We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing resort !”
Review of Kanda Residences

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kanda Residences
Ranked #61 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We just arrived back from 3 weeks in Thailand. The first week was in Koh Samui and we had chosen to splash out in the first week as it was Christmas and we don't often get to celebrate Christmas with the family as we live in New Zeland and they live in Denmark. So our Christmas present to our daughter, son-in-law and 2 grandkids (7 + 10), was 1 week in a luxury pool house at Karma Samui. And it was really a treat !!!

The house was amazing. It was divided into three houses. One house was our master-suite with big bedroom, wardrobe and big bath room. In the middle was another house with laundry, open kitchen and living room/dining room. And on the other side a third house with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. And in the middle - in front of the living room and with our bedrooms on each side - was the pool. Just amazing. The kids absolutely loved it and used it all the time. They only went to the big pool at the resort a couple of times :o)

The restaurant at the resort is really good as well. During Christmas they had some amazing arrangements - and none of these were compulsory - which is often the case with other resorts! And.. the chef from the restaurant helped us get some ducks for Christmas Eve where my husband wanted to cook for his family. Everybody was just so helpfull - all the way through.

The only 'bad' thing I can say about this resort - or our house - is that we didn't have a view of the sea, which we would have liked and thought we had reserved... (We had villa 22) and I think you need to get 1 level down to get a sea view.

But what a week - so relaxed :o)))

Room Tip: Villa 22 hasn't got a sea view. Think you need to get down close to the restaurant to have a sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gitteand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Resorts_Group, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dera Gitteand

Please excuse my late response

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your kind comments on Trip Advisor.

It is expressions such as yours that make the Karma Samui teams efforts are all worth while

We hope to have the opportunity of looking after you again in the not too distant future

Once more thank you for your kind words

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 278 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2011

We stayed at Karma Samui for our honeymoon, and couldn't have been happier. Private airport transfers were included, and it was only a 10 minute drive from Samui Airport. The private villa was gorgeous, very spacious, with separate buildings, one with kitchen lounge dining, the other with bedroom and bathroom. Airy and spacious, with beautiful furnishings and fittings. They faced into our private courtyard with sunlounges and a massive daybed, and a surprisingly large private pool. There are only several villas that actually open on to the beach, so if that is what you are after, be sure to ask at time of booking. We ate at the resort restaurant, Rockpool, several times, and found the meals to be delicious and well priced. I ate the best massaman curry there while drinking a delicious lychee martini and looking out over the beach and ocean. Heaven! The staff were exceptionally friendly, and I would recommend the private bbq in your villa. I've never felt so spoilt! Karma is a five minute druve from Chaweng beach, so taxis, a scooter or a hire car are a must if you plan to leave the resort. Highly recommend as a place to stay while on Samui. :)

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beriffic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

In Spetmeber 2011 we spent one of the most enjoyable family holidays to date at Karma. No only were the facilities great, but the staff were some of the most accomodating team of people that I have ever had the pleasure to stay with. I do not say this lightly as I have travelled extensively around the world over a 15 year period both professionally and socially.. The team are truelly wonderfull and we eagerly await our next visit. Although the resort is more than a walk from Chaweng, ther a plenty of songtow's going past regulary. In many ways it is good to away from the main hub a little.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stayed at Karma Samui for 4 nights in October and enjoyed every bit of our stay even though none of our prior requests were attended to! Had asked for a villa with a sea view but were given the standard excuse of the resort being fully booked. Had also asked for a late check-out on our last day but were given the same excuse. On probing further, we understood that since most of the villas are privately owned, there are only about 5 to 7 villas that can be rented out by the resort, hence the constraints.

The villas themselves make up for any shortcomings the resort and its policies might have.They are beautiful. A lovely blend of traditional thai architecture/decor and modernity. Lush tropical foliage and perfect mood lighting. We had booked a 2 bedroom villa and were given a 3-bedroom one, with the smallest room locked. Layout wise it was perfect. Very spacious and absolutely gorgeous. When we walked in all of us literally gasped because none of the pictures we'd seen had done justice to the reality.

The living room/dining room/ kitchen was housed in its own building and kitted out with all the amenities and appliances one needs to be happy (even when on a beach vacation). Everything was very well maintained and very tastefully thought out. The master bedroom and bathroom (which even has an outdoor shower area) were stunning. That being said, those staying in the other bedrooms don't feel short changed in any way. I must make special note of the rain showers in the bathrooms....amazing.

The private pool was the perfect size. Definitely did not feel like one was swimming in a bathtub and the jacuzzi jets on the side got a big thumbs up.

The resort isn't sprawling, it's quite compact but in spite of that you feel like you're living in a secluded piece of paradise. The Rockpool and Padma restaurants serve food whose quality is par excellence and offer spectacular views of the ocean. The resort's own infinity pool was also almost always secluded. So, if at any point of time we felt like we needed an ocean-view swim, we had a very viable option. The resort beach was rocky and quite littered but totally forgivable.

Service at the resort was very good. Daily cleaning and turndown service with personal touches like leaving little treats in the villa in the evening. Everybody was willing to help as much as they could. Location was also great. Not far from the craziness at Chaweng or the lovely restaurants at the Fishermans Village but still quiet and peaceful.

All in all a truly memorable stay and one all of wished had been longer.

Room Tip: Most of the villas with unobstructed sea-views are privately own, so if thats a major criteria it wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nomadazoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Oct 2011 - My wife and I had a wonderful ten days relaxing holiday at Karma Samui. We stayed in the Master Suite of a 3 section Villa. The room was very spacious, with a long balcony and eastern views out across the Gulf of Thailand. Very comfortable bed with fresh linen daily and the room servicing was faultless. Each night sweet treats were left in our room, which was a lovely touch. The villa pool with bale was private and peaceful and we basically had it to ourselves. The resort is well located with two other swimming pools, rocky/sandy (natural) beach with deck chairs and also a gym. Their signature restaurant, Rockpool, has excellent dishes of top quality, and at reasonable prices in a "to die for" setting. Although located only five minutes from the airport I recommend hiring the hotel car for both arrival and return. All the staff are, as one would expect of the Thai people, very friendly and helpful to a any query or request. I would not hesitate in recommending a stay at Karma Samui.
Peter & Jenny - Brisbane

Room Tip: Master suites are far superior to the studios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed at Karma Samui for 6 nights very recently, myself, my husband and our two young daughters aged 4 and 7 years.

When we booked our accommodation, we were very specific about floorplans and location of our children in relation to ourselves. We always stay together, either in one hotel room, or in, as we intended during our stay here, a 2 bedroom villa.

When we arrived and were shown to our accommodation we were shown to a very appealing villa, but one which was made up of basically 3 separate buildings. The building to the front was the living building with lounge, dining and kitchen. Completely separate and behind that there were two more areas. The ground level consisted of two rooms - only one of which was made available to us, which was a twin bedroom with bathroom. The other bedroom was up two flights of stairs, completely separate with no connection between the two whatsoever. It was not what we booked. We would never have booked such an arrangement, with our children being completely separated from us, out of our hearing and the only way to secure them would have been to lock them in as there was no internal snip on the doors, you could only lock with a key.

We immediately advised the hotel that this is not what we booked, that it was not suitable for us and our children. They responded that they were fully booked but would let us know if something came up. They were not fully booked. I understand some of their properties are privately owned and perhaps that's what they meant, but at breakfast we didn't see anyone else in the restaurant aside from on one morning.

We complained again the next day and called our travel agent in Australia and they presented us with a solution. They then opened the third room we had previously not had access to, which was alongside the twin room on the ground floor, another double room. Again though, not interconnection between them. As a result, for the whole of our stay, the four of us slept together and did not sleep well. It had a negative impact on our sleep and our stay, as sleeping in a bed with two small children does.

The downstairs bedrooms in the villa were also a little smelly, perhaps dampness and stale from being locked up for some time, not very pleasant.

The overall property is very attractive, the front pools and beach lovely. The staff in the restaurant were very pleasant. Front desk staff were perhaps a little jaded from working in such a touristy location, I didn't find them particularly warm. They answered questions asked but did not offer anything additional. There was also no property book in the villa, no information about their services, suggestions of things to do, which I think would be an advantage for them. Explaining the use of the hotel cars for example, which we never could figure out, different trips and outings that they could arrange - that kind of thing.

So, I could recommend the property, but with the qualification that if the floorplan of your villa, particularly if travelling with children, is important, be sure to triply confirm it before you arrive.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank victoria h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Absolutely fantastic accomodation in a lovely quiet part of Samui, just north of Chaweng. Currently known as 'Samui Beach Club' but we heard it is reverting to be 'Karma Samui' again which seems a good idea as much of the Karma branding remains and currently gives the impression of having something of an identity crisis. Don't let that put you off though - it really is worth going because the quality of the villas, gardens, staff and service are simply outstanding. The atmosphere is beautifully calm and sometimes it's like being there alone, as the beach (rocky, not good sand) and the communal pool were always deserted. Special mention must go to Su at reception and also to Gavin the restaurant manager and his staff who went to great lengths to accommodate our daughters compulsory gluten-free diet, even producing a special gluten-free menu for them. All his waiters and waitresses were great too, especially Akey and Aod. At Rockpool (the restaurant) the menu is extensive and the food superb - we eat from the tapas menu one night and it was some of the best food we've ever had anywhere. The cocktails are equally good and the lower terrace/bar must be one of the best spots in Samui to enjoy a twilight mojito. Some of the villas don't have a view other than of the roofs of the villas in front and initially we were a bit disappointed with that. However we were offered a view villa after 2 days but declined it as the courtyard with pool,sala and sunbeds wasn't as nice as ours. If we needed a view we just went to the main pool (deserted, as mentioned). Breakfasts were lovely too, off the menu rather than buffet style, which was a great touch. You can get to Chaweng easily enough if you must but we thought it was awful and preferred instead to get a taxi to Fishermans Village (Bohput) in the evening, where there is a nice selection of shops, beach bars and restaurants. If you are after peace and quiet in a quality place then this is it. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CharlieBEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
1.2 mi away
Royal Muang Samui Villas
Royal Muang Samui Villas
#2 of 10 in Choeng Mon
821 reviews
2.8 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#30 of 185 in Bophut
940 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#6 of 104 in Chaweng
915 reviews
13.8 mi away
Conrad Koh Samui Residences
Conrad Koh Samui Residences
#4 of 7 in Taling Ngam
85 reviews
3.6 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanda Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanda Residences

Address: 80/32 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Karma Samui)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#40 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#43 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $238 - $1,098 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kanda Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally-located, elegant, ocean-facing, over-sized pool villa retreat. Five minutes from both Koh Samui International Airport and Chaweng Beach. Choose from One to Three bedroom villas with minimum size of 400 square metres. Grand living area, private swimming pool, outdoor terrace and Thai-style sala (pavilion).Home to "Rock Pool" the iconic beachfront restaurant. Asian Wellness Centre with certified Wat Po Thai Massage therapist, Reiki treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Prestigia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kanda Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karma Samui Hotel Koh Samui
Karma Samui Koh
Kanda Residences Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing