We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Waterfront”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #13 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor Waterfront”
Reviewed June 2, 2009

On reading some of the more recent reviews namely 'chelseacasual' (is that a joke name or what)and the other one star review I can only surmise that the Waterfront is a victim of its own success and these reviews have somehow been posted by the opposition who are jealous of their success. How else can you explain remarks that bare no relation to any of the other reviews?

I have stayed at the Waterfront many times, despite being able to afford accomodation 3 times the price I preffer the homely atmosphere. Just to reiterate the staff are welcoming the food is great(Ihave the girth to show for it).

I feel sorry for the owners who when you meet them you will realise they bend over backwards to make your stay happy and comfortable. Perhaps some of the opposition should take a leaf out of thier book instead of posting malicous reviews on trip advisor? Maybe these bad reviews have been posted by disgruntled guests, but there description of The Waterfront is totally inacurate. These are hard times and I fear some resort to desperate measures.

The next time I am on Samui I will stay at The Waterefront because it is the best place to stay on samui. When I stay there I stay for 3 weeks at a time but I recieve no more or less attention than folks that stay there for 3 days. It's a great place to indulge yourself in whatever way you wish. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ARScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    128
    48
    24
    12
See reviews for
175
591
55
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, CA USA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2009

Our family just returned after a great stay at the Waterfront. We booked the family bungalow which was perfect for a family of four with two children. Michael was right there to pick us up at the airport and give us a quick drive thru of the local village of Bophut. Upon arrival Robin gave us a quick overview of the property and showed us to our room which was beautifully decorated. Nice landscaping on the grounds as well. It's a quiet location, away from the party scene, perfect for relaxing. The room includes a prepared breakfast which was fantastic. If you want some variation from the menu all you had to do was ask. The staff was quick to meet our every need. One day we decided to drive to a waterfall and asked about renting a car. How long will it take? Reply, they will be here in 5-10 min! They also can set up any tour you wish on the island and make recommendations on which tours the guests liked the best which is important because there are so many choices. The only minor drawback was the shallow reef in front of the hotel which precludes swimming in the sea. Although you can swim close by after a short walk down the beach. The pool is small, mainly for cooling off, but OK for the size of the property.

Stayed May 2009
Helpful?
5 Thank Surfin_Fanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2009

Like a lot of peole we normally don't return to places we've been before - except here ! We were here 2 years ago and when planning our honeymoon agreed that this was where we wanted to spend it and we are glad we did.
We stayed in the fantasic honeymoon suite that has a massive lounge, large bedroom and large bathroom with double showers. The honeymoon room is also fantastic with great views out of the picture window.
The hotel has everything you could want .. good rooms, great staff; swimming pool with plenty of comfortable chairs - and it is large enough to cool down in (you don't want to swim lengths on holiday do you); hammocks in the shade or loads of sunbeds on the beach; the food is fantastic - best Thai in town - Beef in oyster sauce was my favourite and the bar is great - we met some great people having early evening drinks in the bar .... and when we got back late at night ! You don't pay a premium for drinks and food like you do in the 5 star hotels.

Robin and the team do a great job in looking after you. They sorted out a car hire for us - it was great to see the rest of the island - but fantastic to be back to the waterfront at night ! Bophut is by far the best resort on the island - loads of great restaurants and a few good bars. Waterfront is in a good location to walk into town - and we think the best place to stay.

Whilst we were there there were 4 other guests that had been there before - that must be saying something ! We will definately be going back again and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tilesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2009

our second trip to Koh Samui and 2nd stay at water front. Staff is wonderful and late night chatting at the bar with other guests is nice as well. Their pool is always at a perfect temperature and hanging in the hammacks with a Singha can fill the day!!

The fact that i had to go home was the only bad thing about the place!!

Korp kun kah!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pamalamalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in april and was expecting something really good but when we got to the hotel, we was greeted by a pack of stray cats who wouldnt let us near the hotel, the hotel receptionist didnt try to help us so after going around the back we finaly managed to check in. The hotel looked dirty and unclean and the food was disgusting, we ordered what was ment to be shirmp in katsu satay but when the waiter bought it over it was cold. We asked for another one but the manager said we would still have to pay for it otherwise he would have us arrested! Our room was advertised at 'luxurious and spacious' with a king size bed, we in fact got a bunk bed in what was merely a storage cupboard. The matress was dirty and unclean and their was no hot water, there were cockroaches in te bathroom and the bath didnt have a plug, there was no shower so we had to mould a bar of soap into a plug. You were kept awake at night by the screams from outside, actualy quite scary. We were also woken up at 5am every morning by wild monkeys banging on the windows by climbing up the trees outside. There are a lot of travellers at this hotel and some of the partys can put you of, running around naked and such, we even saw plenty of used condoms in the stairwell. All in all, i had a disaster of a holiday and the staff who worked there were not sympathetic whatsoever.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ChelseaCasuals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2009

I stayed at the Waterfront with my husband in April. We booked it after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. This was our first visit to Thailand and we were unsure of what to expect. We spent the first part of our trip travelling around Bangkok and Chiang Mai and then moved to this hotel for some relaxation.

Relaxation was exactly what we got! To me it was an oasis of calm and beauty! I have read the reviews and agree it is not 5 star in as much as marble baths etc but then we didn't pay 5 star prices. The view from my balcony was 5 star by any standards! The service was excellent, very personal and much better than any 5 star hotel I have ever stayed in!

Large luxury complexes are not my cup of tea but this hotel is small friendly and personal. The whole hotel is beautifully serviced with a friendly team of staff who are very polite and nothing is too much trouble. The welcome you get when you arrive is great! The rooms are very comfortable and we had everything we needed. The air conditioning was effective and quiet and there was always hot water and a cold fridge! They even have honeymoon suites. The massages on the beach under a gazebo are wonderful for about £7 per hour!

There is also a friendly poolside bar in the hotel, where we enjoyed many a beer and cocktail and a food service all day until 6pm. The breakfast is freshly cooked to your choice and served on deck over the beach. The views are breathtaking.

The sea is not brilliant for swimming because of coral but the section of the beach outside the hotel is cleaned regularly by the staff. The pool is smallish but plenty big enough to cool off in, it has very comfy deck chairs, cold iced flannels brought by the staff which are very welcome and the most amazing views!!!

The village is just a gentle stroll down the road with lots of lovely restaurants. It doesn't have a wild nightlife but if a quiet cocktail and delicious meal at a reasonable price is your thing, this is the place for you. Many of the restaurants are on the beach and you can eat outside with fairy lights and candles and a wonderful view out to sea. Very romantic. We loved the food at the Thai restaurant on the main road. It had plastic tablecloths and chairs and no view but the food was outstanding and so cheap!

I rarely return anywhere on holiday because the world is such a big place but I have to say if I went back to Koh Samui I would definitely stay here again.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DIYTravellerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2009

We stayed here last October for two weeks, having read the reviews on tripadvisor. Booking was easy and stress free thanks to Robin. It was out first time in Thailand so we were unsure what to expect in terms of culture, food and general cleanliness.
Firstly, the airport was amazing, and we were collected by Michael and taken to the hotel. After a welcome drink we were shown to our bungalow which was clean, cool, but quite basic. This was fine though because for the price we weren't expecting 5 star luxury.
The location was okay, a short stroll into Bophut which has some great places to eat and drink. The only real thing that let the hotel down was the beach. I know it says on the website that the beach isn't great, but we often strolled along the beach only to find lots of dog mess, broken bottles, and dead fish of all things!! It could do with a bit of effort from someone to keep it clean. We spent most of our time around the pool which is small but does the job. The snacks and drinks are very good and not expensive at all. Breakfast was also good with a decent choice. For what we paid you couldn't really fault it.
We ate out at some great places, you must try The Shack which is great for steak, The Pier which is trendy Thai food, Villa Bianca was my fave, an amazing but expensive Italian. Avoid Shades though, the food was terrible!!!
We hired a car for a few days and went around the Island which is a must. There are some nice places to see.
For a bit of a change we ventured a bit further one night for food, we ate at The Rockys resort, quite plush, lovely food, but a bit out of the way on a main road. We also ate one night at the Anantara hotel which is at the end of the beach in Bophut. The food was beautiful, as was the hotel. Now this is what I would call luxury, but again a bit pricey. Well worth a visit though.
Finally, the staff at The Waterfront were really nice, generally. A couple of them could be a bit grumpy at times but I can live with that. I would return, but maybe just for a week as part of a two centre hol.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrecklesChops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
1.8 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
691 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
1,556 reviews
3.1 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#3 of 187 in Bophut
1,061 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#6 of 187 in Bophut
472 reviews
6.7 mi away
Code
Code
#2 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Property: The Waterfront
Address: 71/2 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Bophut
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, small, select and peaceful, yet only steps away from excellent restaurants, bars and boutiques.All rooms are beachfront and the view of the sea and outlying islands is spectacular. Many guests extend their stay, recommend us to others or return themselves, often to meet other guests who have now become friends. Its like coming home, they say. Lots of little touches to make you feel welcome including free pick-up and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Bophut
The Waterfront Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing