We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #18 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, AB
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed October 8, 2007

We stayed here in July and thought this place was great for relaxing. Service was amazing, we arrived very late at night and were greeted with complimentary drinks.

Rooms were clean and a lot of thought was put into what foreign travellers would want in their rooms (DVDs plug adapters, etc.).

The main drawbacks were the lack of a good swimming beach (which they freely admit on their website) and a small pool to compensate for this. We also experiences some noise in the mornings from traffic in the street right behind the bungalow we were staying in.

The hotel was located close to a lot of restaurants and this made going out at night easy and relaxing (although Bophut beach is pretty quiet and not the place to go for nightlife). There was also a great massage place across the street which we would highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank J5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    129
    49
    24
    12
See reviews for
176
596
55
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2007

My husband and I have been home for a week and missing The Waterfront already.

Our thanks to Robin & Sue who made us feel very welcome. Robin picked us up from the airport and gave us a guided tour of Bophut before taking us to The Waterfront hotel. Their son Michael took us back to the airport when it was time for us to leave.

We stayed there for 10 days in September and wished we had booked for a longer stay.

The rooms were clean and comfortable. You are spoilt for choice for breakfast as there is so much to choose from. The food was lovely.

Our thanks also to all the staff who are all very friendly and helpful. There is always someone around if you need anything.

The beach is very close.

The hotel pool is a nice size for cooling off and having a swim at any time of day and night. The bar is right by the pool for you to sit round and enjoy a quiet drink or just sit, drink and chat with the other guests as it is so cosy.

The night security man Banjon will also serve you drinks at the bar and is a good laugh.

The bars and restaurants are just a walk away once you leave the hotel. The shops and stalls are open till late. There is a quiz night every Wednesday at the Frog & Gecko pub where 10 of us mixed from all over the world to make a team for The Waterfront and we won.

This is just the right place for a nice relaxing holiday which is what my husband & I wanted.

Go there yourself and experience it, you won't be disappointed.

Would we return? YES.

Many thanks to Sue, Robin and all the staff at The Waterfront for a great and enjoyable holiday.

Sue & Laurie Burris

From Norfolk

  • Liked — The helpful staff and the pool,bar & beach which were only a few yards away. Also the scenery.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Sulol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2007

We stayed here for 6 nights and could not fault the place-one of the nicest, friendliest places we have ever stayed in. Robin and Sue personally welcome you when you arrrive with a complimentary drink. You have access to free broadband in your room, use of 2 bikes, free DVDs (DVD player in room) and about 5 bookcases of books to read while you are there!! The setting is just paradise-right on the beach and altho you cannot swim in the sea right infront of hotel cos of coral it doesnt matter cos the pool is nice and refreshing. Room is first class-bright, spotlessly clean and fresh flowers put on your bed every day!! Bophut is a really nice location on island and one I would recommend if you are looking for peace and quiet, excellent restaurants and bars and a great place to stay. Definitely better than the touristy tack of Chaweng Beach!!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank willow58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2007

We would just like to say what a fantastic time we had staying at The WaterFront Hotel!!

We have been coming to Thailand for the last 5 years and have always either stayed in Bophut or Choeng Mon when on Samui

The Hotel is small (boutique) rather than some sprawling sterile complex and that just adds to its charm!!! The owners Sue and Robin (as well as all the staff) we're the perfect hosts, including picking my wife and I from the ferry for free as well as making us welcome with 15 minutes or so of conversation and very much needed drink!!!

The bar is a fantastic centre point to hotel and makes all the guests mingle together in a way which I have never seen before. Sue once recounted every guests name who were at the bar, whilst the night barman Banjon made us all laugh.

This hotel is a gem and more than made up for any errant weather that Samui seemed to throw our way.

Breakfast is late (8-11), and of course the rooms are great.

I will be staying there next year on my annual Thailand trip and I urge you all to do the same.

Stephen Holt

  • Liked — The free wifi and sky tv
  • Disliked — my bathroom was two big!! it had two sinks and two showers!!!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MountainReef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2007

We have recently returned from a 10 day holiday at the Waterfont Hotel in Bophut. What a wonderful place to stay if you are looking for a property that is small, provides personnel service has well kept and clean rooms and affordable prices for drinks and food from the pool bar.

Our views about our stay were confirmed from the time that Robin, one of the owners, collected us from the airport and gave us a quick “cooks” tour of the little Bophut Fishing village before we checked in. At check-in the welcoming drink was greatly appreciated and the transfer to out room effortless.

From then on you felt more at home than in a hotel or resort. Sue, Robins wife, would introduce you to other guests and the staff loved our young 18mth old son. In fact he loved the attention from the staff and Sue that it got to a point where he was more interested, at times, to see them than his own parents!

We appreciated the tranquillity of the location, the hotel facilities (great hammocks and sun lounges) and the fact that you could walk out the door and within a 5 minute walk, be faced with a great variety of eating and drinking options.

It is true that the hotel has a small pool but we were aware of this and had no problems with it. The beach in front of the hotel is difficult to swim in due to rocks but having said that, each afternoon, the tide would come in and you could safely take a dip.

Finally, if you are more interested in 5 star resort style accommodations with large pools, gyms and in house hotel restaurants then this property probably won’t suit you. For us it was ideal

Thank you Robin, Sue, Michael and all the staff at the Waterfront for providing a truly relaxing and wonderful holiday. We will return!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KKSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2007

We booked this hotel at the very last minute from Bangkok and where instantly confirmed and met at Ko Samui Airport by Robin. Taken to the Bophut and given a little tour of the village on the way. Check in great,complete with welcome drink (nice touch), beautiful views from reception we couldn't wait to see our room.
Beachfront bungalow was well presented, everything you need down to adapters in the drawer for your electrical things. Spotlessly clean with great views of the beach and pool.
Booked two nights as we really wanted to stay in Chaweng but so many hotels to choose from figured we would take a look first.
1st day went on a trip to Chaweng to choose our next hotel and where very dissapointed in what we saw. Coming back to the Bophut was a great relief and we extended our stay. We extended three times over the next 10 days and had to change rooms each time due to high occupancy. Each time everyone helped to make the switch easy and quick and we got to stay in 3 bungalows and the quality was consistent in them all.

Robin and his lovely wife Sue where the perfect hosts and Mike thier son had a great sense of humour. They made all of thier guest feel part of the family and made time to interact and make all the guests feel special.

A very well run small hotel with many staff who are constantly cleaning and tidying the gardens to keep everything pristine for the guests. Pool bar great fun, breakfasts great with good service. Good comprehension of English amongst the Thai staff made communication easy.

All in all a fun place to stay. Quiet , peaceful and located in one of the nicest villages on the island good restaurants galore!

In summary Sue and Robin have worked extremely hard to create a great atmosphere for anyone who stays at thier lovely hotel. Value for money, hard to beat. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and location to anyone thinking of visiiting Ko samui and we will be back. Check out "Bilabong" Bill a long term guest who is a great source of information on where to eat and best places to visit ,and good fun.
Thanks to everyone at the Waterfront keep up the good work
Fran & Les

  • Liked — Great value for money and cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Icarpediem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2007

Of the 5 places we booked to stay in our recent South East Asia trip, the Waterfront Bophut was the resort we had the least expectations for. We got married on Koh Samui and spent 5 wonderful days at Rockys Resort before going off to Koh Tao. We then came back to Samui for 4 days before flying off to SIngapore. We wanted somewhere clean and easy in close proximity to the airport so we chose The Waterfront and were very pleased with our choice.

Robin, Sue and their son were fabulous. Sue greeted us on our arrival and we had a drink and a chat with her before being shown to our wonderfully clean room (the Denise Van Outen suite!!). If you ever need a Thai translator then Robin and Sue's son (I forget his name) is fluent in Thai and one of the best on the island. We had a great chat with him about Thai culture on the way to the airport.

Robin and Sue are well-travelled and know exactly what westerners want and expect from a resort. The rooms are very clean, tidy and spacious, including the bathroom. They reminded me of a typical spanish apartment - tiled floors, pine furniture, patio doors. Having stayed in much more traditionally thai-styled places on our trip so far this was the refreshing, cleansing experience we really needed!

If you want to experience the Thai islands and culture but still come back each evening to a safe, clean, western-style apartment then The Waterfront Bophut is definitely for you.

The fishermans village of Bophut itself has a lot of character and there are some great places to eat and drink. If I am completely honest, it lacks a little of the Thai culture as there are a lot of european-owned bars and restaurants that have been cleaned up a little to attract the western tourist but this is a great place to explore the island. We even did a day trip to Koh Phangan from Big Buddha pier which is also in very close proximity.

I do not understand any of the previous negative comments about this place. For me, you cannot fault it and the owners really bend over backwards to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. When Sue found out that we were on our honeymoon she decorated the room beautifully with flowers and a special message on our bed. It's those touches and thoughtfulness of the owners that make this place what it is today.

Enjoy!

  • Liked — The owners and staff - fabulous.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dsleazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
1.8 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
711 reviews
3.5 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
3.1 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,783 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#2 of 186 in Bophut
1,078 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#6 of 186 in Bophut
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Property: The Waterfront
Address: 71/2 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Bophut
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, small, select and peaceful, yet only steps away from excellent restaurants, bars and boutiques.All rooms are beachfront and the view of the sea and outlying islands is spectacular. Many guests extend their stay, recommend us to others or return themselves, often to meet other guests who have now become friends. Its like coming home, they say. Lots of little touches to make you feel welcome including free pick-up and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Bophut
The Waterfront Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing