We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveler rating
230
57
21
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
57
21
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrockpool restaurantbedroom villaprivate poolwellness centrefull kitchenwashing machine and dryerseparate buildingluxury escapeschef lisavilla numbercooking classmain bedroomawesome villachaweng beachliving areasea viewspecial mention must go
Filter
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 321 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We just arrived back from 3 weeks in Thailand. The first week was in Koh Samui and we had chosen to splash out in the first week as it was Christmas and we don't often get to celebrate Christmas with the family as we live in New Zeland and they live in Denmark. So our Christmas present to our daughter, son-in-law and 2 grandkids (7 + 10), was 1 week in a luxury pool house at Karma Samui. And it was really a treat !!!

The house was amazing. It was divided into three houses. One house was our master-suite with big bedroom, wardrobe and big bath room. In the middle was another house with laundry, open kitchen and living room/dining room. And on the other side a third house with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. And in the middle - in front of the living room and with our bedrooms on each side - was the pool. Just amazing. The kids absolutely loved it and used it all the time. They only went to the big pool at the resort a couple of times :o)

The restaurant at the resort is really good as well. During Christmas they had some amazing arrangements - and none of these were compulsory - which is often the case with other resorts! And.. the chef from the restaurant helped us get some ducks for Christmas Eve where my husband wanted to cook for his family. Everybody was just so helpfull - all the way through.

The only 'bad' thing I can say about this resort - or our house - is that we didn't have a view of the sea, which we would have liked and thought we had reserved... (We had villa 22) and I think you need to get 1 level down to get a sea view.

But what a week - so relaxed :o)))

Room Tip: Villa 22 hasn't got a sea view. Think you need to get down close to the restaurant to have a sea view.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gitteand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Resorts_Group, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dera Gitteand

Please excuse my late response

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your kind comments on Trip Advisor.

It is expressions such as yours that make the Karma Samui teams efforts are all worth while

We hope to have the opportunity of looking after you again in the not too distant future

Once more thank you for your kind words

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We stayed at Karma Samui for our honeymoon, and couldn't have been happier. Private airport transfers were included, and it was only a 10 minute drive from Samui Airport. The private villa was gorgeous, very spacious, with separate buildings, one with kitchen lounge dining, the other with bedroom and bathroom. Airy and spacious, with beautiful furnishings and fittings. They faced into our private courtyard with sunlounges and a massive daybed, and a surprisingly large private pool. There are only several villas that actually open on to the beach, so if that is what you are after, be sure to ask at time of booking. We ate at the resort restaurant, Rockpool, several times, and found the meals to be delicious and well priced. I ate the best massaman curry there while drinking a delicious lychee martini and looking out over the beach and ocean. Heaven! The staff were exceptionally friendly, and I would recommend the private bbq in your villa. I've never felt so spoilt! Karma is a five minute druve from Chaweng beach, so taxis, a scooter or a hire car are a must if you plan to leave the resort. Highly recommend as a place to stay while on Samui. :)

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beriffic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

In Spetmeber 2011 we spent one of the most enjoyable family holidays to date at Karma. No only were the facilities great, but the staff were some of the most accomodating team of people that I have ever had the pleasure to stay with. I do not say this lightly as I have travelled extensively around the world over a 15 year period both professionally and socially.. The team are truelly wonderfull and we eagerly await our next visit. Although the resort is more than a walk from Chaweng, ther a plenty of songtow's going past regulary. In many ways it is good to away from the main hub a little.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stayed at Karma Samui for 4 nights in October and enjoyed every bit of our stay even though none of our prior requests were attended to! Had asked for a villa with a sea view but were given the standard excuse of the resort being fully booked. Had also asked for a late check-out on our last day but were given the same excuse. On probing further, we understood that since most of the villas are privately owned, there are only about 5 to 7 villas that can be rented out by the resort, hence the constraints.

The villas themselves make up for any shortcomings the resort and its policies might have.They are beautiful. A lovely blend of traditional thai architecture/decor and modernity. Lush tropical foliage and perfect mood lighting. We had booked a 2 bedroom villa and were given a 3-bedroom one, with the smallest room locked. Layout wise it was perfect. Very spacious and absolutely gorgeous. When we walked in all of us literally gasped because none of the pictures we'd seen had done justice to the reality.

The living room/dining room/ kitchen was housed in its own building and kitted out with all the amenities and appliances one needs to be happy (even when on a beach vacation). Everything was very well maintained and very tastefully thought out. The master bedroom and bathroom (which even has an outdoor shower area) were stunning. That being said, those staying in the other bedrooms don't feel short changed in any way. I must make special note of the rain showers in the bathrooms....amazing.

The private pool was the perfect size. Definitely did not feel like one was swimming in a bathtub and the jacuzzi jets on the side got a big thumbs up.

The resort isn't sprawling, it's quite compact but in spite of that you feel like you're living in a secluded piece of paradise. The Rockpool and Padma restaurants serve food whose quality is par excellence and offer spectacular views of the ocean. The resort's own infinity pool was also almost always secluded. So, if at any point of time we felt like we needed an ocean-view swim, we had a very viable option. The resort beach was rocky and quite littered but totally forgivable.

Service at the resort was very good. Daily cleaning and turndown service with personal touches like leaving little treats in the villa in the evening. Everybody was willing to help as much as they could. Location was also great. Not far from the craziness at Chaweng or the lovely restaurants at the Fishermans Village but still quiet and peaceful.

All in all a truly memorable stay and one all of wished had been longer.

Room Tip: Most of the villas with unobstructed sea-views are privately own, so if thats a major criteria it will probably make sense to somehow contact the individual owners
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nomadazoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Oct 2011 - My wife and I had a wonderful ten days relaxing holiday at Karma Samui. We stayed in the Master Suite of a 3 section Villa. The room was very spacious, with a long balcony and eastern views out across the Gulf of Thailand. Very comfortable bed with fresh linen daily and the room servicing was faultless. Each night sweet treats were left in our room, which was a lovely touch. The villa pool with bale was private and peaceful and we basically had it to ourselves. The resort is well located with two other swimming pools, rocky/sandy (natural) beach with deck chairs and also a gym. Their signature restaurant, Rockpool, has excellent dishes of top quality, and at reasonable prices in a "to die for" setting. Although located only five minutes from the airport I recommend hiring the hotel car for both arrival and return. All the staff are, as one would expect of the Thai people, very friendly and helpful to a any query or request. I would not hesitate in recommending a stay at Karma Samui.
Peter & Jenny - Brisbane

Room Tip: Master suites are far superior to the studios.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews