We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roll on next year for more of the Waterfront”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #16 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Roll on next year for more of the Waterfront”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Returned to this beautiful little Hotel for the 4th time in February My wife Maureen and had a wonderful 12 days, catching up with all the delightful people we have been lucky enough to meet over the last 4 years. Sue and Robin the friendly ever so attentive owners have a way of making every guest feel so special, with lovely flower arrangements for every return guest, created by their delightful staff. they are the happiest most pleasant people, always with a smile on their faces.
Now we have a new pool to enjoy and a lovely bar serving all kinds of delights, breakfast is delicious and 'Cooking's creative meals are always so special.Cannot wait until next February for more of the same.

Room Tip: We love no 3 with a beautiful view of the sea and Ko Phangan
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelMaryBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    124
    48
    24
    12
See reviews for
172
584
54
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

The Waterfront was just what we were looking for: Koh Samui at its best. The Waterfront is quiet, beautiful and very well run! A low-key resort feel without all the glitter and crowds and trance music! It's walking proximity to Fisherman's Village, beach dining and local flavor of Koh Samui is ideal. The staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast each day excellent. My husband, 15-year old daughter and I spent our last morning wondering how quickly we could return. Thanks for making our introduction to Koh Samui and Thailand so memorable!

Room Tip: We loved our second floor vista. Room 18 is great for a suite arrangement with family. Bungalow 7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We chose this hotel as it was close to the airport and how glad we are that we did. It is on the very edge of the Fishermans Village, a busy, vibrant place, full of interesting little shops and stalls, with a restaurant or bar every yard or so. We opted for a de lux room which was on the ground floor and overlooked the beautiful garden. The swimming pool with lovely, inviting sun beds, was close by and the deck overlooked the beach, also with sun loungers. The views were superb and we are beginning to wonder if anywhere in Thailand doesn't have good views! The staff were very friendly and Brian a congenial host. Breakfast was adequate and the kitchen stays open almost all day so you can order lunch or a snack. We had dinner every evening at The Hut directly across the road. Airport transfers are included in the price so we had no extra taxi fares to budget for.

Thanks to all the staff for making our final two days in Thailand so relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartandalison187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Booked this due to trip adviser reviews - not disappointed.
Travelling solo, the perfect place to stay. Relaxed, personal , friendly , great location - very safe. Hope to come back again. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rabbsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

In short, we love The Waterfront. Family friendly, with superb staff, a laid back atmosphere and all the thoughtful touches you really need; only enhanced by the kind of friendly service that makes such a difference to a holiday. Staying here means you really are in the best corner of Samui. As much as I'd love this to stay a hidden gem, the owners and staff deserve the recognition here. If you want reassurance, I've been around 10 times - on my own and with my wife and son - and on every occasion we've had the best holiday we could have wished for. Book it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but I recommend the honeymoon suite - or Room 19 - with beautiful picture wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon_Browning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Just returned from our stay of 3 weeks at The Waterfront have been 4 times in 5 years . Robin and Sue and all their lovely staff never fail to look after you. The new pool is a delight with room to swim and great chairs and umbrellas to rest in round the pool, or if you prefer plenty of beds on the beach. We have stayed in the bungalows each time we have been and have always been happy with the room it is kept spotless. The beach bar in the evening is a great place to catch up with other residents. This Hotel is not like other Hotels which are too large to be friendly quite the opposite in fact. Breakfast is always cooked fresh by" Cooking" the lovely lady in the kitchen. We are planning our next visit !!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller62_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Robin and Sue run an excellent boutique hotel, they have extended the swimming pool this year and added umbrellas, which now completes this fantastic hotel.
It is like our second home, we meet many other repeat visitors each time we go.
Around the outside bar at night, it is a an excellent spot, discussing many issues with other guests and friends.
I would like to mention 1 member of staff in particular, who is Or, who is very helpful and always has a smile

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jalibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
1.8 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
3.1 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
1.1 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#48 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#3 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#5 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.3 mi away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#12 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Property: The Waterfront
Address: 71/2 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Bophut
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, small, select and peaceful, yet only steps away from excellent restaurants, bars and boutiques.All rooms are beachfront and the view of the sea and outlying islands is spectacular. Many guests extend their stay, recommend us to others or return themselves, often to meet other guests who have now become friends. Its like coming home, they say. Lots of little touches to make you feel welcome including free pick-up and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Bophut
The Waterfront Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing