We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kanda Residences
Nearby Hotels
$137
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nora Buri Resort & Spa(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$158
$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$444
$275
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dara Samui Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$456
$67
Trip.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Peace Resort(Bophut)(Great Value!)
$115
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bo Phut Resort & Spa(Bophut)(Great Value!)
$299
$257
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$217
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort(Choeng Mon)(Great Value!)
$260
$242
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ibis Samui Bophut(Bophut)(Great Value!)
$40
$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hansar Samui Resort(Bophut)(Great Value!)
$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveler rating
207
49
21
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
49
21
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrockpool restaurantbedroom villaprivate poolthree bedroomwellness centrefull kitchenwashing machine and dryerlaundry roomthrough luxury escapesvilla numberawesome villamain bedroomcooking classliving areachaweng beachsea viewcomplete privacy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 290 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My partner & I spent five days at Kanda in September 2013. This facility was re-branded in June and is being marketed as a 5 star resort which it is not! So saying that the villas are spacious, not overlooked and the small private pools are superb. We understand that each villa is privately owned the freehold having recently been purchased by a group of villa owners and the overall complex is now run by a management company. The villa we stayed in was a little tired but nevertheless quite stunning. The restaurant was good but very pricey for what it was. What lets Kanda down was the service and quality of staff.The reception staff appeared to have had little or no training and argued about the cost of something included in the charges and advertised on their own website that they had clearly never bothered to read! Housekeeping services were also not brilliant. As the Residence is under new management I assume all the problems that we experienced will be addressed in due course.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2015

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to complete TripAdvisor survey regarding your stay at our resort. We very much appreciate and value your feedback. Your comments has serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at Kanda Residence Koh Samui last week for 3 in our during our stay in Koh Samui, our 10 year old boy loved the private pool very much so did I. Living area and kitchen is very comfortable my wife always cook for our family during our stay because they have full kitchen equipment that she needed. I feel like I stayed at my house but far more luxurious really good feeling here as well. Staff are very friendly and helpful when we ask for something wonderful place overall

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Happy New Year 2014. Kanda Residences Team wishing you a happy, healthy and prospect New Year.

Thank you very much for your support and staying with us at Kanda in 2013. We very much appreciate your positive feedback on our pool villa resort. Your comments are very valuable to us and are critical motivation for all of our team.

We will continue being a family friendly resort and we would like to honour our returning guests with special privileges to thank you your continued support. We will update you about our programme in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes from Kanda Residences team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a week at Kanda. We arrived well before check-in time and the staff provided a temporary villa for us to rest in before our sea view villa was cleaned

Our villa was absolutely wonderful. It was clean, spacious and had a spectacular view. We had complete privacy. Perfect for couples or families.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbird587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Happy New Year 2014. Kanda Residences Team wishing you a happy, healthy and prospect New Year.

Thank you very much for your support and staying with us at Kanda in 2013. We very much appreciate your positive feedback on our pool villa resort. Your comments are very valuable to us and are critical motivation for all of our team.

We would like to honour our returning guests with special privileges to thank you your continued support. We will update you about our programme in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes from Kanda Residences team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Only minutes away from busy Chaweng, reachable by taxi or tuck tuck , (do barter the price!) Kanda Residences is very peaceful , elegant and chic.

The villas are all very beautiful, comfortable , spacious and have all the amenities that you might need ( although next time I will bring my hair-drier as theirs is very slow).

We were on a wedding anniversary celebration and were allocated villa 32 on the beach front...wow! We could not believe how fabulous it all was and so secluded and calm and private.

All the staff from the reception to the restaurant , the security , the cleaning and the Spa, were polite, helpful, efficient , friendly and caring, thank you, you made our 2 weeks holiday very, very special! To top it all we had free What Po massages almost every day and Apple and her girls pummelled and stretched us to blissful relaxation. What more can one want?

... The breakfast menu was extensive and the food plentiful.
The beach is of crashed coral and a little rocky but quite pleasant. We enjoyed our private pool immensely even in the middle of the night! The rooms are well ventilated and have air condition and a rotating fan in the ceiling.

Advice: Bring loads of mosquito repellent! we put loads on and even used plugs in the room but still managed to get bitten.

Places to see nearby : Fisherman's Village is very pretty, with nice boutiques , restaurants and a lovely fine sand beach. (find out when there is the market in the evening as it's also very good).
Chaweng is very busy, noisy and a little dirty but it has it's charm and it is young and vibrant. The beach is good but also quite busy. We went to a the beach party bar one night and enjoyed mixing with the young and young at heart like us , listening to loud music , dancing and watching the fire jugglers. Very good fun!

Over all an holiday to remember!

Room Tip: All villas have sea view but if you are lucky to get villa 32 you will not be disappointed!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luckyonelol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you very much for staying with us at Kanda for your wedding anniversary. We very much appreciate your positive feedback on our pool villa resort. Your comments are very valuable to us and are critical motivation for all of our team.

We take very seriously your feedback regarding mosquito repellent. To your comments, we will increase regular Eco-friendly pest control services and are now working on an organic method to grow more citronella plants that will help protect from mosquito. We hope these positive actions will quickly improve the situation.

Again, on behalf of all of my team, I would like to thank you for your kind words. We all hope to welcome you back to Kanda Residences Samui very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We sadly must say goodbye to Koh Samui and Kanda Residences today.
We have 3 children aged 15,10 and 8 yrs and no one wants to leave! Given its hard to please a teenager I would say her reluctance to leave indicates how great a time we have had!
Kanda is luxurious and relaxing.We felt like we had the whole place to ourselves and will definitely be telling our Australian friends to travel here at this time of year(September school holidays). The weather has consistently been in the low 30's and rain has been minimal.
The resort is immaculate and the pools are well maintained( we saw others on the island that definitely were not!) the staff are friendly and always helpful.
Apples wellness centre pampered all of us with facials, massages, manicures etc! Even the children were appropriately included in the pampering by Apple and co.
We chose Thailand for its great food and at Kanda we were not disappointed. We had great fresh food amazing fresh juices and tropical fruits daily.
A few tips- I thought when we booked that washing machine facilities were included.when we arrived we realised not. We paid for laundering and then we discovered a back door into what we were told was for housekeeping. This room comes of the kitchen and was locked from within. In the room is the washing machine! So not sure why it was locked? Next time I will follow this up earlier.
Reading other people's reviews I note that others have struggled with the layout of the bedrooms.The children's wing is detached from the parents wing and isn't easily made secure. This was manageable by us as our children are not very young and we were able to obtain a spare key from reception that they used to secure their room with but if you have young children it is quite disconcerting. Beware, it seems to be a common resort type of layout as friends of ours moved resorts 3 times because they were not able to adjust to the complete separation from young children at night.
But, to end I must say what an amazing time we have had! Thank you Kanda!
The Cantwell family

Room Tip: We were in room 30 with 3 bedrooms. Perfect location All rooms seemed good
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vikki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Family Cantwell,

Thank you very much for staying with us at Kanda Residences We very much appreciate all of your positive feedback on our pool villa resort. Your comments are very valuable to us and are critical motivation for all of our team.

To your comment about our laundry service, we are in the process of refining our washing and laundry facility. We plan to provide a washing machine upon request as well as full laundry services to all of our guests. We sincerely hope this will solve any future problems you or any of our guests may have with our laundry facilities.

Again, on behalf of all of my team, I would like to thank you for your kind words. We all hope to welcome you and all of the Cantwell family back to Kanda Residences very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews