We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,070)
Filter reviews
1,070 results
Traveler rating
835
141
53
27
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
835
141
53
27
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrobin suefisherman's villageother guestskoh samuiexcellent hostsfamily bungalowquiet endhoneymoon suitewelcome drinkhome from homerestaurants and barsthai staffwalking marketsmall hotelbo phutshort strollbophut beach
Filter
Updating list...
507 - 512 of 1,070 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We have stayed here twice and each time met some great people. Robin and Sue (the owners) look after the guests well and even transport you to and from the airport FOC when possible. If there son Michael drives it will be a white knuckle ride, be warned. The small pool and bar next to it are great for meeting people during the day or when you return from a walk round Fishermans Village in the evening. The one downside is the conversation will be totally about football if there son Michael is there. Because there are only about 18 rooms around the gardens it is quite intimate. We have been fortunate to have met some really nice people on both occasions and not met anyone with badly behaved screaming children yet, but it is a small family friendly place, so you take your chances. Although you cannot really swim in the sea by the hotel you can further up. I have attached some photos of the beach in front of the Waterfront Hotel taken from the Beachfront Apartments further along in Fishermans Village which I would also recommend.There are some lovely places to eat and drink if you walk along the beach or through the town (which is easier). The Waterfront staff are all very friendly apart from one who has an attitude when Robin or Sue are not around. Fishermans Village is the best place to stay on the island if you want to avoid noisy nightlife but enjoy eating and drinking. Although there are some Brit style bars with big screen TV showing never ending football, there are also some nice tasteful bars and great restaurants for people who have a life. If you are booking any boat trips it is cheaper to book them in the town than at the hotel.
If you want a relaxing, small friendly hotel in a great location you must try the Waterfront.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teefer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We are just back after spending 29 days at the Waterfront for the fifth time (and me who's mantra was why go to the same place? explore somewhere new) where everything was excellent once again.It would be really hard to find any fault here, and even if you could I'm sure it would be corrected in record time.Staff are friendly and helpful with nothing it would seem too much trouble for them.Other guests rub along well, swopping travel stories and comparing where to eat, this is very useful as there are such a huge array of restaurants in the charming village starting only some 10 yards away from the Waterfront , believe me it really is a hard choice with so much variety and in 29 days we still didn’t try them all. The owners Sue And Robin with their son Michael are on hand to help out with anything you need and really could not be more helpful or entertaining, be sure to ask Robin about his favourite football team Ipswich but just don’t ask him about cricket he can’t stand it.
From our morning swim and a great breakfast with the Daily Telegraph to last drinks at the bar before bed everything could not have been better, so once again thank you for a great time.
Steve & Jean

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chefsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

As in their blogs. it is layed back but with old fashion owner imputs and attention. So well looked after, rooms so clean, staff so helpful even complimentary cold towels and pineapple kebabs brought to you on the beach whilst sunbathing. That's a holiday. Del Grant

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We have just returned from our second holiday at The Waterfront and yet again it was fantastic.. Robin, Sue, Michael and all the staff go out of their way to make sure your stay is everything you could wish for... I can not put into words exactly how wonderful The Waterfront is but just to say we will be back again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suz-W69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Having survived a very stressful year I did wonder why I had agreed to spend over twelve hours confined to a plane. However, arrival at The Waterfront put everything into perspective.

Located at the end of Fisherman’s Village (a bustling collection of Thai shops, traditional bars and restaurants offering every conceivable cuisine) the hotel is a tranquil haven offering a breathtaking view of distant islands and the Gulf of Thailand.

The Waterfront is a small, family-run hotel. The owners, Sue and Robin, are friendly, incredibly helpful (nothing is too much trouble) but totally unobtrusive. Their staff are wonderful. The rooms offer every comfort and are spotlessly clean. The breakfast, bacon baguettes are to die for.

If you are looking for a 5 star corporate hotel this is probably not the place for you but if you would like to experience a truly magical holiday, made special by both the location and the people, a visit to The Waterfront would be well worth your while.

We are determined to return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews