We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A touch of tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sundays Sanctuary Resort & Spa
Ranked #134 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A touch of tranquility”
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

It's well-designed, resort is a great budget way to experience the kind of tranquility usually associated with luxury spa resorts, for which you can easy pay five to ten times more than The Sundays.

It's not luxury, but it makes great use of the space. Very nice swimming pool, spacious villas/bungalows, and it's pretty stylish in its class.

Only ten minutes' walk (fifteen minutes' stroll) from Fisherman's Village and close to convenience stores/hypermarkets in the other direction.

Friendly staff (and dogs) too.

It helps to have your own transport so you can get Round and explore the island.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    75
    33
    14
    19
See reviews for
16
74
23
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This unique small resort is very private, peacefully, and relaxing. The important thing is the room is clean. Of course we cannot compare to a 5* resort but this good enough. We stayed at the Deluxe Cottage - Pool View and it was really good and it's like living in a 'garden' because of it's tropical plantation all over the resort. We had good time and will definitely return again to Sundays! Oh, and the thai massage at the Sanctuary Spa is really good too.... Not to forget the staffs are friendly and honest.

Room Tip: Deluxe Cottage - Pool View
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank violasolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urban_Nomad86
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Its a bit isolated and no right on the beach, but the trade off is well worth it.
Set in a serene hillside, the only noise you hear is natures calling. The place is a peaceful sanctuary from the often hectic beach-side. Perfect for a budget honeymoon or just a few friends hanging out.

Room Tip: You can always negotiate for a better rate....(Bring along mosquito repellent)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Urban_Nomad86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

I have read a few of the reviews on this site, to be honest i don't understand the complaints !!1 This small boutique hotel is amazing !!!! fair enough it's not a 5 star hotel, but for the price it's fab. We stay here every year. I can recomend room 4. It's set back a bit and v private.

I think that some people may find it a bit rustic, but for me it's like having a nice bungalow in the jungle !!!! VVVV chilled, I found the staff very welcoming ( but i guess it's how you treat them)

You do need transport though, as it is a little far from Bophut. But a moped is 200 baht (£4) a day.

any q's mailme guy elton@hotmail.com.

Room Tip: we have always stayed in a pool villa, think they got other rooms, that are more like appartments...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guy_Elton1532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

The hotel isn't really in a jungle, but it's very easy to imagine it is. The pictures don't really to justice to how mature the grounds are. Neither do you see the dragion flies hovering over the pool or hear the alarming occasional bang as a fruit comes down from a tree and lands on a roof. There are orchids and ferns growing on trees and walls and the air is filled with the sounds of insects and birds. You need to watch where you are going, though, what with the stepping stones, steps and decks and after midnight when many of the lights go out you do need a torch (an iphone app worked fine for me)!

We stayed in the hotel type block at the back of the resort and I loved the boutique style rooms. The staff are friendly, but their command of English is basic so some waving of hands and pointing comes in handy (shouting really doesn't help!). Free Wi Fi is available in the reception area.

Bophut/Fisherman's vilage is about 15 minutes walk away (quicker if you walk through the temple grounds). Someone suggested the road was an intimidating walk, but I'm not sure what drugs they were on to think that it was. Maybe they were frightened by the local water buffalo or the carpet slipper type dog. It's faster to walk throught the temple grounds during the day, but this is a bit too dark at night when a brightly lit road is the alternative. For my money Bophut is a whole lot nicer a place to stay and a lot more chilled out and authentic than Chaweng, which might have a great beach and nightlife, but is a bit too much about concrete and aggressive retailing and catering. It also has some great restaurants. If you want to go to Chaweng then songtaews (pick-up truck style buses) are very frequent and cheap.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Boroughbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We were so skeptical when we found this place on the internet. It was too good to be true! The location is a bit isolated but because we had a car, it was no trouble at all! It was as though we were in the jungle but we are actually quite close to the beach!

It is a small resort/villa. We loved the interior. They also have an amazing spa there. We took the pool villas. It is very spacious. It is kinda run down but it wasn't anything we couldn't live with. The bed and sheets were very comfy. The whole resort shouts out luxury at a backpacker's pricing. Rooms were only about 900baht! There wasn't many people staying there when we went. So it felt like we had the resort to ourselves. The whole pool too!

The only 2 things which we were not too happy about was the internet... it's only available at the reception but even there, it is sooooo slow! And the aircond in the rooms were leaking. All that aside, this is definitely Koh Samui's jewel :)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weennee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.4 mi away
Cocooning Hotel
Cocooning Hotel
#76 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
2.5 mi away
City Dance Hotel
City Dance Hotel
#35 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.6 mi away
Samui Mermaid Resort
Samui Mermaid Resort
#117 of 187 in Bophut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Harry's Bungalows & Restaurant
2.7 mi away
Nantra Chaweng Beach
Nantra Chaweng Beach
#71 of 104 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.8 mi away
Samui Heritage Resort
Samui Heritage Resort
#82 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sundays Sanctuary Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sundays Sanctuary Resort & Spa

Property: The Sundays Sanctuary Resort & Spa
Address: 165/4 Moo1 Tumbon Bo Pud, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sundays Sanctuary Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore more of Koh Samui while staying at The Sundays Sanctuary Resort & Spa. Stay in your serene secret little home. See the island from different angles. We welcome you into our community just like our friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sundays Sanctuary Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sundays Tropical Hotel Koh Samui
Sundays Tropical Hotel
The Sundays Sanctuary Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing