We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational Accomodation; Perfect Holiday”
Review of Kanda Residences

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kanda Residences
Ranked #62 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2010

We are seasoned travellers and have stayed in Koh Samui several times. This holiday we decided to take our (nearly adult) children with us. We had a 3 bedroom Villa with a pool; each room had it's own fantastic bathroom and all rooms were very large, beautifully finished and extremely comfortable.

The main area had a very comfirtable lounge area witn a plasma TV and full sound system, dining area and full kitchen. This had an opening to a great pool and lounge area with a magnificent view over the roof tops and the sea.

We really enjoyed our stay there; the accomodation was top shelf, the service and staff were fantastic and overall these things made for a absolutely wondefull holiday. Our kids (23 and 25 years old) had a great time and were blown away by how great this place was. It's not the cheapest but in our case was cheaper than 3 rooms in a good resort, without your own pool.

The resort manager is a yank , he cruises the place regularly and has a chat. I think his influence makes a difference you can see in the staff and service. Rooms are exceptional .. as good as we have ever had, facilities are also extremely good and overall the place is as good a location you will find in Koh Samui.

The only slight criticism I would make is that it is a couple kilometrs from Chewang and you need to get taxis all the time ... they should run a free shuttle service, but they don't.

Thanks Karma ... you made our holiday very memorable.

Wayne and Teresa Brook

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OyOyOy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 276 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2010

A nice hotel overall. I believe that this is a collection of individual villas that are for sale and are then managed by a company and run as a hotel. As such, the interior layout of the villas include a full kitchen, complete with all utensils, oven, micro wave, stove, etc. Very unlike a typical villa in a normal hotel and more like a house. The interior layout design is very good and makes use of space very well. We had a 3 bedroom villa. Although the pool area and living room have a rather limited view of the sea (blocked by the roofs of the seaward villas), the main bedroom upstairs commands an impressive view of the sea. The pool in the villa was small but functional and just right for a small family.

In villa dining (room service) was prompt. Food was delivered in about 20 minutes. Food in the restaurant (Padma) was good. Although a tad over priced and rather limited in variety. The food menu was exactly the same in the restaurant and for room service.

The location of the hotel is quite good. Some sort of hired transportation like a bike or car is mandatory if you want to get around easily. Just a short drive to Chaweng area and to the north were many restaurants and beaches can be found. There are many large supermarkets (Tesco, Makro, Big C) nearby which is rather surprising for a tiny island of Koh Samui. However for those who would like to use the fully equipped kitchen, the supermarkets are a real blessing!

The beach in Karma Samui is rather non-event. Very coarse sand / pebbles and rocky. Can't really swim in it. For guests that must have a beach, they might want to look elsewhere.

The spa is housed in a converted villa and is basic. However, for an in house spa, it is adequate.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthEastAsiaMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

We were met at the airport by the hotel car whose driver handed us cold towels and water which were so welcome given the heat. The 36 villas are very well equipped and comfortable and are set in a complex with plants, trees and flowers. As it is set on a hillside you have the use of a buggy to get from the restaurant if you wish although it's not that steep.
As there were only two of us we used the master bedroom although there were two others, these were set in a separate building to the living room and kitchen. The bathroom was very well equipped with two wash basins, a large bath tub, separate shower with drencher, and separate toilet. Off the bedroom was a very large closet with hanging rail and ample shelving. The living area also had fully fitted kitchen with Smeg appliances and laundry room. Outside was a pool, sunbeds with towels and sala.
Our villa overlooked roofs of lower villas but did not obstruct the view of the sea. It was extremely private and although the hotel was full we did not hear anyone. The staff even telephoned before entering the villa for cleaning etc. which was greatly appreciated as we spend most of our time relaxing.
We only ate breakfast at the hotel and it was exceptional, varied, and ample, the staff could not have been more helpful. There seemed to be many families with small children, there is a kids club, if we hadn't seen them at breakfast we wouldn't have known as the way the complex is laid out it is very quiet and restful.
We used the spa which was a wonderful experience, the staff being very professional and, being Thai, relaxed and courteous. Prices very reasonable.
Our only complaint was nothing to do with the hotel but it's location. It is a little way out of the town, a great advantage, but the taxis were not cheap. It cost more for the taxi than the meal we had. If we weren't "wrinklies" we would have hired a moped which were very cheap and the villa had a garage.
We wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChasMave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

What a stay.Hi to Jeff,Raymond and all the staff.If you want to pamper yourself this is the place to go.I have holidayed extensively through SE asia and this will be hard to beat.
Phuket v Samui, Samui wins hands down.The people are divine.Food and drink are first class but cheap as chips.We had 2 weeks at Karma so we could wind down and take full advantage of all the facilities at the resort.There was nothing better than having a beer or glass of red on the lower deck overlooking the ocean.A big hello to Ike who looked after our drinks.He would have to make the best Bloody Mary I have ever had.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

We stayed 2 nights in the great resort. The villa’s are very spacious and private.

We arrived in the morning. The check in was very efficient. We were told that the villa was not ready yet, but 2 minutes later the receptionist said that we could go to the villa. We received a voucher for a welcome cocktail, we could choose whatever we wanted, this was great service! The receptionist drove us with buggy to the villa, but first we got a tour over the property. The property looks big and the villa’s are build on a hill with views to the beach.

We arrived in Villa number 12. When we arrived I thought I did not like it as we passed two doors before we came to our bedroom. The receptionist showed us the bedroom and the living room. They are separate from each other. The views are stunning and the living room has nice furniture and a kitchen. When the receptionist left I noticed that the two other rooms were the second and third bed room. We were upgraded to a three bedroom villa. We were very surprised by the size of the villa. We loved it!!

As said the villa we had was very private. A swimming pool (infinity), a sala, a living room and three bedrooms each with own bathroom. The master bedroom is large and has a nice bathroom too. There is wooden edge on the bed, we did not like that.

We spend most of the time in our villa. Wireless Internet works good, only not for the macbook. The pool is a bit cold, but it was not too cold. We stayed in raining season, so we could not make use of our Sala and sun beds, but we swam quite often.

We did miss a toilet in the living room. If you want to go to the toilet you have to go to your bathroom. The villa is very clean. The cleaning ladies are doing a great job and they spend a lot of time to clean the villa. We noticed that they worked for approx. one hour in our villa to clean it.

The villa is very luxurious without luxurious furniture, etc. Everything you need is there, everything is in working order.

The reception has to improve a little. When we asked for a rental car the receptionist advised us a certain rental agent. The receptionist mentioned the wrong price to us (the price she mentioned was higher than the price written in the book she gave us) and she had to inform us about the insurance especially as the man from the rental agency did not speak any English. We made an arrangement including a massage and including breakfast. Upon arrival the receptionist said that we did not have breakfast included and no massage. I showed her my reservation document and still she had to investigate if this was included or not. Finally she agreed to our made reservation with amenities.

The service in the restaurant is very stiff. The waiters are watching you the entire time, we ate 3 times in the restaurant, so they knew us, but still no jokes made, if they wanted to bring food or clear the plates they always apologized. In our opinion they have to be more loose.

Massages are very good and totally not pricey. We also had some massages in town. The massage in the hotel is a bit more expensive, but the atmosphere is so much better that it’s worth the price.

We had the feeling we were the only couple in the hotel, this was not the case but we never saw any other couple going to their villa. We saw other ‘guests’ during dinner. When we checked out we saw that more reservations were made to make use of the drop off service by the hotel. So we were not the only guests.

The hotel is not far from town, you can go for THB 300 with taxi to Chaweng beach. If you want to go out you can, if you want to have rest and see nobody this is possible too. They even have in villa dining.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchguy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

what a beautiful kide away what a beautiful island what beautiful people
when you need a break and need time to smell the roses this is the place
a little out of the mad race of chewang but this is a blessing if your wanting a quiet holiday and go in to the action when you want

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Stayed for first two weeks in April (rained almost on a daily basis and barely saw the sun!) Villas were nicely furnished and decorated tho the food didnt satisfy the 5 star criteria. The "private beach" was atrocious with rocks and pebbles and it is definitely NOT a place to swim. The hotel was very isolated from rest of the town hence needed a separate transportation which took approx 15 mins to the city- quite an inconvenience if you are planning on activities. Highly recommended if you are planning on just staying within the resort with a large number of pax or a family since kitchen provided and willing to go for neither with lack of food selection nor a swimmable beach. Must admit the villas were spectacular albeit numerous flooding in the bathroom (took them 3 days to fix). Suggest to go for less expensive resorts near the main street if looking for abundant activities and great seafood (very economical vs. hotel's overly priced mediocre dishes) or if you are looking for a relaxing tranquil getaway definitely go elsewhere on the island. FYI, avoid the spa!!! Better professional treatment available in the city with 1/10th of the price.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leeaudrey00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
1.2 mi away
Royal Muang Samui Villas
Royal Muang Samui Villas
#2 of 10 in Choeng Mon
813 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#6 of 104 in Chaweng
909 reviews
2.8 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#30 of 185 in Bophut
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
13.8 mi away
Conrad Koh Samui Residences
Conrad Koh Samui Residences
#4 of 7 in Taling Ngam
85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Outrigger Koh Samui Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanda Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanda Residences

Address: 80/32 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Karma Samui)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#40 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#43 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $198 - $948 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kanda Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally-located, elegant, ocean-facing, over-sized pool villa retreat. Five minutes from both Koh Samui International Airport and Chaweng Beach. Choose from One to Three bedroom villas with minimum size of 400 square metres. Grand living area, private swimming pool, outdoor terrace and Thai-style sala (pavilion).Home to "Rock Pool" the iconic beachfront restaurant. Asian Wellness Centre with certified Wat Po Thai Massage therapist, Reiki treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Prestigia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kanda Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karma Samui Hotel Koh Samui
Karma Samui Koh
Kanda Residences Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing