We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3* accommodation near to Fishermans village, Bophut”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #17 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed for 9 nights at the Waterfront in November in a Deluxe bungalow. Some good things and some which could use some improvement, good things first. Complimentary Airport pickup and drop off is included, nice touch. The rooms are clean. The location is quiet. Food is good though we had a few issues with breakfast (see below) and drinks are a reasonable price. The staff are friendly but not as helpful as staff we've experienced at the Anantara or the Mantra where we've stayed before.

So now the not so good - sorry Waterfront. The rooms although clean are basic and the walls are very thin so coughing, talking, television noise etc is a real problem when you're trying to get to sleep, as is the very noisy and old air-conditioning unit in the room. There is very little drawer space to put clothes so don't take much clothes with you! The bed was very hard but if you like a firm mattress you'd be OK.

As mentioned in lots of other reviews the beach is not the best and the sunbeds on the beach are showing their age - there is also no sun-shades available either on the beach or by the pool so you have to drag your sunbed into what shade there is on the beach if you need a respite from the sun.

Breakfast is basic with three types of cereal, fruit and then a choice of eggs x2, sausage x1, bacon x1, or croisants, or pancakes etc, but if you wanted pancakes and eggs you would dip out. My husband asked to have 2 sausages and 2x bacon as we were going out for the day and wanted a good breakfast to start off the day with. We were told the only way he could have this if I did not have a breakfast and gave my sausages and bacon away to him! A bit petty we thought.

Quite a few stray dogs and cats around, nothing the Waterfront can do on this one but it's just a warning if you have young children.

All in all we enjoyed our stay as Fisherman's village is a great place with lovely beach-front restaurants, but I wouldn't stay at the Waterfront again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pam186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (994)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 994 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Waterfront from 07-11th November 2012. We wanted a peaceful relaxing place to meet our friends who are on an around the world trip. The waterfront was great, the facilities met all our needs, fabulous breakfast, double sun loungers and late night amarettos at the pool bar :) Our friends really enjoyed the chance to get their laundry done, relax and enjoy the facilities ( getting manicures for example) All the staff were so kind and attentive. On Friday there is the 'walking street' just outside the hotel with stalls selling clothes and souvenirs. The Waterfront is perfectly placed, easy to walk into the village. We had a wonderful time and I highly recommend this small family run hotel where nothing is too much trouble. In regard to the previous post concerning security we had absolutely no problems at all

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel is tucked away in a quiet location away from the noise and hustle. Great opportunity to just relax in lovely garden surroundings and it's literally right on the beach. Very easy stroll to range of good restaurants/small gift shops/bars. Rooms are fairly basic but spotlessly clean and bathroom could perhaps do with a bit of a makeover/update. Good aircon unit which is a must. It was so lovely to wake up in the morning, wander through the garden and down to the waters edge. Staff were lovely - a real homely atmosphere and nothing was too much trouble. Airport pick up much appreciated. Breakfast good. Small pool very welcome after a long day swinging in the hammock on the beach! Definitely going back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanghai333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and have visited The Waterfront on three separate occasions and ALL the Thai staff are as friendly a bunch as you could wish to meet. The staff at the Waterfront are looked after really well by the management and most have been there since day one so their loyalty is beyond question. I would agree with Robin on this last comment that it is not a case of a security breach as stated, and people should be very certain and careful of the circumstances before going public and misleading people.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Cycleperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice clean room & friendly staff but serious security concerns need to be highlighted as BHT5,000 went missing from room safety deposit box during 2h away. Clearly one of staff as would have taken the rest otherwise.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Johnny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WordsKohSamui, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

We were most upset to receive this review as in 9 years we have never had this experience.We have had other reports which were dealt with immediately which I will mention later.This is my account of the day;
1) The guest booked 2 nights only the day before and it was kind of messy as he gave us a c/c number but later he decided to pay cash but we had charged the card.
2) When our son Michael was coming to the hotel the guest asked unusually where he could buy beers at a 7-11.
3) After checking in the guest had a problem with his safe which one of our girls rectified with our master keys which were then returned to my safe in the office where I regularly keep amounts of up to250000 baht and there has never been 1 baht missing.
4) As the guest reported he went out for 2 hours and I was in the office during all that time.I actually left the office as he returned as we crossed on the path.He was carrying quite a big bag of canned beers.Within 15 minutes I received a call alledging that 5000 baht was missing from his safe and that he held our staff responsible.The girl in question has worked here for 8 years without problem and is marrying a British lawyer next year so why and how could she have done this.The keys were in our safe and I was here all the time.I pointed this out to the guest.He said there maybe other ways to get in the safe.Well the only time when all the keys were lost for one customer we had to drill the safe open!
5) Repeatedly the guest insisted I am Finnish and we don't lie.Also he said that don't worry I won't put a review on TA but as you see from the above this was far from the truth!
6) I found it rather strange that the guest decide to check his money so soon after arrival appox 3 hours and of course he was adamant on the amount and he said he had a feeling,strage I thought.
7) The guest was quite adamant, as you see above,that he couldn't make a mistake.We most certainly feel otherwise and to make these serious allegations we find very distasteful and a slur on a staff member of 8 years standing.She is most distessed at the allegation.

To state the obvious we totally refute the guests comments.

We had a similar situation a few years ago when Canadian guests made very similar accusations and again were adamant.they even cancelled their c/c's.They were certain our staff had stolen and it was a very nasty atomesphere.However an hour later thay found all their money locked in their suitcase and also the cancelled credit cards.

We hope that TA will see the facts and hopefully remove the review.

Robin Worden
Co-Owner
The Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

we stayed at the waterfront for two weeks in September, and from begining to end it was one of the most chilled out holidays we've had.
The owners Robin and Sue along with their son Michael and the staff were just wonderful.
Robin and Sue have an excellent rapport with their staff which makes the Waterfront a very friendly, welcoming hotel!!
The hotel rooms and grounds are spotlessly clean and tidy,the breakfast fantastic[I highly recommend the pancakes!!]
The hotel is situated about a three to five minute walk to fishermans village, just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the nightlife, but not too far to find one of the many amazing resturants to eat in.
I would not hesitate to recomend this hotel to anyone.
Thank you Robin,Sue,Michael and staff for making our holiday a pleasure and hopefully see you guys next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricnjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We must first thank Robin and Sue and Michael for making our stay so wonderful our room was spotless and it is the personal touch that Sue does so well that make the holiday, breakfast overlooking the sea cooked and presented well by Cookie. All the staff were so accomadating. It was so relaxing and being a small hotel the evenings were often taken by the outside bar talking to other residents The only minus side is the pool size very small and we found to many childrens toys for the pool I am sure lidos and balls in the pool could be stopped, other than that we would recommend this hotel to all our friends.

Room Tip: All rooms are well provided
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
6.5 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#6 of 51 in Lamai Beach
718 reviews
3.5 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui
9.6 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#11 of 63 in Maret
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 51 in Lamai Beach
426 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#1 of 51 in Lamai Beach
319 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#2 of 185 in Bophut
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Address: 71/2 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Bophut
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $60 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, small, select and peaceful, yet only steps away from excellent restaurants, bars and boutiques.All rooms are beachfront and the view of the sea and outlying islands is spectacular. Many guests extend their stay, recommend us to others or return themselves, often to meet other guests who have now become friends. Its like coming home, they say. Lots of little touches to make you feel welcome including free pick-up and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Bophut
The Waterfront Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing