely with new wooden floor, exquisitely designed with plenty of light. The opening to the spiral staircase was a bit of a hazard as there were no railings, simply a hole in the ground that you'd very easily fall into in the middle of the night!

The cleanliness of the room wasn't up to standard - although I have to say my standards are quite high.

The swimming pool is alot smaller than it looks on the website, and we didn't use it at all. Really, it's more of a jacuzzi!

The staff were nice, food was good, and the wireless internet works.

Perhaps it's low season but while we were there the advertised walk-in rate was 2/3 of what we paid - can't be helped I guess.

All in all, although we had a good stay here, I'd say there are other hotels in a similar price range with cleaner rooms and better facilities.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dashador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyThailand, Manager at Cocooning Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2010
Nice to have you as a guest, new wood floor same as on top in the suite was installed on april 8 th 2010.
Now the sunrise suite has top standard.
New curtains as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

Cocooning hotel looks charming....but really, the staff are very unhelpful and are cheap. The pool, quite small, but would be nice for a quick dip, was quite dirty. Why? Because they turn off the filters at night! And the supposed free wifi....never works! Why? Because they turn off the router! During our trip to Samui, I was in and out of the hospital (Bangkok Samui Hospital to be exact, highly recommended if you have any mishaps) and had to be in contact with my insurance company, but alas, I could not because they were too cheap to keep the wireless going. I pleaded one day (after complaining the night before) to please turn it on, or they should erase the "free internet" notice on their hotel's sign. They informed me that the router was in a guest's room, and therefore, they could not turn it on because it would disturb the guests. I am sorry....but who puts a router in a guest's room? I was pissed, to say the least, and demanded to talk to this lady's supervisor (I say "this lady" because you never really knew who was staff and who was not, seeing as there was no uniform, no name tags, no officail reception area...) who then laughed in my face (well, over the phone) when I said that it was not fair that I had to pay to use an internet cafe when I am paying for free internet with my room. What was more aggrevating was that there were amazing places right next door that we could have booked at instead, such as Hacienda or Carpe Diem.
Nonetheless, we were thankful to be staying in Bo Phut and not Cheweng which was like Bangkok with a beach--too noisy and touristed.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CVB18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyThailand, Owner at Cocooning Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2010
Sorry to hear about your problems, I can say like this like the whole Samui we have had internet problems, but now they are solved. Internet works. Acoording to filters nd light they are always on as well as the router.
The router is located outside the sunrise suite and we need to go through that room before we can reset it. Its fine now and problems solved. We have great staff and sorry if they were rude to you. Some staff is new from this year now , talking about 1st april 2010 and we made big changes.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.0 mi away
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
#52 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#92 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#16 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Enjoy Beach Hotel
Enjoy Beach Hotel
#6 of 151 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelegrin Hotel Samui
Pelegrin Hotel Samui
#9 of 151 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samui Heritage Resort
Samui Heritage Resort
#85 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocooning Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocooning Hotel

Property: Cocooning Hotel
Address: 6/11 Moo 1 Fisherman Village | Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320 , Thailand (Formerly Cocooning Hotel & Tapas Bar)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
#54 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocooning Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes walk from the beach and perfectly located at the quiet end of the villages many shops and restaurants, Cocooning is a tranquil paradise and a great place to enjoy Samui from. Great value for money, the hotel is very competitively priced for the area and perfect for couples, families and singles of all ages. You will be guaranteed a warm welcome from Dave and Therese, the hotel's owners, who are by far the hotel's biggest asset. The dynamic duo from England and Sweden have lived in Thailand for over 10 years, offering a wealth of experience and local knowledge. They started their journey on Koh Tao where they met and worked in the diving industry, until they set up their first business together running a very successful beachside bar and restaurant. They were later married and looking for a new adventure with the imminent arrival of their first child, set their sights on Cocooning in 2012. They instantly added something special to the hotel and their little personal touches can be seen throughout. Service is most definitely with a smile and guests are made to feel instantly at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cocooning Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocooning Hotel And Tapas Bar
Cocooning Hotel Tapas Bar
Cocooning Hotel Koh Samui
Cocooning Hotel Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing