We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thiefs paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Como Resort Koh Samui
Ranked #154 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Watch out its a thiefs paradise as the locks on the doors can be opened with a credit card. Just was robbed. Stay Away from this pit until they fix the locks and clean the place up a bit. We moved to La Hacienda. About 1,400 baht more but well worth the $42 USD extra. Thai police were worthless.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KershTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como_Resort, Owner at Como Resort Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

We are deeply sorry that this happened to you, but unfortunately it could have happened everywhere.

The thief came in the early afternoon during one of our most busy seasons of the year (Songkran), used brute force (not a credit card) to open your door and steal your belongings. As the security camera did not capture him, we assume he (or she) came over the beach.

We do have a perfect location on the beach, but as the beaches are public in Thailand, everyone can use them to access your bungalow. Nothing we can do about this. The bungalows are all in a garden, so someone can easily hide himself. The same is true for every beach resort in Thailand.

As management, we are aware of this potential security risk, and we do our best to protect ourselves and our guests.

All rooms have free safety boxes
Items which are too big can be stored by the management
All rooms have bolts as an extra security when you are in the room

And after this incident, we provide an extra padlock to lock the door when people go out. Might look primitive but we are sure it's effective.

No place is 100 % safe for a motivated and professional thief – not even a bank.

So people, please be careful and act like you would do at home. In general, Asia is more secure as most Western countries, but don't let this give you a false feeling of security. Use the safety boxes (I think less as 40 % of our guests actually use them), don't leave doors open when you are in the restaurant, don't leave computers and smartphones visible in front of the window etc.

About the other negative things the guest wrote, I suppose the guest wrote them in frustration after being robbed - which is understandable. He was a walk in guest without a reservation, liked what he saw and decided to stay with us, Doubt he would have stayed if we really have bad and dirty rooms ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 59 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2011

A little bit more expensive then some other resorts, but well worth the money if you want a relaxed stay right on the beach.

Alltough the english of the staff is not if the best, but this is compensated by their friendlyness.
Staff is also very helpfull (got a free pineapple juice on arrival and when leaving they gave us each a bottle of water while waiting for the taxi)

Its close to bophut, which is a nice place to visit in the evening for dining, drinking and shopping.

I recommend renting a motorcycle (at the resort) to get around on the island.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cYberJ_be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

I stayed five nights in this resort and really spend a nice time in there, its really value for money. The staffs here are very helpful. Thai massage is perfessional.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sung23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Good place to stay and relax. A bit far away from nightlife, however not a problem if you hire a scooter. Staff was very friendly and rooms were clean.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank herbert84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

If you are looking for an accommodation on a beach with all the basic necessities, then Como Resort is for you. The resort has room amenities like a private room, hot and cold shower, aircon and fridge. Free WIFI in restaurant area. Good food. Beach has plenty of beach chairs and hammocks between the palm trees. Free use of kayak .

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J_LI24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Como Resort was just our cup of tea (family of 5). We loved the location because it's only 40 meters to the Baan Sabai - an excellent spa. Staff were very friendly and took care about our children, so much that after our booked 4 nights we decided to continue our stay at Como Resort for another 8 nights. The resort was low key and away from the major tourist areas. It was a perfect place for us to settle after a busy year in a family run resort. Will definitely go back.

Nilsson, Frederika and family

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nilsson_and_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

Como Resort is a small hotel that advertises peace. That is exactly what they deliver. The hotel rooms are a bit old but very tastefully made of wood. Everything (airco, fridge, hot water, etc) worked fine. Safety box in the room. The garden of the hotel and its surrounding are beautiful. Bungalows are a few steps from the beach. Nice, small pool. As there are only 11 rooms in the resort there is a quiet and relaxed atmosphere. The restaurant - which overlooks the sea - serves excellent Thai dishes. Hotel staff is very friendly and competent. Don' t expect any nightlife or loud entertainment - for this you have to go to Chaweng, only 15 minutes away. We enjoyed the tour to Anghton Marine park, went out with a speed boat to a nice beach at a small island and did some snorkeling. Como Resort is a great place if you are looking for a relaxing time away from the crowds. Hope to go back next year!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martijn666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
2.5 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,601 reviews
2.8 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
2.5 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#2 of 185 in Bophut
528 reviews
2.5 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Como Resort Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Como Resort Koh Samui

Address: 58 Moo 4 | Big Buddha Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#91 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $104 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Como Resort Koh Samui 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Como Resort Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Como Resort Koh Samui Hotel Bophut
Como Hotel Koh Samui
Como Hotel Chaweng
Como Resort Koh Samui Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing