We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and perfect”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #19 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful and perfect”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed there for 2 weeks in September( 8 days, left for a week in kho pangan and came back for 5 more days), and I don't have words enough to describe how much we enjoyed every minute and aspect of our stay.
Everyone has been so helpful and nice since we booked until we left, making us feel welcomed and at home straight away. The staff were really nice with our children, helping us arrange activities, accepting and understanding strange and childish food preferences, letting them play happily in the pool.
The food is absolutely Lovely, everything you can ask for, I have to say I was really surprised how one cook can master so many cooking all by herself so well.
As other people wrote the rooms are basic but nice, the beach is not the best in Thailand, and there is not enough closet space, but for us non of it mattered one bit, we loved being there and just can't wait to get back :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookie_san_5114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    129
    49
    24
    12
See reviews for
176
596
55
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I visited this hotel in september with my partner. Who had been here twice before. He always spoke about gong back to the waterfront as he really enjoyed his time here before, he spoke highly of the hotel, staff and location.

The whole experience of koh samui was just outstanding it beat all my expectations that i had. The location of the hotel is perfect (walking distance to the viallage) the hotel is on the beach, the staff at the waterfront were so friendly and went out their way to help us, i really enjoyed our evenings of sitting by the bar and talking to the bar staff and robin and sue. There really is nothing to fault.

We enjoyed our time so much they we will be going back to the waterfront again next year.....anyone that is considering visiting koh samui i would encourage you to and i would highly recommend staying at the waterfront.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traceyb1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We wandered into The Waterfront with a view to stay for a few nights. We are an over 50 couple and were with my adult daughter and her partner. The greeting we received ( I presume it was Sue) was as if we were very unwelcome intruders. We felt so awkward being followed around the grounds that we made a hasty exit. Clearly we can't comment on the accommodations or the food but if this is how management treat their guests then I am very surprised with all the fantastic reviews. We did see the pool and the grounds which were not inspiring and the beach at this end of the village is a bit rocky and grey but pleasant enough. Location is quite good

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Gemgem50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WordsKohSamui, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Well this won't be long.What do you say to a reviewer who walks in for 10 minutes and then blasts you with a 1 rating 6 months later.My first reaction is thank god he didn't stay but still Ta lets him hit us with a 1. We never follow guests arond and my wife Sue was in UK all June!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed for 9 nights at the Waterfront in November in a Deluxe bungalow. Some good things and some which could use some improvement, good things first. Complimentary Airport pickup and drop off is included, nice touch. The rooms are clean. The location is quiet. Food is good though we had a few issues with breakfast (see below) and drinks are a reasonable price. The staff are friendly but not as helpful as staff we've experienced at the Anantara or the Mantra where we've stayed before.

So now the not so good - sorry Waterfront. The rooms although clean are basic and the walls are very thin so coughing, talking, television noise etc is a real problem when you're trying to get to sleep, as is the very noisy and old air-conditioning unit in the room. There is very little drawer space to put clothes so don't take much clothes with you! The bed was very hard but if you like a firm mattress you'd be OK.

As mentioned in lots of other reviews the beach is not the best and the sunbeds on the beach are showing their age - there is also no sun-shades available either on the beach or by the pool so you have to drag your sunbed into what shade there is on the beach if you need a respite from the sun.

Breakfast is basic with three types of cereal, fruit and then a choice of eggs x2, sausage x1, bacon x1, or croisants, or pancakes etc, but if you wanted pancakes and eggs you would dip out. My husband asked to have 2 sausages and 2x bacon as we were going out for the day and wanted a good breakfast to start off the day with. We were told the only way he could have this if I did not have a breakfast and gave my sausages and bacon away to him! A bit petty we thought.

Quite a few stray dogs and cats around, nothing the Waterfront can do on this one but it's just a warning if you have young children.

All in all we enjoyed our stay as Fisherman's village is a great place with lovely beach-front restaurants, but I wouldn't stay at the Waterfront again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pam186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Waterfront from 07-11th November 2012. We wanted a peaceful relaxing place to meet our friends who are on an around the world trip. The waterfront was great, the facilities met all our needs, fabulous breakfast, double sun loungers and late night amarettos at the pool bar :) Our friends really enjoyed the chance to get their laundry done, relax and enjoy the facilities ( getting manicures for example) All the staff were so kind and attentive. On Friday there is the 'walking street' just outside the hotel with stalls selling clothes and souvenirs. The Waterfront is perfectly placed, easy to walk into the village. We had a wonderful time and I highly recommend this small family run hotel where nothing is too much trouble. In regard to the previous post concerning security we had absolutely no problems at all

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel is tucked away in a quiet location away from the noise and hustle. Great opportunity to just relax in lovely garden surroundings and it's literally right on the beach. Very easy stroll to range of good restaurants/small gift shops/bars. Rooms are fairly basic but spotlessly clean and bathroom could perhaps do with a bit of a makeover/update. Good aircon unit which is a must. It was so lovely to wake up in the morning, wander through the garden and down to the waters edge. Staff were lovely - a real homely atmosphere and nothing was too much trouble. Airport pick up much appreciated. Breakfast good. Small pool very welcome after a long day swinging in the hammock on the beach! Definitely going back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanghai333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

My wife and have visited The Waterfront on three separate occasions and ALL the Thai staff are as friendly a bunch as you could wish to meet. The staff at the Waterfront are looked after really well by the management and most have been there since day one so their loyalty is beyond question. I would agree with Robin on this last comment that it is not a case of a security breach as stated, and people should be very certain and careful of the circumstances before going public and misleading people.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cycleperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
1.8 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
711 reviews
3.5 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
3.1 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,782 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#2 of 186 in Bophut
1,077 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#6 of 186 in Bophut
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Property: The Waterfront
Address: 71/2 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Bophut
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, small, select and peaceful, yet only steps away from excellent restaurants, bars and boutiques.All rooms are beachfront and the view of the sea and outlying islands is spectacular. Many guests extend their stay, recommend us to others or return themselves, often to meet other guests who have now become friends. Its like coming home, they say. Lots of little touches to make you feel welcome including free pick-up and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Bophut
The Waterfront Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing