We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont Stay Here”
Review of Cabana Grand View

Cabana Grand View
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabana Grand View
Ranked #144 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dont Stay Here”
Reviewed July 16, 2008

We arrived for 4 nights on the 25th June. We arrived after dark at approx 6.30pm. The hotel was poorly lit and there was no lights in the restaurant or bar hence no room service. We had booked a high up corner room with 180 degee views. They first tried to put us on the 3rd floor, then the 5th floor, not a corner room then a corner room on the 4th floor. There are no such rooms with 180 degree views as this one had 90 degree views. There was nothing in the mini bar so they brought in a few bottles but no check list. There was no information about the hotel such as restaurant hours, when the pool was open etc. Worse was to come we had NO AIRCON

Went down to breakfast next morning to find a deserted restaurant,no staff and no buffet etc. Found the kitchen and asked if we could have breakfast.We asked for a menu and were told there was not one. Finally they produced a room service menu and when we asked for a second they said they only had one. More discussion and another one was produced. However they were of no help as they didnot say what the breakfast contained. The restaurant had no aircon and no fans. It states on the websites they do lunch and dinner, they do not

We asked to see the manager who was english. He said he would fix the aircon or shift us.We came back in the afternoon to fin a staff member sitting on the bed while another was playing with the aircon controls. We had a SECOND NIGHT WITH NO AIRCON

Next morning we went to breakfast.My wife asked for a continental breakfast ie fruit and cereal and was told only a american breakfast was available. Another couple arrived and we got talking. They had booked 10 nights, were on the 3rd floor and they had no aircon. We asked to see the manager again and said we were leaving. He asked what we were prepared to pay. We said the deposit plus 1000 baht. He took the money

Two days later we checked our email to find one from the booking agent to find they had taken more money via our credit card with out our authority. We had booked 4 nights pay 3 but the money was taken out at the full rate. When I emailed them they said to sort it out with the manager. We rang him and he said he would talk to accounts.He did nothing.

The day after we left we meet the couple from the 3rd floor. They had also checked out as they had had no aircon for a second night. The only good thing are the views

  • Liked — leaving early
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank polish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
8
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2008

Do not stay here! I'm not gonna lie, it's a beautiful building. The rooms are beautiful and spacious, and the high balconies have incredible views. However, the service is the shittiest I experienced of any place I stayed in Southeast Asia (that's pretty bad). Any time we had a question about anything, the staff told us they didn't know and we were either SOL or we could walk 10 or 15 minutes to a place where we could ask someone else. The breakfast was the dirtiest, most offensive meal I've ever seen. I guarantee you that the people who work there wouldn't eat it. They brought us out a plate of food that was cold, not thoroughly cooked, and had obviously been prepared a couple hours beforehand and left to sit. We demanded that they cook us a fresh meal, and they proceeded to once again not cook it thoroughly enough. I had a couple bites of toast and that was it. I'm so happy we only booked this place for 1 night. I will never go back there, and I hope no one else does either.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ThreeRsKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bophut hotels

Phuket
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2008

We had a Superior room very nice sea view, Free Shuttle services are provided from the hotel to the beach with full beach facilities between 09:00 hrs to 17:00 hrs for guests of Cabana Grand View

The room was great.Very modern and very clean.
The staff was very friendly at any Time. Restaurant, the service was very good.

I certainly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — nice sea view with good spa
  • Disliked — no
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tomphuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2007

Booked 7 nights at The Cabana Grand View in May 06, We had 3 rooms between 6 friends, and we all had a great stay.

Location wise there are far better hotels in Chaweng, This one being up on the hill a bit of a walk from the beach, (A steep hill...especially in the heat!) But a free shuttle bus runs between hotel and beach throughout the day from the reception!

The Hotel itself was great, Superb rooms that were really luxurious, helpful staff and a wonderful view from the pool! Perhaps it was because we stayed toward the end of the season but the pool was empty most days and the 6 of us had the run of the place!

Food at the hotel is good too! :)

Would stay again for the staff and fair price... but probably could find better hotels in Chaweng purely based on location!

  • Liked — Views and decor of rooms.
  • Disliked — Location, and walk to the beach!
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nick_King
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2007

We arrived at the hotel on a Saturday night about 6PM, it was dark when we arrived and the whole place looked very quiet. We made it to the lobby with help with out bags and were greeted by a single person (between the whole lobby, bar, reception etc.!). When checking in we asked for rooms on a high floor to be away from mosquitos etc., we were told there was no availability and were put on the third floor. We proceeded to our rooms (someone else showed up in the mean time to take our bags up). The other couple travelling with us were greeted in their room with lizards......they called reception and were promptly moved. We then all decided to take a look at the roof top pool, the area was poorly lit and the water seemed to be very hazy. While at the pool we notice there were no lights on anywhere in the hotel except our own rooms.......we went to reception to check who else was in the hotel and were informed we were occupying the only two rooms! so much for no availability on high floors. Any way at the point we were considering moving somewhere else and said we'd spend the night and try and move in the morning. We went back to our rooms to shower to and go into town for some food etc. (a ten minute journey and 300 Baht payable to the hotel taxi only free before 5PM). Anyway the other couple turned on the shower and were greeted with black water! I had a shower and it seemed fine in our room but I then was greeted my screams from the Fiance, the bed was crawling with little black insects! On that note I went downstairs and promptly checked out and moved to a different hotel, the Baan Chaweng Beach Resort which I'll shortly be writing a very positive report on.

  • Liked — Nothing.......
  • Disliked — Read my review.......probably the bed bugs!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank irishguy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2007

When we first got to the hotel it seemed very nice, the staff were very friendly but didn't speak a great deal of English and the rooms were absolutely gorgeous - really large and luxurious.

However, we soon realised that we were pretty much the only people staying in the whole hotel (we saw one other couple during our stay) This seemed to be very strange because even though it's low season at this time of year there still seemed to be lots of people everywhere else.

On the plus side the food was very nice, but as there were so few people in the hotel instead of getting a "buffet style" breakfast, they served it to you at your table.

In the brochures and on the Internet, the rooftop pool on the 6th floor seems like it would be the perfect place to relax and take in the stunning views of Koh Samui. However, when we went up to sunbathe by the pool we discovered that it was green and slimy and looked like it hadn't been cleaned since high season (Christmas time) -it was so bad that you could barely see the logo on the bottom of the pool. We were advised by the other couple not to swim in it in case we got ear infections and that they had complained about the pool and were told by the hotel staff to use the pool in a different hotel further down the road.

Although the hotel is supposed to have two swimming pools, the other one had no water in it as there was some major building work taking place to the rooms above it, therefore this left us with no pool to use.

Another downside to the hotel was that it is about a 30 minute walk away from the main nightlife which meant that we had to pay for taxis to and from the hotel every night. Also the extremely close proximity of the hotel to the airport (about a 5 minute drive) meant that even with the double glazed balcony doors closed you could always hear the noise of planes taking off and landing.

After staying for 2 nights we managed to change hotels to the Chaba Samui Resort Hotel which is on the main road in the centre of the restaurants and bars. Although the rooms were of a slightly lower standard, we had a lovely, clean swimming pool and our hotel backed onto the stunning Samui beach. And there were plenty of other people staying in the hotel so we didn't feel as isolated!! The staff also spoke much better English. Even though we had to pay extra money to change hotels it was worth it in the end.

Typically, 2 days after we moved hotels the Cabana decided to clean their pool! But we were still glad that we'd moved as we had a much better stay from then on.

Maybe this hotel would be better if you went in the middle of the high season, but I definately wouldn't pay to stay there again.

  • Liked — Views from the roof and balconies - stunning view of Koh Samui and the sea
  • Disliked — The dirty swimming pool!!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandyFlossShay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2006

We spent quite a bit of time reviewing other properties online before settling on the Cabana Grandview (CGV) and were quite excited to finally see our chosen property "in person." While the first take of the hotel was not quite what we hoped for, we quickly found the staff to be more than accommodating to our needs and willing to address our every concern.

The approach/ promenade to the property is in the process of being upgraded, and immediately stood out as a bit unkempt. However, having chosen to stay during the off-season, we expected a bit of this. To this point, the circular driveway of the hotel was a bit overgrown, and the lobby a bit warm and buzzing with mosquitoes for my tastes. This first negative impression was quickly countered by the friendly bell and front desk staff which whisked away our luggage, brought us refreshing (and complimentary) lemongrass welcome drinks as we were waiting to be checked in, and personally walked us to our room.

Based on reviews we had read online, we had opted for a corner suite with garden view (Suite #501, to be exact.) The website promised an elegantly appointed and spacious suite with 180 degree panoramic views of the sea, and breathtaking scenery from local flora and fauna. Entrance to our room revealed a suite that, although bright, airy, and spacious, appeared to have been vacant for some time. As we investigated the room to locate the source of an odd, off-colour scent, we discovered no less than fifteen small spiders nesting above our heads, and a few ants racing furiously in the bathroom. Again, the hotel staff was very excited to help alleviate our discomfort, and quickly sprayed the room for the unpleasant smell and helped in the removal of visible spiders. Furthermore the bathroom revealed a questionable wooden basin at the end of the room with a detachable faucet which functioned as a bad water- pressure shower substitute (no proper shower available.) In the beginning, we chose to sacrifice these few minor inconveniences in favor of the spectacular view the room delivered- truly breathtaking floor to ceiling views of the gulf and the island from every turn in every room of the suite, including the bathroom.

We woke up late and missed the early complimentary breakfast buffet and ordered room service instead, and were pleased at the quantity of food provided (2 each croissants, wheat breads, banana breads, Danish, eggs any style, ham, bacon, sausage, assorted fruits, juice, coffee or tea.) Unfortunately, our wonderful breakfast was accompanied by the return of the strange and unpleasant smell, so as soon as we dressed for the day, we journeyed downstairs to request a room change. Again, we found the staff more then accommodating and willing to give us any other room on the property which was available. We were shown a regular executive suite with sea view, as well as a villa room before settling on the executive suite. While the view was not as immediate, the room was lived in, bright, extremely spacious (2 room suite with 2 bathrooms and 2 air conditioners and a proper shower) and well maintained…and fairly spider/ ant free.

After switching rooms, we found our stay more than pleasant. The hotel staff was very attentive, and even surprised my boyfriend with a small complimentary birthday cake on the day of his big event, as well as helped me in arranging for a larger cake from a downtown bakery for the evening’s festivities. The hotel manager also arranged an on-site cooking class for us and a few other couples right in the hotel restaurant for a minimal fee. Finally, the hotel food was very good (the breakfast buffet was more then worth the early wake-up, and by the far the largest selection of any complimentary meal I’ve seen from a hotel), and the pool and view from the pool deck was breathtaking (the best on the island.) And although not directly on the beach, the hotel staff was more than happy to drive guests down to the main rood to grab a cab to Chaweng center or drive you via minibus to the sister resorts for complimentary use of their chairs, umbrellas, and facilities. Despite the short drive to the town, it was a plus to be away from the noise and smell of Chaweng center in the evening, and cab-rides were never more than $3-$6 USD total for the two of us.

All in all, for the money (book online or through an agent, not through the hotel website) the CGV provided great value and exceptional service for the cost of the room. We did view quite a few other resorts (one very expensive 5 star resort in particular) and were pleased to see that our rooms were of much nicer quality than those very expensive resorts in Chaweng Center, although at less than half the cost! In returning to Thailand, we would return to the CGV, especially considering that they continue to work on their estate o bring it up to par with other 4 and 5 star resorts in the area. Considering the competition, I would recommend this hotel (with a few caveats) to others.

  • Liked — The views were wonderful
  • Disliked — The distance from Chaweng Center
  • Tips/Secrets — Choose the executive suite- nioce views, and better bathrooms
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NikkoChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.1 mi away
Cher Ville Boutique Resort
Cher Ville Boutique Resort
#183 of 186 in Bophut
5 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#2 of 186 in Bophut
1,088 reviews
2.5 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,808 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabana Grand View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabana Grand View

Property: Cabana Grand View
Address: 91/15 Moo 2, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabana Grand View 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cabana Grand View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabana Grand View Bophut
Cabana Grand View Hotel
Cabana Grand View Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing