We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Rooms And Good Serivce”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #19 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Sunny Bournemouth UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable Rooms And Good Serivce”
Reviewed November 18, 2007

My Girlfriend and I stayed at the waterfront for 3 nights at the begining of october. We were met at the airport by Robin the owner and given a tour of the village before arriving at The Waterfront for our complimentary drink.
The bungalows and communal areas are all uptogether and the setting was lovely. We enjoyed the pool which although small was ideal to cool off in. The breakfast was good and cooked fresh and was the only place we stayed that had proper tea and coffee.
The bungalows were well cleaned and had everything we needed including a fan as well as air con which was nice. The rooms were a little smaller than everywhere else we stayed in Thailand but not so small as to cause a problem.
Bophut is the best place we visited in Thailand, Simply excellent in every pespect.
The service proveded by everyone at The Waterfront was second to none!

A big thanks to Robin and Sue

From

Robin and Sandeep

  • Liked — The Service
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roberdobdobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    124
    48
    24
    12
See reviews for
172
583
54
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2007

I will be returning here as soon as I can and there can be no better recommendation than that!

  • Liked — Friendly
  • Disliked — Thin walls
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank George17England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittlesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2007

It is difficult to add any more praise, to what has already been written. Robin, Sue, Michael and all the staff, were very attentive, personal, and accomodating in every respect. The Waterfront is good value, clean, and homely. We are well travelled and would recommend without hestitation the Waterfont. For a relaxing holiday, Bo Phut is an ideal resort, without the noise and glitz of some other resorts. The 14 days we stayed gave us plenty of choice for either local cheap food, or a more Euro-Thai menu. The service and quality was excellent throughout. Thank you to all the Staff at the Waterfront - you deserve your No.1 position.

  • Liked — Good Value, very clean & Tidy
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyGerstner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koblenz, Rhineland
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2007

Uh, its a very nice place to stay, small, relaxed, free internet computer in the lounge, good breakfast, and if you like to have a croissant or bread, just walk about 100 meters and there is a french bakery. Small pool to relax with a bar, but thank god no or not loud music. Beach not so nice to swim, but the place itself is first class. If you like to have nightlife or day fun at the beach, its easy and not expensive to travel by taxi, but if you come home, its just perfect, even with children.
The staff is very caring about the guests, ant the room is cleaned every day.
We will come back, we promise!

  • Liked — service, pick up from airport, silence, relaxed place
  • Disliked — smell from toilets, electricity breakdown, beach
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank monaxachim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2007

It is a great place to stay in Koh Samui. Bungalows are very clean and well placed. the staff is very british in a good way and the ambiance is like a familly mansion. They are free books and DVD if the weather is not fine and a free internet access. The bohput village is not far from Chaweng but far enough to be calm. A very good place for the money you spent.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank david1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2007

There's not much I can add that hasn't already been said many times, but we had a great stay at the Waterfront. Robin and Sue were gracious hosts from the moment they collected us at the airport. Robin even confirmed the status of our return flight for us. The room was clean and pretty and the staff, including Honey the dog, were very friendly.
The view across the sea to Koh Phangan was beautiful and ever-changing, with a few spectacular but brief downpours rolling in at this time of year. Air and sea temperatures were very pleasant but remember your suncream, because you can get lobstered pretty quickly out of the shade.
Bophut village offered a surprisingly wide variety of restaurants, a few with french or italian influences and good seafood to be found. Our best finds were on the road leading back out of the village, with very cheap but tasty thai food at the Malee and some cracking salads and homemade pasta served by the jolly frenchman at Le Provencale.
All in all a great place for us to spend a few relaxing days on the way back from Australia.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sir_Osis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2007

We have stayed in Koh Samui twice before in Chaweng but never again now we have discovered the Waterfront.

Loved it from the moment we were picked up from the airport.The Waterfront has a great location at one end of the fishing village Bophut with loads of great restaurants and stylish bars withing walking 5 minutes walk. That said we lunched at the the hotel most days - great thai and western food and a lovel little poolside bar that we always ended up back at in the evenings.

Rooms are immaculate and superb value by any standards, service was charming and the owners Robin and Sue couldn't have been more welcoming and fun hosts. Great holiday - we'll be back at the Waterfront next year.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GregfromHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
0.0 mi away
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
#53 of 187 in Bophut
293 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Privilege Hotel Ezra Beach Club
1.8 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#12 of 187 in Bophut
349 reviews
1.4 mi away
Secret Garden Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Smile House Resort
Smile House Resort
#39 of 187 in Bophut
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Property: The Waterfront
Address: 71/2 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Bophut
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, small, select and peaceful, yet only steps away from excellent restaurants, bars and boutiques.All rooms are beachfront and the view of the sea and outlying islands is spectacular. Many guests extend their stay, recommend us to others or return themselves, often to meet other guests who have now become friends. Its like coming home, they say. Lots of little touches to make you feel welcome including free pick-up and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Bophut
The Waterfront Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing