We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As advertised, Not for budget travelers, quiet”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #19 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“As advertised, Not for budget travelers, quiet”
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Hotel has beach of gravel sand mix. Small tidal estuary creek runs in front of half beach. Some garbage such as plastic bags and bottles along beach front. Water visibility at time of visit was less than half a meter, no snorkeling possible.

Rooms cleaned daily, hot water with on demand electric heaters worked well. Breakfast included was sufficient. Owner was personable and on site.

Room rates were 5500 baht per night. Advertised rates at the full service condo across the street were 10 times less, similar size modern rooms, big screen TV, but no beach. Advertised rates at beach bungalows within 1 km were 5 times less, but a more basic, hut style bungalow, no small swimming pool and landscaped garden as the waterfront has. Budget conscious travelers can thus obtain similar sized modern rooms OR beach front at 5 or 10 times less cost, but not both together. So if one insists on both modern amenities and beachfront and the prices are within budget, this hotel does deliver as advertised.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freefuelforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    129
    49
    24
    12
See reviews for
176
596
55
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2011

We stopped at the Waterfront for a week's R&R on the way back from Australia. It was just what we needed - a place to really unwind.

The Waterfront is a comfortable, quiet, beachside hotel with bungalows and two storey units overlooking the beach arranged around a small pool and bar area. The proprietors, Robin and Sue are friendly and welcoming, and their staff charming.

The only downsides are a small pool - good for cooling off and not much else - and a beach of coarse sand with a rather murky (though clean blue) sea. But if you want such facilities, you will pay more and/or have to stay in a large, and impersonal hotel.

The "fishing village" comprises small shops and some very good reasonably priced restaurants, but it has been some time since it has seen a fisherman. Even so, if you must have nightlife, go somewhere else.

All in all, friendly, relaxing and good value.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suffolkcodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

My husband & I have just stayed again at The Waterfront for 11 nights.We again found the hotel and all the staff very friendly and most helpful.Our room was one of the bungalows & it had all the little extra's you could want,large bottles of water every day,NOT just 2 tea bags but plenty,beach/pool towels,fresh air spray,room safe etc.
breakfast is freshly cooked for you.If you have a problem with anything to do with your holiday,ie: I had a problem with a local ATM Robin or Sue are there to help you out.The poolside bar is lovely for your last fews drinks before bed where you can catch up with Sue & Robin and of course other guest's and find recommendations for places to eat in The Village.We have made lots of friends on our stays here.It is certainalty not the sort of hotel where no-one speaks to you.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller62_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

I have no idea why this place is so highly rated. I stayed at 8 different hotels during my 3 week trip to Thailand and The Waterfront is definitely at the bottom of the pile. The management we very snobby and made me feel tense. The pool was tiny. The beach uninviting. Food average. Only good comment is the book library they had and the location of the place for the night market. Plenty of better places to stay at in Koh Samui. Would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank blondietellsthetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karaoglanoglu
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We were picked up from the airport by Robin & Michael as we were a group of 3 couples, a teenager & a 4 yr old princess ! Sue awaited our arrival in the reception & after a complimentary drink,Sue showed us to our rooms. All our rooms were lovely. The hotel is right on the beach & also in the village of Bophut, easy walking distance to all the local restaurants. Robin, Sue & all their staff made us very welcome & every effect was made for us to enjoy our holiday. Which we all did !

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CartonKaraoglanoglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sverige
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2011

We stayed at The Waterfront in a total of 4 weeks. The hotel has 18 rooms which helps create a family atmosphere among guests and staff. During our stay we had the pleasure of staying in four different rooms, all held in a very good standard. The rooms are cleaned daily and we never ever had reason to complain. A breakfast buffet is served each morning in the reception. They serve fresh fruit, cereal, juice, and in addition you can order something from the very generous breakfast menu. The pool, which is cleaned thoroughly every day, is small but it is enough even though the hotel is always fully booked. Comfortable sunbeds are placed around the pool area and you never risk being without one. The small pool bar is the hotel's "heart" where many people gather during both day and night, and every now and then the wonderful owners Robin and Sue join in. They are two amazing persons who remembers the names of every single guest who is currently staying at the hotel. They make you feel like a part of their family and the entire staff is outstanding. Whatever you might need help with, Sue and Robin will walk through fire to help you.

We travelled with our 11 months old daughter and the hotel is very well suited for families with children. It offers free babysitting and the staff are crazy about kids. Not once during our stay did we feel bored or home sick. This is all thanks to the owners and the wonderful staff.

Thanks for everything, we´ll be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieChristelRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2011

nothing can be said that im sure has not been said before .But having travelled around the world and stayed in everything from apartments to 5 star hotels collectively this is the most enjoyable holday experience we have had NO NOT 5 STAR HOTEL BUT 6 STAR EXPERIENCE THANK YOU AGAIN SUE ROBIN AND STAFF FOR A BRILLIANT TIME LOOKING FORWARD TO OUR RETURN ASAP

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gasBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
1.8 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
710 reviews
3.5 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
3.1 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,782 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#2 of 186 in Bophut
1,077 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#6 of 186 in Bophut
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Property: The Waterfront
Address: 71/2 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Bophut
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, small, select and peaceful, yet only steps away from excellent restaurants, bars and boutiques.All rooms are beachfront and the view of the sea and outlying islands is spectacular. Many guests extend their stay, recommend us to others or return themselves, often to meet other guests who have now become friends. Its like coming home, they say. Lots of little touches to make you feel welcome including free pick-up and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Bophut
The Waterfront Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing