We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warren T - "Superb!"”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #18 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2014

From the minute we arrived, we felt like part of the family! Small hotel, clean, good location on the beach and for strolling through Fisherman's Village and night market. Friendly service from all the staff - efficient and always willing to help. Lovely pool to relax at, good breakfast, lovely sea view, very comfortable rooms and great value! Owners - Robin & Sue very friendly and always available to assist.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,002)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great location, right on the beach and next to Fisherman's Village. Not possible to swim in the sea right in front of the hotel due to rocks, but there is a nice swimming pool. Staff very hospitable, clearly a family run business. The room was clean, air-conditioned with a view of the sea. Good breakfast.

This is not a luxurious hotel, but good value for Koh Samui and perfectly OK for a few days relaxing on the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillyGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Excellent location, walking distance to shops, restaurants, bars, cafés. Absolute beachfront and private pool. Rooms clean and comfortable. Staff very friendly, knew us by name. We felt like we were the only people there! Poolside bar only closes when the last guest goes to bed. The variety of food available caters for everyone's taste, and is delicious. Highly recommend the Thai Omelette for breakfast. We will be coming back again very soon and it will be a regular holiday destination for us. Thanks Robin & Sue and all your fantastic staff!
M&H, Australia

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankjaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed here at the end of October for 6 nights and it was a perfect choice. The hotel is right on the beach in the lovely Fisherman's Village of Bo Phut. We were lucky enough to be staying on a Friday night when the weekly night market is on which was a bonus but there are plenty of bars and restaurants in the village anyway. This hotel is a true gem and I just felt that the owners really cared for the hotel, staff and guests.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is one of those places to unwind. So much of Koh Samui is being overwhelmed by uber resorts, The Waterfront takes a different route. Family owned and run by Robin and Sue, with a super helpful Thai team many of whom have been at this establishment for 10 years or more. A stroll through Fishermans Village provide a plethora of restaurants to choose from as well.
It was quite whilst we were there, the whole island was, but being lucky with the weather combines with The Waterfront's marvellous hospitality made a stay feel far too short. Great value too!
Oh nearly forgot to mention they've just installed a natural salt water swimming pool.

Room Tip: Splurge on the honeymoon suite by the beach, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivendaesomnium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at the Waterfront in May and booked one of the beachfront bungalows. Absolutely perfect size with bed, air con and en-suite, what more do you need?!

We are used to doing self-catering so was a luxury for us to have breakfast provided and we had the pool more or less to ourselves due to it being low season.

Perhaps a little above our budget but hey, this is the south of Thailand! Great location in Bophut which is a lovely little village and The Waterfront is the perfect place to relax.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carriemybags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our booked 15 night accommodation in the Waterfront family bungalow was cancelled by the resort management just ONE week before we were due to arrive for our holiday. Alternatives offered near to the Waterfront were nowhere near commensurate with our booked accommodation and it was stated that the resort facilities would be minimal. Our holiday expectations were in tatters. The cancellation was due to construction work on a new swimming pool being brought forward to be ready in time for the Christmas intake. With our flights already booked and paid for we had to quickly search for another hotel. Luckily, we know the area of Bophut and managed to find superb and superior alternative accommodation in the Hansar Samui Resort complete with a fabulous sea view balcony. As returning clients to the Waterfront we felt totally let down and were just presented with a fait acccompli by the resort management.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
16  Thank lenzgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WordsKohSamui, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

We are very sorry and disappointed that the reviewers and previous guests felt so strongly about our unavoidable situation.As we explained our contractors here changed the contract date and as happens here quite often we were told to accept it or forget it.We couldn't risk our peak season trade being disrupted so reluctantly we immediately contacted all our bookings.Offering similar rooms 200 metres away,free cancellation or help with alternative hotels in Bophut.We still offered free airport transfer and Breakfast here if required. We also knew at this time of the year that alternative accommadation would be quite easy as our reviewer found out. We are very pleased they were very satisfied with their alternative hotel.
Most other guests were very understanding and satisfied with the arrangements we made.In fact 2 guests who have stayed 6 times before had breakfast every day and said they were pleased for us as they watched the new pool being built.Actually we have been blessed with good weather and the pool is 95% completed so from a business decision we feel vindicated.
We are very sorry that these previous felt so strongly and added this review.
As hoteliers we don't wish to make problems for our guests as it would be make no sense.Obviously it was expensive for ourselves with lost revenue and costruction but the timing was unavoidable.

Robin Worden
Co-director
The Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
6.5 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
740 reviews
9.6 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#10 of 62 in Maret
1,671 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Privilege Hotel Ezra Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui
0.8 mi away
Peace Resort
Peace Resort
#34 of 185 in Bophut
1,640 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#2 of 185 in Bophut
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Address: 71/2 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bophut
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#16 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $70 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, small, select and peaceful, yet only steps away from excellent restaurants, bars and boutiques.All rooms are beachfront and the view of the sea and outlying islands is spectacular. Many guests extend their stay, recommend us to others or return themselves, often to meet other guests who have now become friends. Its like coming home, they say. Lots of little touches to make you feel welcome including free pick-up and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Bophut
The Waterfront Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing