We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a perfect week”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #17 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
birmingham
2 reviews
“a perfect week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2010

We had a fabulous week at the Waterfront. The family suite was spacious and perfect for us and our travelling son (21) , who we met up with at the hotel . The welcome was great and we were royally looked after by Robin and Sue and their lovely staff. Our son particularly appreciated the king size bed specially put in his room as he had spent the last couple of months in hostel dormatories. The restaurant food ( available all day) deserves special mention - it was as good as we had anywhere in Thailand and very reasonably priced, and the bar was a hospitable place to perch at any time for a chat and a drink or three. Great views from our room, lots of excellent restaurants on the doorstep . Altogether, a wonderful place to chill .

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirminghamCampbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    124
    48
    24
    12
See reviews for
172
584
54
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

I have just returned from The waterfront where My Husband and I, our friend and her 23 year son spent the last week of a three week tour of Thailand, all I can say is what an amazing place, and amazing people, Robin picked us up from the airport and showed us around the the village letting us know the best places to eat, from the first moment we arrived at the waterfront we knew it was paradise, Sue was there with gin and tonics for us girls and beers for the blokes whilst she went through the introduction of the hotel,then we were taken to our rooms which were a lot bigger than they look on the internet and very clean.
We felt like part of the family from day one, nothing was to much trouble for Robin and Sue or the staff, who always had a smile on their faces, a lot has been said about the size of the pool but it was fine for us as it is a small hotel it never got crowded, I have been to large hotels with huge pools and not be able to go in because it is to crowded, but there were never more than 2-3 people in it at a time.
All in all this has to be one of the most special, friendly and wonderful places I have ever stayed in, I have never been back to the same hotel twice, but I will be going back here as soon as possible.
Thankyou to Robin, Sue and all the staff for a great time.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJWhiteUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

This was the best and our favourite place we stayed during 3 weeks and visiting 4 areas of Thailand.
Upon arriving in Samui we were met at the airport by Robin who showed us around Bophut before we got to the hotel which was a great help. When we got to the hotel we were greeted by Sue with a welcome drink and she told us all about the hotel and how it runs.
Our first room, number 17, had everything you need and was very comfortable and this was our room for our first 3 nights out of 5 until we moved to room 18 for our last 2 nights. Room 18 by the way is magnificent and would strongly advise anyone to spend the little extra money to spoil themselves!
Breakfast is good with plenty of choices and the staff at The Waterfront are all wonderful.
During our stay my wife and i fell ill after a meal out at one of the restaurants in Bophut and Sue made sure we had plenty of essentials like toilet roll and water which was a great help.
I would advise people to make the most of drinks around the bar in the evening also as you meet some great people and get to know Robin and Sue aswell. My wife and i missed out on a few evenings doing this when we were struck ill and it's something we both regret although the rule of "the bar closes when the last person leaves" can be quite a dangerous one!! The friendliness and social side of The Waterfront is something you don't get from larger hotels and this is a major plus due to Robin and Sue's hands on approach to the running of the hotel. They also made a big effort in organising a floral display on our bed as it was our belated honeymoon during our Thailand trip which was an amazing surprise.
We loved the hotel so much that when we left to go to Koh Tao for 4 nights we missed it. At Koh Tao we worked out that we would have to go back to Samui a day earlier than expected to make sure we got our flight to Phuket 2 days later so, we went back to The Waterfront for 1 more night and it was like coming home.
All in all, a great hotel, great staff, great owners and great location.
Don't take any notice of the negative review a few weeks ago. Maybe some people don't like to speak, socialise or make an effort with other people when they're on their holidays.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deak75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

Well what can you say about The Waterfront! Just fantastic is our view and absolutely unique; from the moment you arrive you feel totally relaxed, chilled, happy and so well looked after.

From the great airport welcome from Robin, with tour of restaurants and bars (what other hotel could you go to in the world where the owner himself doesn’t just send one of his staff to pick you up from the airport but picks everyone up himself). Then to be welcomed by Sue on arriving at the hotel with general hotel info (welcome drink of your choice from the bar) and then being personally shown to our room by Sue, what a great start after a long days travelling. And things only got better.

Our room was the Honeymoon Suite (19) which was the only one they had available for the dates we had booked and what a great room it was. Spotlessly clean, very well presented with a lovely large sleeping/living area with large comfortable bed, LCD TV, Mini Bar (well priced, more later),a Safe and ample drawer and hanging space with plenty of coat hangers. The bathroom had a beautiful large double shower area with double sinks with good quality products e.g. soaps, shampoos, conditioners, cotton buds and even mouthwash (they seem to have thought of it all). The Suite also had a pretty, outdoor sitting area overlooking the sea and the tidal lagoon (not stagnant water as another reviewer put it) and we had no problems with bugs/mossies at all.

The sand on the beach isn’t powdery white, but we knew that before we went as it does mention it on the Waterfront website, I really wish others would do their research before booking hotels as things like the pool size and beach are readily mentioned on the site leaving no excuse to complain at a later date. Actually the pool was larger than we had anticipated.

The reception area has a very good library and DVD collection with either the The Telegraph or Bangkok Post to peruse and a private room with free internet access. Also a selection of fruit is always available in reception for anyone feeling a bit peckish during the day.

For us the social aspect of our holiday means an awful lot and once again the Waterfront excels with many guests meeting before and after going out for evening meals. Most evenings Robin and Sue would be there chatting to everyone and telling some very amusing tales. Robin and Sue really love what they do and really do go the extra mile to ensure that their guests are happy and have a wonderful holiday. The bar prices (same as the mini bar) are on a par with bars in the village outside so, unlike most hotels where people stay out due to inflated hotel bar prices, people can come back and enjoy getting to know each other without feeling they are being ripped off. Meeting Bill, a long time returning guest, was a real pleasure and we enjoyed his company on many occasions and can appreciate why he spends so much time there.

What really makes the Waterfront so special, in our opinion, is the genuine hospitality of Robin, Sue and the staff who all cannot do enough to make you feel so at home there, as soon as you arrive you feel like you are a part of the family.

The Waterfront is absolutely unique, and a real gem. We read all the reports before we went and it far exceeded our expectations and we will most certainly be going back again next year. Now we have been we find it hard to understand the occasional negative reports that some people have written but then some people are never happy with anything and some didn’t even sound as if they had stayed at The Waterfront.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keefw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

We have just got home from a 12 night stay at The Waterfront. We had such a wonderful time there, it exceeded all our expectations and is a real hidden gem and truly unique. We can't wait to go back again next year.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthwarkSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2010

Have left a review somewhere else - bit confused, must be age. Back from 3rd visit to the Waterfront and just as good as the 1st. Sue and Robin are great hosts, the staff are terrific and so happy always. Cookings food as good as ever and the other guests - well what can I say - all walks of life, from all over the world and usually extremely friendly - always somebody to have a drink with at the end of the day!!! Still very quiet at this end of the village (one vehicle about every 10 mins. I would say) and the choice of restaurants excellent. Unfortunately I had a nasty accident whilst on Samui and the next day a beautiful arrangement of flowers, roses, lillies, carnations, gladioli etc was delivered to our bungalow - you wouldn't get that in any other hotel particularly as the accident did not happen there - just shows the kind of people Sue and Robin are. Will we be going again YES YES and YES. Carol and John

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carbels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2010

After the last 6 years of globing staying in every Continent looking for the perfect winter retreat we came across The Waterfront Bophurt. We were so impressed by the vast majority of positive wonderful reviews of guests from all over the world that had stayed at The Waterfront, not taking any notice of the minority of negative sometimes scathing reviews as experiance has shown us some people just are'nt happy wherever they stay.
We decided to book 2 weeks and see if its reputation was justified.

In the months before we arrived we became avid readers of Sue's wonderful Blog. We quickly formed the opinion that both Robin and Sue cared deeply for the comfort and well being of their guests almost as if they were welcoming guests as old friends to there home.

The booking process went as smooth as silk and when we arrived at the airport there was Robin who is the Quintesential English Gentleman we expected him to be. He took us around the village pointing out good restaurants shops banks even the 7 11.
A really useful add on we thought.

We arrived in the beautiful manicured gardens and there was Sue as warm and welcoming and Charming as we expected we were greeted with cold towels and a drink of our choice. Sue told us all the information regarding The Village and personally showed our room insuring that all was of the high standard before leaving us to unpack.

We settled our bill when we having our welcome drink not a problem as 99.9% of the time we've always paid our Hotel bill at the time of booking so no problems there and the service charge was not a surprise either as we've had this included many times around the world. The difference being at The Waterfront the staff receive every Baht which can't be said in a lot of 5 star Hotels where it's not fairly given to the staff.

It was the most blissful 2 weeks we have spent ever all the boxes ticked.
No Hawkers bothering you while on the sunbeds.
Walk out of your room to walk a few yards to the beach which is swept regulary by The Waterfront maintenance man and sand not shingle.
The small lagoon at the end of room 19 is tidal so as someone who could be bitten in Alaska this was great no mosqitos there.
Wonderful breathtaking vista from the decking while you eat or have a sundowner.
Good Choice of breakfast and daytime menu
Level stroll 5 mins to take you to the Restaurants shops bars etc
Great bar selection Khun Lam Mai makes a superb Mai Tai
Wonderful Staff
Real warm friendly though not imposing ambiance of the whole hotel.

While we were there I celebrated a birthday I was greeted that morning with hugs a Happy Birthday from the staff and Cooking the lovely lady who does all the wonderful food presented me with red roses compliments of The Waterfront. Later that day when we returned to our room the maids had done the most wonderful floral display on the bed and more red roses in and around the room.
This is the policy of Sue and Robin they ensure you feel like a VIP and we did.

We are very happy to join the high percentage of returning guests to what we call our little Winter Oasis next January but will be going for longer.

A big SAWADEE KAH to Sue Robin and the wonderful staff at The Waterfront this time it will be like going to see old friends.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank devonemms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
1.8 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
3.1 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
1.1 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#48 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#3 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#5 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
1.3 mi away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#12 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Property: The Waterfront
Address: 71/2 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Bophut
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, small, select and peaceful, yet only steps away from excellent restaurants, bars and boutiques.All rooms are beachfront and the view of the sea and outlying islands is spectacular. Many guests extend their stay, recommend us to others or return themselves, often to meet other guests who have now become friends. Its like coming home, they say. Lots of little touches to make you feel welcome including free pick-up and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Bophut
The Waterfront Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing