We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven of peace and hospitality”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #20 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I chose the Waterfront (thanks to Trip Advisor) when I found out that the hotel I had booked in Koh Samui was not suitable for me due to its noisy location and the layout of its rooms. A little research got me down the road on my scooter to check out the Waterfront - and within a few minutes I had shaken hands with Robin and he arranged for Michael to pick my gear up a little later when I had sorted it out and then I would come up on my scooter.

The Waterfront is down the end of the interesting Fisherman's Village in Bophut - a long strip of restaurants, shops, bars and other amenities - but it is away from any noisy location and I found the peace and quiet I needed. The room I chose was one of the bungalow type rooms at the back of the property - clean, tastefully furnished and with all amenities. Shower room and toilet at the back - no hot water to washbasin - this is very typical of nearly all hotels in Koh Samui. Electric shower - again this is common - but it would be nice to stay in a hotel this trip with a powerful hot shower! Sleep quality was excellent - no complaints.

Other reviewers have commented on the friendly and gracious welcome by the owners - Robin and Sue - Robin I met on my reconnaissance trip - and Sue greeted me and two other guests when I checked in a little later. I felt a little dishevelled and scruffy having hopped up the dusty road on my scooter - whereas Sue was elegant and immaculately dressed! Her welcome was warm and thorough.

This is a small family run hotel - and many of the guests at this time of year were young couples with toddlers. There is a small pool near the outside bar area which was popular with the young families. The noise of children playing round the pool by day does not bother me and they were in bed early in any case.

The hotel (as its name suggests) is right by the beach - with lovely views across the bay - and there are sun loungers and shade can be found underneath coconut palms if the sun gets y hot. You have to walk a little way (not far) to swim in the sea - this is the Gulf of Thailand not the clear waters of the Andaman Sea - but I found the water quality wasn't bad.

Breakfast was served to order - and supplied by "Cooking" the chief lady cook and a jolly soul - and was fine. Food was available through the day but not after 6:30 pm. This is not an issue as there are so many places to eat on the road at the back of the hotel. The bar stays open as long as anyone wishes to sit there - but was fairly quiet when I was there - popular at sunset and maybe for a nightcap - where you can chat to other guests if you want to.

WiFi - was free and the connection round by the main reception area was good - but a bit hit and miss in my room. This is a common problem - and of course the speed of the connection depends on the number of users - and with most people these days travelling with laptops I pads and the like - if they all decide to go on line - then there is limited bandwidth. Just an inevitable annoyance.

Travel and tour arrangements are all easily done through the front desk - and there is a local affordable laundry collection and delivery service which was really appreciated - as quite often hotel laundry prices are silly.

The downside for me was that it was more expensive than the hotel I had to vacate - still value for what I got I thought and affordable at low season prices. If it had been high season I think I would have had to think twice. Koh Samui is not cheap compared to Chiang Mai, but on a par with Phuket and Bangkok - for some things a bit more expensive than Bangkok.

I felt like a welcome guest so I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms are suitable for couples - others for families - you can see quite easily from the websit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (994)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 994 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hotel is located in bophut, which is a fisherman's village. The place is quiet and there are great resturants nearby. The hotel owners and staff are very very nice! The rooms are great.
I highly reccomend!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sigal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

As soon as we arrived at the waterfront we were made to feel welcome by Robin. We were given a welcome drink and shown to our upgraded room.
We stayed here for 5 nights and couldn't fault the hotel or the staff. The rooms were spotless and the staff couldn't do enough for you.
The views from the hotel are amazing and you can walk straight out of the hotel on to the beach on one side and the road with restaurants and bars on the other side. It couldn't be in a better location.
The pool is quite small but there are only a few rooms so it never felt like it was too busy.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katebratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This place really was amazing! We stayed here - January 2011 initially for a few days however we ended up staying 10 days as the hospitality was out of this world.
Robin and Sue are great hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them - happy to help where they can and always recommeding things for us to do.
Staff are great too - always very chatty and helpful.
Rooms are lovely and way beyond what I expected - so comfortable and lots of home comforts too.
We're heading back to Thailand this Christmas and New Year and will definitely stay in the Waterfront.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diva_traveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We've just returned from a very relaxing holiday in Thailand. The Waterfront is, as many reviewers have already testified, a real 'home from home'; nothing is too much trouble.

If you're not enamoured of 5 star corporate hotels and, like us, prefer a friendly, small establishment, set in a truly magical setting, The Waterfront is well worth a visit.

We will undoubtedly return!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

After spending time in Bangkok and Chiang Mai it was a pleasant surprise to find The Waterfront, a wonderful friendly oasis of calm. Sue, Robin and Michael are excellent hosts and always sat round the pool bar for a chat in the evenings, making all the guests very welcome. The location is just on the edge of the Fisherman's Village so quieter than most areas and near enough to visit the many shops and restaurants in the village. The staff are all friendly and nothing was too much trouble, the rooms were always clean and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and having visited a 5* "resort" for a wedding whilst there, we know which we would rather return to. If we were to return to Thailand we would try to stay at The Waterfront, if it is not full by all the glowing reviews it will get!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephenslimbean1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This was our first visit to Koh Samui and we're so pleased we found The Waterfront. My husband and I were met by Michael at the airport on our arrival and he gave us a tour of Bophut which was good, and on arrival at the hotel Sue was there to do the welcome meeting. We were given cold facecloths and a drink on arrival which was lovely and a nice touch, now onto the hotel itself! it's a little gem, small and friendly with a great feel and atmosphere about it and you aren't just a hotel room number as Sue takes the time to talk to all of her guests and this makes it more personable, and along with Robin she always joined the guests at the pool bar each evening for a chat, with Robin giving his daily updates on how many medals the UK had won in the Olympics!!. The staff are all very helpful and I can't fault this hotel or the service we received and I understand why they get a lot of returning guests, including myself who has already booked for Easter next year and were taking our children and in-laws as well. I would highly recommend a visit to this hotel as you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAMSTERLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
6.5 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
723 reviews
3.5 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui
9.6 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#11 of 63 in Maret
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 51 in Lamai Beach
428 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#1 of 51 in Lamai Beach
319 reviews
0.8 mi away
Peace Resort
Peace Resort
#35 of 185 in Bophut
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Address: 71/2 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Bophut
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $61 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, small, select and peaceful, yet only steps away from excellent restaurants, bars and boutiques.All rooms are beachfront and the view of the sea and outlying islands is spectacular. Many guests extend their stay, recommend us to others or return themselves, often to meet other guests who have now become friends. Its like coming home, they say. Lots of little touches to make you feel welcome including free pick-up and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Bophut
The Waterfront Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing