We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of peace !”
Review of Kanda Residences

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kanda Residences
Ranked #67 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Only minutes away from busy Chaweng, reachable by taxi or tuck tuck , (do barter the price!) Kanda Residences is very peaceful , elegant and chic.

The villas are all very beautiful, comfortable , spacious and have all the amenities that you might need ( although next time I will bring my hair-drier as theirs is very slow).

We were on a wedding anniversary celebration and were allocated villa 32 on the beach front...wow! We could not believe how fabulous it all was and so secluded and calm and private.

All the staff from the reception to the restaurant , the security , the cleaning and the Spa, were polite, helpful, efficient , friendly and caring, thank you, you made our 2 weeks holiday very, very special! To top it all we had free What Po massages almost every day and Apple and her girls pummelled and stretched us to blissful relaxation. What more can one want?

... The breakfast menu was extensive and the food plentiful.
The beach is of crashed coral and a little rocky but quite pleasant. We enjoyed our private pool immensely even in the middle of the night! The rooms are well ventilated and have air condition and a rotating fan in the ceiling.

Advice: Bring loads of mosquito repellent! we put loads on and even used plugs in the room but still managed to get bitten.

Places to see nearby : Fisherman's Village is very pretty, with nice boutiques , restaurants and a lovely fine sand beach. (find out when there is the market in the evening as it's also very good).
Chaweng is very busy, noisy and a little dirty but it has it's charm and it is young and vibrant. The beach is good but also quite busy. We went to a the beach party bar one night and enjoyed mixing with the young and young at heart like us , listening to loud music , dancing and watching the fire jugglers. Very good fun!

Over all an holiday to remember!

Room Tip: All villas have sea view but if you are lucky to get villa 32 you will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luckyonelol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you very much for staying with us at Kanda for your wedding anniversary. We very much appreciate your positive feedback on our pool villa resort. Your comments are very valuable to us and are critical motivation for all of our team.

We take very seriously your feedback regarding mosquito repellent. To your comments, we will increase regular Eco-friendly pest control services and are now working on an organic method to grow more citronella plants that will help protect from mosquito. We hope these positive actions will quickly improve the situation.

Again, on behalf of all of my team, I would like to thank you for your kind words. We all hope to welcome you back to Kanda Residences Samui very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 270 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

We sadly must say goodbye to Koh Samui and Kanda Residences today.
We have 3 children aged 15,10 and 8 yrs and no one wants to leave! Given its hard to please a teenager I would say her reluctance to leave indicates how great a time we have had!
Kanda is luxurious and relaxing.We felt like we had the whole place to ourselves and will definitely be telling our Australian friends to travel here at this time of year(September school holidays). The weather has consistently been in the low 30's and rain has been minimal.
The resort is immaculate and the pools are well maintained( we saw others on the island that definitely were not!) the staff are friendly and always helpful.
Apples wellness centre pampered all of us with facials, massages, manicures etc! Even the children were appropriately included in the pampering by Apple and co.
We chose Thailand for its great food and at Kanda we were not disappointed. We had great fresh food amazing fresh juices and tropical fruits daily.
A few tips- I thought when we booked that washing machine facilities were included.when we arrived we realised not. We paid for laundering and then we discovered a back door into what we were told was for housekeeping. This room comes of the kitchen and was locked from within. In the room is the washing machine! So not sure why it was locked? Next time I will follow this up earlier.
Reading other people's reviews I note that others have struggled with the layout of the bedrooms.The children's wing is detached from the parents wing and isn't easily made secure. This was manageable by us as our children are not very young and we were able to obtain a spare key from reception that they used to secure their room with but if you have young children it is quite disconcerting. Beware, it seems to be a common resort type of layout as friends of ours moved resorts 3 times because they were not able to adjust to the complete separation from young children at night.
But, to end I must say what an amazing time we have had! Thank you Kanda!
The Cantwell family

Room Tip: We were in room 30 with 3 bedrooms. Perfect location All rooms seemed good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vikki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Family Cantwell,

Thank you very much for staying with us at Kanda Residences We very much appreciate all of your positive feedback on our pool villa resort. Your comments are very valuable to us and are critical motivation for all of our team.

To your comment about our laundry service, we are in the process of refining our washing and laundry facility. We plan to provide a washing machine upon request as well as full laundry services to all of our guests. We sincerely hope this will solve any future problems you or any of our guests may have with our laundry facilities.

Again, on behalf of all of my team, I would like to thank you for your kind words. We all hope to welcome you and all of the Cantwell family back to Kanda Residences very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My friend & I found the Asian wellness centre through Samui Spa Guide and were particularly attracted to it as they were offering Reiki treatments & Wat Po massage.

The spa itself is quite small however what the spa lacks in size the staff make up for in service the actual treatments were simply amazing I met Apple (Laong Dao Singsuk) who made us feel very welcome, organized the treatments in a professional manner then true 5 star quality and beyond.

I had Reiki treatment from Apple my first ever time and it was so wonderful I felt it working on so many levels I truly felt blissful afterwards. My friend did a Wat Po style Thai which was great.
This is truly well organized spa with very skillful therapists . I could highly recommend Apples Asian Wellness to anyone.

Room Tip: Book in advanced and keep an open mind
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just spent ten great nights at the Kanda Residences in a three bedroom pool villa and the resort has pretty much got all the boxes ticked. The villas are spacious, well equipped and uber clean. Breakfasts choices are many and varied and are all freshly prepared. The staff are all excellent with nothing being too much trouble.

Being five minutes ride from the hustle and bustle Chaweng gives the resort a peaceful seclusion, the trade off being that you require the services of a taxi or a songthaew to get into the action. Either are readily at hand within moments, flagged by the resorts security on the road a few yards outside reception.

If using either of the above I would recommend asking reception for a Kanda business card to show your driver on your return journey. This negates the posibility of confusion with the Kanda Buri Hotel which you pass on your way back (Kanda was until recently the Karma which can cause confusion).

All in all, a great place to holiday. Thanks to everyone at Kanda.

Korp Kun Krap Kanda.

Room Tip: Koh Samui must have the most expensive taxi fares in Thailand. Songthaew (bus) are cheaper, (50 baht...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Properlush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Happy New Year 2014. Kanda Residences Team wishing you a happy, healthy and prospect New Year.

Thank you very much for your support and staying with us at Kanda in 2013. We very much appreciate your positive feedback on our pool villa resort. Your comments are very valuable to us and are critical motivation for all of our team.

We have taken your recommendation and now providing Resort Card with resort address in Thai so that our guests can show to their local taxi driver.

We would like to honour our returning guests with special privileges to thank you your continued support. We will update you about our programme in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes from Kanda Residences team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We arrived at Kanda Residences quite late - around 10.30 p.m - and were met by "Ice" who welcomed us to our villa and showed us round. She was lovely! Even a bit jet lagged...... we were absolutely gobsmacked! The villa was absolutely fantastic! The lounge/kitchen/dining area were huge - the kitchen has everything, even a washing machine and dryer (not that this interested me much!!). The bedrooms are quite separate from the lounge but again are massive + a huge bathroom with double sinks, walk-in shower and toilet, and a walk-in wardrobe. We also were given two extra bedrooms, which we did not use, but this gave us much more space in the beautiful gardens. The pool, although small, was wonderful. What could be better than reading your book sitting on the shelf along the pool keeping cool.

Everyone at Kanda were so welcoming. Always smiling, helpful and friendly. The beach is not much to mention but there are beds, umbrellas and towels if you did want to sit there. Personally we preferred our private pool where we could also have a drink, eat the fruit provided daily and also make ourselves some lunch. Because of the massive portions at breakfast we never needed to have much lunch - and the fact breakfast was served until 11.00 a.m. made it easier on holiday that we didn't have to rush.

The Rockpool restaurant was excellent. We had about four dinners there and all were quite perfect. Oysters are their speciality and we did try them - also the lobster which was lovely. David, the Chef, found time to speak to everyone and we were impressed with the way the food was presented and tasted. Very, very good.

If you want quiet this is the place, if you want a lively resort this is not but there are other towns nearby, Cheyweng and Fisherman's Village which offer everything!

I should also mention we booked our holiday through Secret Escapes in England. We found we got a very good deal, saving around £100 per night! We booked our own flights which was very easy and also kept the price down. Emirates Airlines were fantastic and stopping over in Dubai was great as this split the journey.

All in all we had an absolutely wonderful holiday (10 nights) and would definitely recommend to anyone who loves Thailand!

Room Tip: Because we were upgraded we had a three bedroom villa instead of a one bedroom. We had villa 7 whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandPNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Happy New Year 2014. Kanda Residences Team wishing you a happy, healthy and prospect New Year.

Thank you very much for your support and staying with us at Kanda in 2013. We very much appreciate your positive feedback on our pool villa resort. Your comments are very valuable to us and are critical motivation for all of our team.

We would like to honour our returning guests with special privileges to thank you your continued support. We will update you about our programme in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back to our resort soon.

Best wishes from Kanda Residences team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at Kanda Residences in August 5th for 11nights.
All I can say, that ist a beautiful place and friendly staff. We really like the location, nice and quite, but the same time its only 5min drive(on the moped) to Chaweeng beach or main street and 10min drive to Boput(Fisherman Village).
The "Rockpool" reastaurant in Kanda Residences if simply fantastic!!!!! David(the shef) doing a greeeeat job. The meal is the best in there!!!! Thank you very much, David fo beautiful dinners!!!
Also really nice place to eat is in "The Larder", not far from the Kanda, on the way to Chaweeng. Really friendly and lovely food.
Fantastic holiday,hope to come back to Kanda Residences again, next summer!

Room Tip: We had a Villa number 3,and it was fine. Sea view from the bedroom and close to the reception and re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Happy New Year 2014. Kanda Residences Team wishing you a happy, healthy and prospect New Year.

Thank you very much for your support and staying with us at Kanda in 2013. We very much appreciate your positive feedback on our pool villa resort. Your comments are very valuable to us and are critical motivation for all of our team.

We would like to honour our returning guests with special privileges to thank you your continued support. We will update you about our programme in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes from Kanda Residences team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at Kanda Residences in July 2013 for 5 nights. Originally booked through Samui Island Villas into one of the privately owned and operated Villas. A BIG MISTAKE (see my Flipkey review at: http://www.flipkey.com/koh-samui-villa-rentals/p474435/

If you are going to book, book through the resort. Klaus and the team at Kanda Residences are fantastic. Therefore this review is based on our experiences when the booking is managed by Kanda.

We wanted to have 5 days of relaxation, dining, drinking, tanning and a bit of privacy. Kanda was perfect for this. The Villas are within a large resort complex which has its own beautiful sandy and rocky beach. It is not a maintained beach like Chaweng, but that is its charm. The report has great facilities, including the main restaurant which has views of the Gulf of Thailand (simply breathtaking), 2 infinity pools, gym, spa etc.

The Villas are massive! We were in a 3 bedroom villa with 2 rooms locked off (these rooms are separate to the house, so you don't even notice they are there. The pool was divine, the air-con worked a treat, and the villa had everything you could possibly need to seclude yourself away from reality.

Kanda was previously run as a Karma resort (we had stayed at Karma Kandara in Bali so were expecting huge things), and you can see the effort that the new management team are putting in to ensure that this resort continues to compete with the other players.

Well worth staying if you want to be just out of the craziness of Chaweng, but still close enough (5 mins) to jump in when you want!

Room Tip: The Villas all have views. We stayed in Villa 1 and can't complain about it one bit! The single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesC392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Happy New Year 2014. Kanda Residences Team wishing you a happy, healthy and prospect New Year.

Thank you very much for your support and staying with us at Kanda in 2013. We very much appreciate your positive feedback on our pool villa resort. Your comments are very valuable to us and are critical motivation for all of our team.

We would like to honour our returning guests with special privileges to thank you your continued support. We will update you about our programme in the near future.

Best wishes from all of us at Kanda Residences!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
1.2 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#6 of 104 in Chaweng
901 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Muang Samui Villas
Royal Muang Samui Villas
#2 of 10 in Choeng Mon
804 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
1.7 mi away
Muang Samui Spa Resort
Muang Samui Spa Resort
#3 of 104 in Chaweng
893 reviews
0.5 mi away
Outrigger Koh Samui Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanda Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanda Residences

Address: 80/32 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Karma Samui)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#41 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#45 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $241 - $818 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kanda Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally-located, elegant, ocean-facing, over-sized pool villa retreat. Five minutes from both Koh Samui International Airport and Chaweng Beach. Choose from One to Three bedroom villas with minimum size of 400 square metres. Grand living area, private swimming pool, outdoor terrace and Thai-style sala (pavilion).Home to "Rock Pool" the iconic beachfront restaurant. Asian Wellness Centre with certified Wat Po Thai Massage therapist, Reiki treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Kanda Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karma Samui Hotel Koh Samui
Karma Samui Koh
Kanda Residences Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing