We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit or paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saboey Resort and Villas
Ranked #43 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
LLANELLI.WALES.UNITED KINGDOM.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A little bit or paradise”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at the Saboey for 10 days, September 2013,The Saboey Resort is a peaceful and classy type place offering a relaxing and intimate holiday experience,lovely gardens and fish pools, right on the beach which was spotless,and a fab swimming pool.we were first in the deluxe room first then after a few days "Jon" the gm upgraded us to the The Ocean Room which was only a few steps from the beach, and the pool and the bar/dining area, and very quiet,both rooms were excellent,well furnished,always clean,beds made,fab views of the beach and the bay.

A special mention for"Belle" at Reception,and "Rat" in the dinning room , always smiling and always helpful,and full of information,which was great and Mr. Att at reception,again, full of information, helpful and informative,booked and printed out all our tickets free of charge.

The food was excellent,both at the buffet, and a la carte breakfast and the allday/ evening open aired dinning room next to the pool, fab food, fab curries and shell fish,couldnt get enough of them !!!!,first class as were the afternoon cookery classes,excellent value for money, worth every penny, 3 courses,thai menu,they were so good we went back the next next day and did another one!!!, so many thanks to the kitchen staff, especially "chef", and "little chef" who were excellent teachers togther with resort staff and management made the afternoons both fun and informative, well worth the cost.

The village is only a few mins walk away which was great, plenty of fresh fruit to buy, as well as fresh fish/seafood/meat etc in the local market,we bought loads of fresh fish/seafood and fruit daily , which was cooked by the chefs at the sabaoey (after asking jon the gm which he agreed he could do for for a small cost) which made the experience much better for us as wannabe foodies/chefs just to sample the local food, which was delicious.

just outside the resort there are plenty of cafes and places to eat both sides of the resort, all within walking distance,all are very reasonable, and the street venders are great as well , they are all the way into the village on the sides of the roads, and in the evenings after about 5pm they are all in the village square, from fruit,curries,sushi,soup,drinks etc, like a mini international food fayre, every day, fab.again, low cost and you could easily have a starter,main course and a dessert for less than a fiver for two of you.

we hired mopeds via the resort, again, had a good deal for the 10 days,traveled right round the island eventually,but if you want a quiet,picturesque ride, then travel to the west/south and north of the island, travel to the east of the island and you'll think you're in Blackpool/Benidorm, very touristy.great bars and pubs, clubs, and restaurants. but very busy much like Bangkok.

we really enjoyed our stay at this wonderful resort and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.can wait to go back to koh samui and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Welshrep785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    142
    26
    18
    18
See reviews for
81
270
24
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

As a couple in our mid fifties we were "flash-packing" around Thailand and stayed at 8 different hotels/resorts and Saboey was one of the better ones (and we didn't have a bad one!) A varied range of accommodation (we had a penthouse room) to suit a range of budgets. Fantastic beach front location, beautiful pool and gardens and very attentive staff made for an excellent stay. Good food and a very nice bar area. Very relaxing environment suited to people who appreciate quality and tranquility.
nb Very handy (walking distance) for the ferry to Koh Tao/Koh Phangan

Room Tip: As with most things in life, you get what you pay for. Book the best you can afford!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at Saboey end of September 2013. We had a double room with an inter leading door for our children's room. They had two single beds and ours a King. The rooms were spacious and clean and the bathrooms presentable.

The staff at the resort were excellent and went out of there way to assist. Advise on locations bookings where to visit we're always helpful. Jonathan the GM was very helpful and had some great island advice for us.

The resort was pretty Central and we hired scooters and managed to tour the whole island. The meals we ate at the resort were very good and service was great. Thee are many little restaurants, shops bars and all you need within walking distance of the resort.

We look forward to our return visit in September 2013!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Saboey for just a short two and half visit following a week and half long business trip in China. What a way to cap off the work week - Saboey was excellent. The GM Jonathan and his staff were simply the most hospitable and friendly group of people I have encountered. Our room was spacious, clean and romantic. The grounds were beautiful and sitting in the infinity pool which is a stones throw from the shoreline was paradise.

We had the welcome dinner the first evening and I found it to be delicious. I can't recommend a better deal than the seafood platter for two - which I consumed myself the second day. Saboey is just a short 10-15 minute car ride form the airport and the location has restaurants and bars within a very short walking distance.

We wish we could have stayed longer but it just makes the desire to return more enticing. I will definitely be staying at Saboey again in the future as well as recommending it to those interested.

Room Tip: I was fortunate to stay in a Deluxe Suite and found it spacious and relaxing. A/C was perfect when n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammarö, Värmlands Län, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2013

For our first visit to Thailand we choose Saboey. It was apparently a good choice. For best total experience use the Samui airport (we used Suratthani airport).
The resort is located at the Bangrak/Big Buddha beach, a calm a nice beach. The resort has a nice pool with a view out to the sea. The massage services at the beach are reccomended.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and makes sure you will get what you need, towels, drinks and food.
We lived in a suite appartment that was quite ok.Good standard and a nice small balcony.
The resort is located in a small community with some local restaurants and shops.
Some noice are ferequent from the departuring/arriving planes from the very close Samui airport.
Pick up services and different kind of trips can be arranged by the resort. I can really recommend the Red Baron day cruise to the close by island of Koh Pangan.

Room Tip: The suites are located in the main building and some noice can be heards from outside traffic. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights! Loved it. Stayed in the beach view villa. The rooms were super comfy and spacious. And the view was amazing!!! Oh, and we were right next to the massage ladies on the beach...like two seconds away.
The staff know how to make you feel welcome and they know how to make a great cocktail.
I highly recommend this place for anyone staying in Bophut. Its not to far away from Fishermans Village or Patong Beach.
The resort is rather small so not super busy which is really nice.
The GM Jon was very helpful!!
This will definitely be our stay every time we go to Bophut!

Room Tip: Go the beach view villas if you can! But the whole place is wonderful. You won't get a bad room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mezza72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The Saboey is the place to come for a quiet recharge. We loved it.
I guess the biggest plus is that the staff make you feel part of the family. They are attentive, yet unobtrusive.

We stayed in a garden villa, the room was well appointed and serviced daily to an immaculate standard. We thought the bed was a little on the firm side, but that is a personal preference.

The half price cocktail happy hour between 5 & 7pm daily was very welcome. The average full price for a cocktail is around 200 baht... needless to say we had more than our fair share watching the sunset from the outdoor spa.

Breakfast each morning is adequate and costs 300 baht, but see if you can get it included in your room rate when you check in. We only had breakfast during our stay as there are street stalls and restaurants just a short stroll away. However, I did take a cooking class here one evening, which was a highlight of my stay... highly recommended!

The front office staff are very helpful and are very happy to organise tours and motorbike rentals and the like.

If you are looking for cheap Thai massage, there is no need to go any further than the beach. While not a part of the resort proper, I have to say that a massage there is the ultimate in luxury. 200 baht for one hour.

All in all, we are very happy with our one week here. I will come back here should I visit Koh Samui again. I can't give a higher recommendation than that. The Saboey Resort and Villas is excellent!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
1.7 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#15 of 187 in Bophut
965 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Privilege Hotel Ezra Beach Club
1.0 mi away
Deva Samui Resort & Spa
Deva Samui Resort & Spa
#5 of 10 in Choeng Mon
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
689 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#12 of 187 in Bophut
380 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Tanamera
Villa Tanamera
#49 of 187 in Bophut
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saboey Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saboey Resort and Villas

Property: Saboey Resort and Villas
Address: 51/4 Moo 4 Bangrak Beach | Koh Samui, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Bophut
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saboey Resort and Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saboey is a beautiful, secluded resort, designed to maximize serenity, space and privacy. Nestled amidst lush tropical gardens and landscaped around a double-infinity freshwater pool and Jacuzzi, allowing stunning beach and sea views. A contemporary Asian design, offering 14 spacious villas and 6 suites. Saboey is an intimate retreat, with personalized and attentive service. Indulge with the ultimate in relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saboey Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saboey Resort And Villas Hotel Bophut
Saboey Hotel Bophut
Saboey Resort Bophut
Saboey Resort And Villas Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing