We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Ranked #49 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Westcountry
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great location on the beach”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Very good hotel in an excellent quiet location right on the beach in Bophut. The hotel has good facilities and I feel represents very good value compared to some of the boutique hotels in this area of Samui. The fact that you can step out of your room straight onto the beach is great and yet it is a short stroll to all the bars and restaurants of Fishermen’s Village.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmartMoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    75
    29
    15
    4
See reviews for
48
178
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed with 2 friends at the Baan Bophut at the same time as the previous reviewers and would like to endorse all that Bron & Rob said in their review. It is difficult to add anything further. If you are looking for a relaxing experience right on a beach with lovely restaurants, bars and shops a stones throw away then this will more than meet your expectations.

We would certainly love to return at some time in the future.

Mervyn & Maureen

Room Tip: We had a second floor room but all rooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mervyn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We have just returned from Koh Samui and stayed at this hotel for a week. The location is absolutely fantastic. Fishermans Village is just a few steps away from the hotel and you are spoilt for choices of restaurants. Every restaurant we ate in was fantastic. They vary from extremely cheap to the more fine dining experiences at The Happy Elephant. The food there is absolutely beautiful, think our bill came to about 3,000 baht = to about $90Aus. which is expensive dining for Thailand but we had to try it and it was worth it. The cheapest meal we had was from The Friendly Frog, 325 baht = $12Aus. for 2 meals, 2 drinks and an icecream sundae. So you have as cheap or as dear as you would like. The Indian restaurant was great, absolutely beautiful curries and extremely cheap. The little waitress in there Jodie was an absolute delight as was the young waiter. No onto Baan Bophut. The staff are wonderful and extremely helpful. Our room was everything we asked for, Room number 4 right beside the pool. The view each day was something you dream about. I could lie in bed and look out onto the beach. This resort has only about 8 rooms and I loved the fact that it was extremely personal. We spent a lot of time talking to John, the owner who gave us so much information on the area and where to go eat and some extremely pleasant conversations with him and Lucy his daughter. Hope you are feeling better now Lucy and thankyou for taking me to see your dressmaker to get a dress fixed, even though she wasnt there, but they are the personal touches that make you feel welcome. The food at BB is beautiful, anything we asked for we got and extremely well priced, Spent many an hour lying on the deck chairs on the beach and sipping Lime Shakes which were the best I have tasted anywhere in Thailand. Our room was fantastic, very cool with the air con, and very comfortable bed. They are roomy rooms with wonderfully sized bathrooms. This resort looks out over Koh Pangan and John told us of places to go over on the island which we do next time we visit. The Friday walking market at Fishermans Village goes right past the resort and we had a wonderful night looking at all the bargains on the street, running back to the resort and dropping off our purchases, This resort is in a superb spot, the beach, the pool the location to all the restaurants, the staff, I love the personal feeling here and am so looking forward to going back, it can't come quick enough. Thankyou to all the staff at BB, thankyou John for all our lovely talks, thankyou Lucy for making our stay a memorable one in Koh Samui. Pop Gan Mai = See you later.

Room Tip: Room 4 is right beside the pool on the ground floor, loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank broniqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Baan Bophut is a small family run hotel. It's right on the beach at the less busy end of Fisherman's Village. We were looked after incredibly well by the owner John and his daughter Lucy, who manages the hotel, along with their warm and friendly Thai staff who can't do enough for you. Airport transfers can be arranged and help given with booking trips, etc.
The air conditioned bedrooms have ensuite shower rooms, are clean and simple and the beds large and comfortable. The upstairs rooms have balconies overlooking the sea, with those on the ground floor having direct access straight onto the beach. It is quiet during the night so you can sleep well.
The restaurant food is delicious, serving Thai food, paninis, fresh juices and smoothies, amongst other things. A continental breakfast is included in the room price and consists of coffee/tea, fruit juice, cereal, croissant, and seasonal fresh fruit salad (delicious!). There are plenty more breakfasts available for a small charge and no trouble adding other extras if you want them.

There is a beautiful view from the restaurant of the infinity pool with the beach behind it, dotted with palm trees, and the full moon party island of Koh Phangan on the horizon.
The sand on the beach is not very soft, and there are small rocks in the sea to watch out for. The sea is not particularly clear but is warm, safe and shallow, and the beach is quiet and peaceful with no hawkers to bother you. Sun beds are provided.
The hotel is on the doorstep of some excellent restaurants and shops in Fisherman's Village, with no shortage of good restaurants to eat in.
We booked in for 4 nights and liked it so much we ended up staying on for another 4 nights.We wanted a peaceful holiday and the policy of no noisy young children suited us fine! All in all, highly recommended, good value and a lovely place to be on holiday. We plan to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElaineLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

The hotel is at the quieter (river) end of Bophut, but less than 5 minutes walk from the main concentration of restaurants. A nice stretch of beach is on your doorstep.
The rooms are clean, spacious, well decorated, and have the most comfortable beds I've come across in Thailand, which, combined with the quiter location, gives you a great night's sleep.

You'll see a bit more development at this end of Bophut than, say, 5 years ago, but it's still very pleasant, and Bophut is still the best resort on the island.

The hotel has relatively few rooms and focuses on offering the 'boutique' quality experience. Service is friendly and helpful.
Some may find the lack of on-site extensive dining facilities a shortfall, but when you have such a great selection of restaurants and bars so near, I think this hotel can focus on continuing to be the gem that it is, without pretending to be something else.
This was the second time I had stayed at Baan Bophut, and on future occasions I'll make an effort to book early to ensure I can stay at Baan Bophut.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms give you a balcony, with great views across the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndiTravelerDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Bophut is the most picturesque part of the island, and has some of the best dining. Some years back, I was looking for boutique-but-affordable beachside accommodation there, when I came across Baan Bophut. It wasn't quite open yet, but the Holt family welcomed me anyway, and I ended up staying for several weeks. Since then have been back many times, and recommended it to various friends and acquaintances, all of whom have had marvellous stays. Great views, simple, elegant architecture, nice pool, lovely people. Oh, and the same sensationally comfortable beds as the Westin.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaisaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Stayed here on a recent trip to the Island. The hospitality of John and Lucy was second to None and i felt at home from the time i was shown to my room.
The beds here are very comfortable and although your walking distance to great restaurants,entertainment and nightlife your never kept awake by loud music or fellow guests.
Lucy also helped me get a great rate for my dives whilst i was on the island and i was picked up and dropped off at the front door.
Good times and will definately head back there in the future. Paul

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.0 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#18 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cocooning Hotel
Cocooning Hotel
#77 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#95 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Smile House Resort
Smile House Resort
#41 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lawana Resort
Lawana Resort
#72 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Enjoy Beach Hotel
Enjoy Beach Hotel
#6 of 151 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Bophut Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Bophut Beach Hotel

Property: Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Address: 6/9 Moo 1 | FIsherman's Village, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Bophut Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique boutique hotel located directly on the beach in Bophut's Fisherman's Village. Private garden and beach area. 24-Hour swimming pool. Ocean view restaurant with Thai and Western specialties, and beachside bar. Newly renovated and modernized rooms and facilities (renovation completed 1st Sept 2014). Completely new penthouse rooms and suites. All guest rooms feature king beds, flat screen TVs, private seaview balconies. Penthouse rooms & suite feature separate seating areas, 4-post beds and large 48" TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Baan Bophut Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing