We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveler rating
237
60
21
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
60
21
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rockpool restaurant bedroom villa private pool wellness centre full kitchen washing machine and dryer separate building through luxury escapes chef lisa main bedroom villa number awesome villa cooking class chaweng beach special mention must go sea view executive chef
Filter
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 332 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We sadly must say goodbye to Koh Samui and Kanda Residences today.
We have 3 children aged 15,10 and 8 yrs and no one wants to leave! Given its hard to please a teenager I would say her reluctance to leave indicates how great a time we have had!
Kanda is luxurious and relaxing.We felt like we had the whole place to ourselves and will definitely be telling our Australian friends to travel here at this time of year(September school holidays). The weather has consistently been in the low 30's and rain has been minimal.
The resort is immaculate and the pools are well maintained( we saw others on the island that definitely were not!) the staff are friendly and always helpful.
Apples wellness centre pampered all of us with facials, massages, manicures etc! Even the children were appropriately included in the pampering by Apple and co.
We chose Thailand for its great food and at Kanda we were not disappointed. We had great fresh food amazing fresh juices and tropical fruits daily.
A few tips- I thought when we booked that washing machine facilities were included.when we arrived we realised not. We paid for laundering and then we discovered a back door into what we were told was for housekeeping. This room comes of the kitchen and was locked from within. In the room is the washing machine! So not sure why it was locked? Next time I will follow this up earlier.
Reading other people's reviews I note that others have struggled with the layout of the bedrooms.The children's wing is detached from the parents wing and isn't easily made secure. This was manageable by us as our children are not very young and we were able to obtain a spare key from reception that they used to secure their room with but if you have young children it is quite disconcerting. Beware, it seems to be a common resort type of layout as friends of ours moved resorts 3 times because they were not able to adjust to the complete separation from young children at night.
But, to end I must say what an amazing time we have had! Thank you Kanda!
The Cantwell family

Room Tip: We were in room 30 with 3 bedrooms. Perfect location All rooms seemed good
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vikki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Family Cantwell,

Thank you very much for staying with us at Kanda Residences We very much appreciate all of your positive feedback on our pool villa resort. Your comments are very valuable to us and are critical motivation for all of our team.

To your comment about our laundry service, we are in the process of refining our washing and laundry facility. We plan to provide a washing machine upon request as well as full laundry services to all of our guests. We sincerely hope this will solve any future problems you or any of our guests may have with our laundry facilities.

Again, on behalf of all of my team, I would like to thank you for your kind words. We all hope to welcome you and all of the Cantwell family back to Kanda Residences very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My friend & I found the Asian wellness centre through Samui Spa Guide and were particularly attracted to it as they were offering Reiki treatments & Wat Po massage.

The spa itself is quite small however what the spa lacks in size the staff make up for in service the actual treatments were simply amazing I met Apple (Laong Dao Singsuk) who made us feel very welcome, organized the treatments in a professional manner then true 5 star quality and beyond.

I had Reiki treatment from Apple my first ever time and it was so wonderful I felt it working on so many levels I truly felt blissful afterwards. My friend did a Wat Po style Thai which was great.
This is truly well organized spa with very skillful therapists . I could highly recommend Apples Asian Wellness to anyone.

Room Tip: Book in advanced and keep an open mind
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just spent ten great nights at the Kanda Residences in a three bedroom pool villa and the resort has pretty much got all the boxes ticked. The villas are spacious, well equipped and uber clean. Breakfasts choices are many and varied and are all freshly prepared. The staff are all excellent with nothing being too much trouble.

Being five minutes ride from the hustle and bustle Chaweng gives the resort a peaceful seclusion, the trade off being that you require the services of a taxi or a songthaew to get into the action. Either are readily at hand within moments, flagged by the resorts security on the road a few yards outside reception.

If using either of the above I would recommend asking reception for a Kanda business card to show your driver on your return journey. This negates the posibility of confusion with the Kanda Buri Hotel which you pass on your way back (Kanda was until recently the Karma which can cause confusion).

All in all, a great place to holiday. Thanks to everyone at Kanda.

Korp Kun Krap Kanda.

Room Tip: Koh Samui must have the most expensive taxi fares in Thailand. Songthaew (bus) are cheaper, (50 baht p.p. as opposed to 300 baht in a taxi to Chaweng) but that price goes up to 100 baht after dark. It will be cheaper in a taxi if there are a few of you are returning after dark. Don't tip taxi drivers. BoPhut is well worth a visit !
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Properlush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Happy New Year 2014. Kanda Residences Team wishing you a happy, healthy and prospect New Year.

Thank you very much for your support and staying with us at Kanda in 2013. We very much appreciate your positive feedback on our pool villa resort. Your comments are very valuable to us and are critical motivation for all of our team.

We have taken your recommendation and now providing Resort Card with resort address in Thai so that our guests can show to their local taxi driver.

We would like to honour our returning guests with special privileges to thank you your continued support. We will update you about our programme in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes from Kanda Residences team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We arrived at Kanda Residences quite late - around 10.30 p.m - and were met by "Ice" who welcomed us to our villa and showed us round. She was lovely! Even a bit jet lagged...... we were absolutely gobsmacked! The villa was absolutely fantastic! The lounge/kitchen/dining area were huge - the kitchen has everything, even a washing machine and dryer (not that this interested me much!!). The bedrooms are quite separate from the lounge but again are massive + a huge bathroom with double sinks, walk-in shower and toilet, and a walk-in wardrobe. We also were given two extra bedrooms, which we did not use, but this gave us much more space in the beautiful gardens. The pool, although small, was wonderful. What could be better than reading your book sitting on the shelf along the pool keeping cool.

Everyone at Kanda were so welcoming. Always smiling, helpful and friendly. The beach is not much to mention but there are beds, umbrellas and towels if you did want to sit there. Personally we preferred our private pool where we could also have a drink, eat the fruit provided daily and also make ourselves some lunch. Because of the massive portions at breakfast we never needed to have much lunch - and the fact breakfast was served until 11.00 a.m. made it easier on holiday that we didn't have to rush.

The Rockpool restaurant was excellent. We had about four dinners there and all were quite perfect. Oysters are their speciality and we did try them - also the lobster which was lovely. David, the Chef, found time to speak to everyone and we were impressed with the way the food was presented and tasted. Very, very good.

If you want quiet this is the place, if you want a lively resort this is not but there are other towns nearby, Cheyweng and Fisherman's Village which offer everything!

I should also mention we booked our holiday through Secret Escapes in England. We found we got a very good deal, saving around £100 per night! We booked our own flights which was very easy and also kept the price down. Emirates Airlines were fantastic and stopping over in Dubai was great as this split the journey.

All in all we had an absolutely wonderful holiday (10 nights) and would definitely recommend to anyone who loves Thailand!

Room Tip: Because we were upgraded we had a three bedroom villa instead of a one bedroom. We had villa 7 which was near the reception and was quite high so we had good views from the bedroom of the sea. Drawback is it is a long hill back from the restaurant for breakfast, although nothing if you are fit an healthy but not so good if you have walking problems. Although saying this the reception does provide a buggy if you do want a lift!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandPNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Happy New Year 2014. Kanda Residences Team wishing you a happy, healthy and prospect New Year.

Thank you very much for your support and staying with us at Kanda in 2013. We very much appreciate your positive feedback on our pool villa resort. Your comments are very valuable to us and are critical motivation for all of our team.

We would like to honour our returning guests with special privileges to thank you your continued support. We will update you about our programme in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back to our resort soon.

Best wishes from Kanda Residences team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at Kanda Residences in August 5th for 11nights.
All I can say, that ist a beautiful place and friendly staff. We really like the location, nice and quite, but the same time its only 5min drive(on the moped) to Chaweeng beach or main street and 10min drive to Boput(Fisherman Village).
The "Rockpool" reastaurant in Kanda Residences if simply fantastic!!!!! David(the shef) doing a greeeeat job. The meal is the best in there!!!! Thank you very much, David fo beautiful dinners!!!
Also really nice place to eat is in "The Larder", not far from the Kanda, on the way to Chaweeng. Really friendly and lovely food.
Fantastic holiday,hope to come back to Kanda Residences again, next summer!

Room Tip: We had a Villa number 3,and it was fine. Sea view from the bedroom and close to the reception and restaurants.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Happy New Year 2014. Kanda Residences Team wishing you a happy, healthy and prospect New Year.

Thank you very much for your support and staying with us at Kanda in 2013. We very much appreciate your positive feedback on our pool villa resort. Your comments are very valuable to us and are critical motivation for all of our team.

We would like to honour our returning guests with special privileges to thank you your continued support. We will update you about our programme in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes from Kanda Residences team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews