We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahhhhhhhhhhhhh!”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #13 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Ahhhhhhhhhhhhh!”
Reviewed May 26, 2007

Ahhhhh!,,,What can I say...We just arrived home from our trip to Thailand. We stayed in 4.5 star properties at both Patong and Khao Lak and whilst they were lovely they did not provide the intimate, relaxing atmosphere that we found at The Waterfront, Bophut Beach. From the personalised greeting, to the chance of getting a cocktail at 4am if we so needed it (not that we did!), we found the Waterfront to be the highlight of our trip. To wake to beach views from our bed, to have an excellent selection of good standard restaurants at our doorstep and freshly baked doughnuts at the pier market at 6:30am was fantatstic. I fell asleep in the hammock overlooking the calm blue-green waters of Bophut Beach and had a wonderful Thai massage.I would thoroughly recommend a stay here...Inexpensive, compared to some accomodation closeby and yet providing all that is needed to complete a relaxing and enjoyable holiday.

  • Liked — Intimacy
  • Disliked — bed
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank JudyW155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    129
    49
    24
    12
See reviews for
178
599
55
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2007

The perfect holiday to escape the stress and busy central London lifestyle. I have just returned from the Waterfront with two friends and will be on the phone to Robin soon to book up again. Robin, Sue, and the entire team are amongst the kindest and most friendly group of people you ever want to meet. Highly recommended are a massage from Na, a cocktail from Lekky, and staying up late at night putting the world to rights with with the usual suspects at the bar, including the infamous Banjon.
This combined with the air con rooms, the comfy poolside loungers, the beachside hammocks, and the hot sunshine really does make this a dream holiday.
Thoroughly enjoyed it, 3 weeks next time!!!

Luke

  • Liked — the air con, and the staff!!
  • Disliked — the occassional mosquito bite
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank skywalkerWestLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2007

Put simply people, this is a unusually good place to stay. I enjoyed a fantastic holiday, made all the more special by the people and atmosphere here. I don't want to repeat the other details you will read here on this site - the accommodation and facilities were great by the way - but it is the sense of care and attention paid to each and every visitor that makes this place something special. Well done and thank you to the proprieters Robin and Sue and to BanJong, Lekkie, Lamai, Na et al for being so consistently good at delivering what was an unforgettable holiday experience.

  • Liked — staff
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank si_browning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2007

My family and I stayed at the Waterfront over Christmas and New Year and couldn't have a better time. The accommodation is spotlessly clean and very comfortable, the staff were delightful, and the little touches that Robin and Sue have thought of (DVD players in every room, a decent book / DVD library, massages under the palms, and picking us up from the airport) - not to mention the great food, made it a truly wonderful holiday.

The location is perfect - the village of Bhoput with its various restaurants is only a short walk away, but once back at the Waterfront you're immediately surrounded by peace and quiet.

I would thoroughly recomend this to people of all ages and I can't wait to go back myself.

  • Liked — Fantastic setting
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank NorfolkSunSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
1.8 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#7 of 30 in Mae Nam
720 reviews
3.5 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
3.0 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
728 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 185 in Bophut
1,593 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#2 of 185 in Bophut
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Property: The Waterfront
Address: 71/2 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Bophut
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#14 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, small, select and peaceful, yet only steps away from excellent restaurants, bars and boutiques.All rooms are beachfront and the view of the sea and outlying islands is spectacular. Many guests extend their stay, recommend us to others or return themselves, often to meet other guests who have now become friends. Its like coming home, they say. Lots of little touches to make you feel welcome including free pick-up and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Bophut
The Waterfront Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing